The Battle for Liam 09

Duignan giving out about lads punching the air - had he been watching himself on reeling in the years from the 1998 all ireland final earlier this evening he might be saying something different - the dour cunt

Donie Ryan - fooking hell. Remember the trilogy against Tipp a couple of years ago? Didn’t he make a shocking balls up in one of the games near the end that would have won it? My memory’s sketchy on it - possibly the first game but his lack of awareness was shocking. That wide in the first half today when James Ryan was inside him reminded me of it.

Duignan and Finnerty are some fooking clowns. The two of them are crying here.

Cork-Tipp was poor also. Munster hurling is in trouble.

There is the Leinster hurling championship and then there is the Lesser hurling championship aka Munster.

[quote=“Bandage”]Donie Ryan - fooking hell. Remember the trilogy against Tipp a couple of years ago? Didn’t he make a shocking balls up in one of the games near the end that would have won it? My memory’s sketchy on it - possibly the first game but his lack of awareness was shocking. That wide in the first half today when James Ryan was inside him reminded me of it.

Duignan and Finnerty are some fooking clowns. The two of them are crying here.[/QUOTE]

Donie ryan isn’t very good at hurling.

He has a huge heart and will work his bollocks off but he just lacks the ability for this level…

runty i only got in the terrace at about 3.50, what was the final score in the intermediate, heard Waterford won well

[quote=“The Puke”]He has a huge heart and will work his bollocks off but he just lacks the ability for this level…

runty i only got in the terrace at about 3.50, what was the final score in the intermediate, heard Waterford won well[/QUOTE]

I was only in the same time as yourself. I had a bit of business to take care of down at the train station first. I think it finished something sick, like 5-15 to 0-5.

I think its fair to say Tipp would bate the pick of the three other teams left in the Munster Championship.

Tipp v clare - Handy one for the Premier here - just get in, get out, no injuries and no suspensions and we will be laughing. We might laugh at clare on the day also, like that time Nicky laughed at clare.

[quote=“The Puke”]He has a huge heart and will work his bollocks off but he just lacks the ability for this level…

runty i only got in the terrace at about 3.50, what was the final score in the intermediate, heard Waterford won well[/QUOTE]

In conditions like that, marking tight corner-backs, a player like Donie hasn’t a hope. It’s a day made for backs to begin with but a player like Donie Ryan just wouldn’t have the control to contribute anything.

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]The lads who run those games in Thurles had no idea what they were doing for the League Final.
Only one stile open for cash. As a result loads of Offaly and Wexford supporters were left stranded outside. They would fuck this up big style.

And the game in Nowlan Park is set so adding a game to it would be easy. I wouldn’t expect it to be even near a sell out so by putting the Limerick Waterford game there you will probably make it a sell out with a 30000 capacity.

It’s not that bad for Waterford fans. Not great for Limerick fans but not too much past Thurles.[/QUOTE]

Too right CD. Was embarrasing that day down in Thurles the way things were organised. Stewards not knowing what to do and eventually giving up and leaving. I heard the same thing happended down in Cork on saturday so maybe its a Munster thing.

The age profile of the stewards in Thurles is real dad’s army stuff. They’re not interested in anything post-Joe McKenna.

Joe is an alright sort.

Big difference in beating KK in an All-Ireland final though and punching the air against a very average Limerick team for getting a free in modern Munster semi-final.
Its ridiculous the way Waterford go on.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Big difference in beating KK in an All-Ireland final though and punching the air against a very average Limerick team for getting a free in modern Munster semi-final.
Its ridiculous the way Waterford go on.[/QUOTE]

I shared a terrace with Waterford fans twice last year and they seem to love them for it. As long as the crowd keeps responding they might as well keep at it. I’d never encourage lads to do it but if it does no harm then why not.

Its small margins at that level, and the energy they are exerting in doing it is stupid. They can’t be fully concentrated on the game if thats their reaction. Its attention seeking in my book, that is harmful to the team.

Is that a serious argument? That they are exerting too much energy in doing it? Should they follow Ronan O’Gara’s advice and take some Lucozade Sport to compensate?

Not so much the energy in punching the air, but where are their heads if they are doing this?
I’d say they are up in the stands for those moments. Mullane should have been trotting in to corner forward waiting for that free. If he had been having a blinding 2nd half you could justify it in some way, but he hardly got a ball. He should be thinking about the next ball.

Turnstile operator in Thurles is a legacy job, passed on from generation to generation. The league final was a gallery, going in with the tickets and the lads on the turnstiles with tears in their eyes, bemoaning the lack of skim.

No it wasn’t and no it isn’t.

It wasn’t great. Poor may be an overstatement but it was nowhere near the “classic” that some were heralding it. It was ok. And based on yesterday and that game, yes it is.