That's it ! everybody in RTE should be executed forthwith

Absolutely pathetic.

Ok for the leader of the country to go off on a junket halfway across the world at the expense of the taxpayer but not ok for Irish people to go abroad on a holiday which they paid for themselves.

They are both wrong but Martin’s is far, far worse. He is leader of the country and he has no right to be telling others to stay at home when he goes off on junkets himself. If families can’t see of their loved ones then Martin has no business going to the US on a junket.

Michael Martin’s family stayed away from Dublin the day he was sworn in as Taoiseach but Michelle O’Neill travelled from another riddled jurisdiction on the same day to attend for no valid reason.

Bizarre you choose to reference Michelle O’Neill when a FF MEP flew in from Brussels for it.

protect the HSE (by blaming others)

That’s silly. We are guaranteed a bilateral meeting with the president of the USA every year. Do you know how valuable that is? Germany or the UK don’t get that.

What if they’d been out there for two months, are they allowed come home? What if their business was a pub? What if they had family there?

They could explain to the cameras!

He should and he will.

I said ‘going on foreign holidays’. I would have thought that was self explanatory. The other issues you mention are quite unlikely given the nature of Lanzarote but if they were the case then it’s no longer a foreign holiday.

So say any of those situations I mentioned, it’s cool for RTE to turn up at arrivals and film them returning and broadcast them to the nation to shame them?

Go back to pub owners. Say they’ve an apartment in Lanzarote, or even just decided to rent one. Why shouldn’t they go there for holiday?

People should mind their own fucking business. If you want to go to Lanzarote in the morning those tut tut fannies should not have any bearing in it. Turning into a country of sheep. The man on the telly said I can’t do this

We’re all in this together lads. We’re nearly there. People need to hold firm.

is there not GDPR issues for RTE there?

100%. I agree it is extremely valuable. We are unique in that regard. All of the galas, balls etc that used to be a part of this visit are cancelled and of course all of the meetings that take place between trade partners, govt agencies and lobbyists will not take place also. This was the key part of the trip and not the symbolic handing over a bowl of shamrock. I think the key item is the undocumented Irish which hopefully Biden will be able to expedite. But I think the visit could be rescheduled to summer and avoid the maelstrom of criticism he would get from opposition benches and media who are emboldened now in their approach for zero covid.

I never said it was. But such circumstances are very unlikely if you ask me.

They shouldn’t do it because they are not allowed to do it. You could put 20 people into a large church for a funeral with arguable extra risk but it’s not allowed and people make do with 10. That’s a much greater issue than getting a bit of sun on your back.

RTE are filming at the airport. If people think it’s right to go on holidays, they shouldn’t be ashamed about it. Any shame is implied, by themselves, and that tells it’s own story

It’s a junket.

And you’re saying that’s more valuable that allowing someone from travelling to attend their parent’s funeral.

What a dickhead you are. Martin could zoom Biden on this but all he wants is his photo in the White House.

Rte have decided it’s a shameful act.

no, you have.