Joe has done well enough for himself as a barrister so it’s a nice gig on the side.
He’s worked for a few others including the Independent (I think he started to criticise Denis O’Brien once he lost control of INM) and Eir (after saying pay tv was a disgrace)
The NI media company that “owns” his Irish company is sitting on £800k plus in assets (£200k of that is from the Irish company) so he’s sitting fairly handy on something worth close to 7 figures.
Nice that he can store so much income in companies.
This isn’t about Brolly trying to make money. Christ do you listen?
RTE both sport and current affairs has gone to the dogs! He’s called it out.
Clare Byrne was telling people how to wear a jacket in a beer garden during Covid and had a child’s cash register to inform us about inflation. Do they think we are stupid??? That’s why people have given up on RTE!
Dion was factually incorrect with that anecdote. He said Trap was in charge at the time and that it was the old Lansdowne Road. The old Lansdowne Road staged its last match in 2006 and Trap took over in 2008. He was correct about the boys being Box Office though. The yarns and controversies were brilliant. Dunphy was my favourite but I used to enjoy John Giles grumpy view on proceedings. The fact they didn’t know some of the players names only added to the experience.
Do you think Brolly would be on this rampage with his faux man of the people schtick if himself and the lads were still lording it over on their panel?
I see him there abusing that CFO for his salary. What was Joe Brolly’s salary from RTÉ in 2017 say, not his “fee” but the amount he actually remitted to himself personally and paint income tax on?
You simply can’t watch sport on Irish TV at the moment, it is atrocious, every studio stuffed full of women presenters who haven’t a clue what they are on about and bland punditry from nobodies
Are you from a privileged background? Did you have a decent education?
Who cares!!
You have a lot of people that don’t know you personally concerned about you.
Life is complicated. Whether you like him or not, Joe Brolly, in my humble opinion, is Ireland. A decent man. A GAA man (sorry @Little_Lord_Fauntleroy ). Christ I hope he runs for President
I think he’s a great fella in so many ways and he’s a fascinating fella. He doesn’t half talk a lot of shite about some things though. But shure don’t we all.
I spotted him outside Mulligans after Dublin v Mayo in 2019. It was dark by this stage. I saw him making a wanker hand gesture. I then approached him and asked whether person X had been in the RA. He spat his drink out with a grin on his face, said “I’m sayin’ nothin” and bolted.
How? Brolly has been launching grenades all over RTÉ. In reality, he seems sour that his easy gig with the lads got taken from them.
Why is he still going on about the RTÉ CFO? A lad who had a fairly embarrassing day at the office but is a PAYE salaried worker probably at his peak earnings potential getting grilled about his salary by grandstanding politicians.
Would Brolly be able to tell us what RTÉ paid him in 2018, say?
I don’t mean just the fee either, how much actually went to Brolly’s bank account and wasn’t “paid” to one of the other employees of his media company (must be a serious operation to require two employees for a Joe Brolly who wrote a newspaper column once a week and appeared on tv over the summer). How much did he hold back in cash? Why is he holding onto a cash pile right now?
What was Brolly’s view of another submission to the same PAC in 2018?