The Anti Rugby Football Thread Pt 2

Whatā€™s his name? For a second there I thought we were going to potentially cap the brilliant Cullen Grace. Heā€™s a lock though.

You could see the difference in the skills level. The New Zealanders practise more on passing and handling due to the rain where as in Ireland we stick it up the jumper and say itā€™s not a night for passing the ball.

So many that Irish team are completely under cooked too. They donā€™t play enough games. I heard Keith wood waffling on about them being tired at the end of the season. That joe McCarthy is basically a ten minute bag man for Leinster and he was blowing after thirty minutes.

Coombes was very good and heā€™s our future number eight.

Seems mad. World cup approaching and heā€™d have to fancy himself better than than any of the back ups. With Munster so stuck for a tighthead it doesnā€™t seem to make sense. Even for Leinster, heā€™d allow them deploy their NIQ recruit to a different position.

Sure he might have no interest at all in playing in Ireland? He was only in Ireland for a few years. Heā€™s been in New Zealand for nearly a decade.

Just looking he was offered a chance to return to Ireland in 2020 but stayed put. Signed up till 2025 with the crusader. New Zealandā€™s props arenā€™t great either. They have a fella playing on Saturday whoā€™s heading to France and wonā€™t be eligible at the World Cup so Iā€™d question how good he even is tbh.

Is he from NZ as well as Ireland or what? Heā€™s always referred to as Irish so would expect playing for Ireland would be a draw for him.

His parents are Dutch and Iā€™m fairly sure he spent his youth in England. I think his dad is a fitness coach and has been travelling the world basically with it.

Ah. Not necessarily very connected to Ireland so. Still, the carrot of international rugby has drawn a lot of players here.

Youā€™d wonder what was the point in playing Keith Earls in a game like this? If they think heā€™s going to be able to do a job in 18 months time, itā€™s all a cod.

The thing for Ireland is thereā€™s only pro teams. Thereā€™s a total back log of players getting no game time and not developing.

I love the phrase injury is your best selecter but in Irish rugby injury Is the only chance a lot of lads get.

The irfu should invest in London and Irish and a French side. Send promising young players for game time and use it as a development tool.

Jack Crowley was better than Marcus smith at 20s but Crowley has barely played since his under 20s days.

Thatā€™s bullshit they barely even resource Connacht. Also, what are young players paid? Fuck all. Send them to London on top of that? What if they prefer to stay where they are? Most of them do.

A grand fresh looking face

Dozens of young players have joined Ulster and Connacht from Leinster but thereā€™s still a back log.

Look at Beirne If he didnā€™t leave Ireland heā€™d have been lost to the game.

Sure loan them to the clubs abroad on two year deals. Clubs would be desperate for the players.

Heā€™d fit right in.

You must be a decent prop so :ok_hand:

Oli jager

Mayve just not interested in moving home. Heā€™d definitely start for three of the provinces youā€™d imagine

He went to school in Newbridge his old man is Dutch and was a teacher there. He moved to NZ straight from school. He is qualified by residency for them now. They donā€™t seem in a mad rush to cap him. He is 26, was a regular for crusaders this season but not a regular starter last year

He showed a massive lack of ambition staying out when he could have gone to lĆ” rochelle. Your plan of setting up outreach programs abroad makes some sense but would he have gone?