The Anti-Rugby Football Thread

Traditionally the role of the No. 8 would have been heavily based upon carrying the ball. However, these days it depends more on the balance across the rest of the back-row. For example, Australia used Pocock at 8 in the recent world cup and he would be a ruck specialist/turnover merchant as opposed to ball carrier.

For Ireland and Leinster, Heaslip has often been in teams with more dynamic ball-carriers e.g Sean Oā€™Brien, Ferris etc and that has reduced the amount of times he gets his hand on the ball. That being said his ruck and tackle stats are usually right at the top of the team and are very consistent. Also, lasting 80 minutes in most games is a huge asset.

In relation to Glasā€™s question, Iā€™d have him ahead of Vunipola and Senatore. Heā€™s prob at a similar level to Picamoles and Faletau. Both can have good games but are way less consistent than Heaslip (and certainly donā€™t have the consistency at club level) and it would also depend on what other back row players you have as both are better carriers but not as good in terms of overall work-rate. Pocock isnā€™t really an 8 but obviously had an exceptional RWC squeezed into the position. No Hooper and heā€™s a 7 though. Vermuelen had a good world cup but as part of a usually dominant pack which makes a big difference. Read is a super player as is Parisse. However Parisse is fading and very injury prone so for a one-off Iā€™d take him but Heaslip for a team over a season. So the answer is prob somewhere in the middle.

Good post, far more informative than the other bluffer. I disagree that heā€™s at the same level as Picamoles, he is not capable any more of having the level of impact on a game that Picamoles can, if he ever could. Iā€™d quibble with Faletau and Vunipola too.

A poor mans Victor Costelloe

I think Picamoles and Vunipola are far more explosive runners but prob less overall workrate. For example, youā€™d often see them fielding kicks in the backfield and taking it forward which Heaslip almost never does. Iā€™d wonder how often the pair of those last 80 minutes though which means at least one of your subs needs to be earmarked to replace them.

Picamoles looked good in the World Cup but heā€™s been pretty average in recent years for Toulouse and France. Vunipola tends to have big games and then very average games.

Faletau is often excellent for Wales at times - however like many of the Welsh players he doesnā€™t come near that for the Dragons or have to play big H-Cup games - it would seem he peaks a couple of times a year. Itā€™s also interesting to note that despite Gatland being clearly a fan, he chose Heaslip over Faletau for the first two Lions tests in Oz.

friendlies donā€™t count mate

Part of the problem in Ireland is rating our players based on H cup. Wales players are often shite at that level but outperform Irish players for their country.

They do and they donā€™t - theyā€™ve obviously won 6 nations in recent years but then so have Ireland. Theyā€™ve beaten Ireland but then again Ireland have beaten Wales. Very similar performance levels really. Players like Warburton and Faletau do very little all year apart from for Wales while the Irish players put performances in across the year - I know which I appreciate more.

Past it how? His carrying hasnā€™t been his focal point since Sean Oā€™Brien emerged.

Against Argentina and France he was top of the stats all over. He was noted by Green and Gold rugby to have the top impact at ruck time alongside Rory Best, in over a season.

Earlier your argument was he was consistently shit, are you turning back on that now?

Iā€™m rating Heaslip at international level, as have his coaches

Wales have won grand slams, Irelandā€™s last two wins are of the Mickey Mouse variety. They perform extremely well at world cups whereas Ireland have been shit.

So if they donā€™t count then Heaslipā€™s sum appearances vs the Southern Hemisphere are 2 - Australia in 2011 and Argentina in 2015.

yup

Whatā€™s all this bullshit?

In the last game Jamie Heaslip played vs Picamoles, he was by far the better player.

The work rate/Total Ruck Involvement and commitment shown by Best, Heaslip, Ross, Oā€™Brien and Toner presents a formidable challenge for any opposition. Best and Heaslip gave the highest numbers Iā€™ve collected in more than a year. Before his injury, Oā€™Connell was matching this work rate. Toner makes a lot of rucks but generally with low impact.

Wales have exited the Rugby World Cup at the group stages on 3 occasions.

Ireland have exited the Rugby World Cup at the group stages on 1 occasion.

#dropsmic

Whoā€™s this nerd collecting ruck involvement stats?

A lone Australian wolf, a hero for the purposes of this argument in my opinion

A bit arbitrary and open to your manā€™s interpretation, knowledge, mood, sobriety and other factors though?

Neither @Mac or @glasagusban have put forward any arguments so far by glas naming a few players. The sure sign of spoofers. I know Munster fans have always had a problem with Jamie, they donā€™t like the flashy white boots, except on Zeebs

That maybe, Iā€™m enjoying this robust rugby football discussion in the week before the European Rugby Champions Cup though.