The Battle for Liam 09

[quote=“Pikeman”]Wexford v Kilkenny from 97 was on? Fook sake-they never advertised that the cunts.

Decent oul game that day. Billy ended up receiving motm. I still remember the shoulder Rod Guiney gave to DJ. A thunderous hit-2 of them bounced off each other but DJ still got up and kept going with the ball. Sean Flood and Tom Dempsey singing the “Purple and Gold” then in the Hogan.

97 was the first year of the back door too. Wexford badly affected by it-would have been playing Down in the All-Ireland semi if the format was the same and a dream final set up v Clare.
As it was Tipp destroyed Down then beat us and almost killed Rory McCarthy and a few other Wx lads in the process. Pure dirt Think I remember Laffan missing an easy goal in the first minute or two.[/QUOTE]

Wexford were well on their way to winning when byrne came on. It’s often good to look back Sean flood conceded some amount of scores to Barry and carter. Storey was incredibly poor the same day. DJ was well held in the second half.

That was some shite KK team. The manager didn’t cover himself in glory either.

[quote=“KIB man”]Wexford were well on their way to winning when byrne came on. It’s often good to look back Sean flood conceded some amount of scores to Barry and carter. Storey was incredibly poor the same day. DJ was well held in the second half.

That was some shite KK team. The manager didn’t cover himself in glory either.[/QUOTE]

Nah-they weren’t well on their way at all if I remember correctly. Byrne won the day.

Cody took over the following year and the rest is history.

[quote=“Pikeman”]Nah-they weren’t well on their way at all if I remember correctly. Byrne won the day.

Cody took over the following year and the rest is history.[/QUOTE]

Cody took over in 99.
Kevin Fennelly got us to the AI final in 1998.

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]Cody took over in 99.
Kevin Fennelly got us to the AI final in 1998.[/QUOTE]

You know what?
You’re right there.
Poor oul Nicky got a hard time of it from his own people, mostly because of his brother.

Canice was a good hurler on his day.
We never really knew where to play him though.

Apparently Canice Brennan is the only Kilkenny player to have started championship games for Kilkenny in all lines[FB,HB,Mid,HF,FF].

[quote=“Pikeman”]Nah-they weren’t well on their way at all if I remember correctly. Byrne won the day.

Cody took over the following year and the rest is history.[/QUOTE]

You dont remember correctly. Wexford were winning and in total control of the game by that stage. KK were being cleaned out in their half forward line, midfield and nearly all areas of the pitch. Byrne got the goal that killed the game but the momentum was all with Wexford at the time.

Rory McCarthy was outstanding. Sad that he didnt make the most of his potential. Did he play in the forwards much after? That said how KK left that lad Costello on him for the entire game was strange.

[quote=“KIB man”]You dont remember correctly. Wexford were winning and in total control of the game by that stage. KK were being cleaned out in their half forward line, midfield and nearly all areas of the pitch. Byrne got the goal that killed the game but the momentum was all with Wexford at the time.

Rory McCarthy was outstanding. Sad that he didnt make the most of his potential. Did he play in the forwards much after? That said how KK left that lad Costello on him for the entire game was strange.[/QUOTE]

As a Wexford man I know full well you don’t have Kilkenny beat even if you have control and momentum on your side-hence why boul billy won it for us.

Rory played in the forwards most of the time for us-a few stints in midfield too. Wasn’t a great scoring forward but got through a lot of ball.
Still one of the best around in the local club scene and has had some great games in the backs for the Martins.

Who is Liam 09 and why are people battling for him?

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]Canice was a good hurler on his day.
We never really knew where to play him though.

Apparently Canice Brennan is the only Kilkenny player to have started championship games for Kilkenny in all lines[FB,HB,Mid,HF,FF].[/QUOTE]
Didn’t know that. Canice was indeed a fine hurler and the treatment he and Nicky got from sections of the crowd was shocking.
94 to 98, the years a.o. and b.c.
Wasn’t the attendance at the 97 Leinster Final a record? 55000 in or around I think.
Galway in Tullamore won’t be easy. They’ve beaten us there at underage level before so there shouldn’t be any fear in them like there would be if it was in Thurles.
This has to be the year for Dublin to take Wexford after the let offs of the last couple of years.

Disappointed that the draw has paired Kilkenny and Galway together in the semi. I’d say the Wexford crowd are too as it means another day of humilation in the final for them (provided they can over come Dublin).

Surely to god the Galway V Kilkenny match will attract more than 18,000 fans, if not, the leinster championship is a dead duck

I’m happy enough with it. Beating Wexford and getting to the Leinster final would be massive for the Dublin hurling project, and you still get to see Kilkenny play Galway. It’s win-win. Fuck Wexford.

Big day for Galway hurling although we won’t hold out too much hope. Still plenty of naysayers around the place though.

Robin Hood? Where the fuck did you come from? You must hide out on GGA threads.

Get fucked

Here go and shite. Fool. I was asking a fucking question you turfmunching mong rat jallopy flea ridden fook!

I repeat: Get fucked.

No need for that Robin…chill the fuck out

How many Clare fans do ya reckon will turn up against Tipp?

8k?

[quote=“KIB man”]How many Clare fans do ya reckon will turn up against Tipp?

8k?[/QUOTE]

I would say around the 10k mark seeing as it is on in Limerick, would expect about 35k at it overall