The Battle for Liam 09

Yea, Young flaked tall midfielder from Tumna, Chunky came in all guns, lot of timber swung, nasty enough scenes.

High-jinx is all it was.

Ref should have had a throw-in given long before Young pulled. Anyone would have pulled with the ball hanging aorund for that long. Worth a yellow IMO. Didn’t see much in the scuffle other than pushing and holding. Worth a few yellows maybe.

Mick Mc deserved to go. Both of his yellows were deserved.

The extra space and numerical advantage took their toll on Laois and probably proved to be the difference in the end.

Had we been given the penalty early on instead of the ‘advantage’ that Houlihan put over we would have gievn them a scare at least.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Joe done what he liked, but Healy got the goods. Ollie had a niggle I heard, no point risking him against the likes o Laois.

Laois done all they could, but just dont have it at the moment. Christy Ring might be on the cards.

Willie Hyland, Brian Campion, James Walsh, John A Delaney all hurled manfully, but we were never going to have the firepower to trouble them. Young lowered the blade a little bit, him and Chunky had to go.[/QUOTE]

[quote=“The Puke”]Did chunky gget sent off too…

Willie Hyland is a noble little hurler, very dynamic…[/QUOTE]

Willie only started to hurl with 20 mins to go with nothing to play for. Standard fare from him realy. He tends to just stand around most of the time and then score a hero point to get noticed. Has great ability but never delivers a good 70 mins.

Will Chunky Hayes miss the Leinster semi or final now? Would imagine he’s a big part of their new ‘hardier’ game plan so would surely be a big loss.
As usual my only hope of someone new winning the hurling is Galway. You’d have think I’d have learned my lesson by now…

Cork really should have won that game after utterly dominating the second half. Some poor decision making and shooting cost them dearly.

Tipp will win nothing this year.

[quote=“gola”]Will Chunky Hayes miss the Leinster semi or final now? Would imagine he’s a big part of their new ‘hardier’ game plan so would surely be a big loss.
As usual my only hope of someone new winning the hurling is Galway. You’d have think I’d have learned my lesson by now…[/QUOTE]

I’m not sure the lads he has brought in from Portumna are good enough for inter county fare. Smith, Niall and Chunky Hayes, Lynch and McEntee are all fine club players but I cant see them making the step up.

Can someone explain to me why so many people “hate” Tipp?

[quote=“giuseppe”]High-jinx is all it was.

Ref should have had a throw-in given long before Young pulled. Anyone would have pulled with the ball hanging aorund for that long. Worth a yellow IMO. Didn’t see much in the scuffle other than pushing and holding. Worth a few yellows maybe.

Mick Mc deserved to go. Both of his yellows were deserved.

The extra space and numerical advantage took their toll on Laois and probably proved to be the difference in the end.

Had we been given the penalty early on instead of the ‘advantage’ that Houlihan put over we would have gievn them a scare at least.

Willie only started to hurl with 20 mins to go with nothing to play for. Standard fare from him realy. He tends to just stand around most of the time and then score a hero point to get noticed. Has great ability but never delivers a good 70 mins.[/QUOTE]

Possibly harsh there on Willie, but yea, we should expect more from him. Still he was one of the better performers over the 70. Fair play to Campion, he hurled a lot of ball and never dropped the head. Tough start for Tagdh.

I can’t see it happening myself either but surely the likes of the Hayes’s deserve a chance after starring on what most agree is the best club team of all time. That’s surely credentials enough over some fella whose never done anything of note at senior level.

I think Smith is a fine player meself.

I think it’s fair enough. He’ll take shots without looking and when he scores one of them everyone thinks ‘oh that’s great, Willie’s a great hurler’ and conveniently forgets that he’s hit five wide, been blocked for two others and his man’s cleared every other ball that came near him.

Campion was great, two points from play from centre back is good going. He’s one of the few in the county who’s turned out better than expected over the last few years. I don’t think Tadhg could be blamed for much that went wrong today. The short puckousts worked well enough.

Apologies but to me you are just a culchie like the rest of them, I don’t even know where half of you coonts are from so if you aren’t going to take the common courtesy to state your location in your post profile then please give me one good reason why people hate Tipp.

Attaboy scumpot, taking fucking names!

Admins ban this mong.

I think their fellow Munster counties and bordering hurling counties like Kilkenny and Galway think they have a really misplaced arrogance. Tipp is the ‘home of hurling’ and all that with Thurles and they tend to go on about it even though they haven’t been too successful in the last 30 years in terms of winning All Irelands. Don’t really mind them myself but they wouldn’t even consider us a rival anyway! Maybe the other lads will correct me here.

Not far wrong with that bandage, they have a fierce habit in terms of looking down their nose at the other counties too…

I thought it was something like that Bandage. Without looking at the roll of honour, I would guess they are one of the top 3 in terms of AIs along with KK and Cork, and I would also guess they’re probably second only to Cork for Munster titles. So minnow counties like Clare are jealous of their history, love any opportunity to point out their recent relative lack of success, and generally resent Tipp’s rich history. Fairly uninteresting stuff.

These hunches you have without knowing much about it seem startingly spot on Sledge. Nice work.

No one hates Tipp, they’re alright sorts. We just like a bit of harmless banter with them, its sort of an “in” joke they have with the rest of the hurling world. “Look at us” they pronounce “we are the home of hurling, and your betters”. The rest of us chortle at this gentle self deprecating humour and play along with choice, inofensive rejoinders such as “you are in your arse you bunch of moronic, inbred, cretinous, ugly, useless, overrated, arrogant, gobshite, used to be good but haven’t been for years, Clare jersey rip off, hateful, smelly, sangwich munching, cousin shagging cooonts”.

See? Harmless, nothing in it.