The Battle for Sam 2009

[quote=“north county corncrake”]i see there were a fair few carkies at the game today- what shit supporters they truely are:mad:

they must be the biggest event junkies in ireland[/QUOTE]

:clap::clap::clap::thumbsup:

Comes across as a decent analyst of GAA games when he’s on RT1. Dunno much about him after that. He managed the most noble of Connacht counties once in Roscommon, perhaps thats where your animosity may stem from farmer?

I will never forget the cunt mouthing to Maurice on the sideline in Thurles that day mind you, but shur he was Dublin manager, hard to expect much more.

We’ll not agree on this one so

Its either :clap: or put our differences aside and head for :clap:

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]We’ll not agree on this one so

Its either :guns: or put our differences aside and head for :clap:[/QUOTE]

:thumbsup:

[quote=“myboyblue”]Comes across as a decent analyst of GAA games when he’s on RT1. Dunno much about him after that. He managed the most noble of Connacht counties once in Roscommon, perhaps thats where your animosity may stem from farmer?

I will never forget the cunt mouthing to Maurice on the sideline in Thurles that day mind you, but shur he was Dublin manager, hard to expect much more.[/QUOTE]

Thought that was very out of character for him to be honest
That event apart he always struck me as an alright sort

:thumbsup:[/QUOTE]

or even :guns::clap::guns:

I was waiting all evening to see highlights of Limerick v Clare and had to leave the room to answer a phone call for a few minutes. When i returned i was told i’d missed the highlights. :clap:

Junior Football Munster Championship

Cork 3-10 Kerry 0-9

Fiachra Lynch ran rampant apparently, always liked the look of the lad. :clap:

Gooch was rubbish today. Should have been replaced by right. Ya he got a good point near the end but his use of the ball was criminal throughout.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Commentators eh? Idiots.

Looking at that again, I’m even more convinced of my earlier assessment that Keneally was very very good today, he put in a huge shift around the centre today.[/QUOTE]

Nope. He was the third best midfielder on view and struggled for stamina I thought. May improve but I doubt it.

[quote=“Mac”]Couple of points / questions

1. Dublin were muck. They’ve gone back from last year. No gameplan and lads just running all over the shop. If Meath had started Joe Sheridan at Full Forward instead of the wing back they had up there who only has a left foot they would have won. How far has Brian Cullen fallen back?

The wing back still won a decent bit of ball so I would be very worried about Bastick. Cullen should be brought in centre forward. They need a playmaker badly but I think the lack of focus on Dublin will suit them. It was pretty obvious they had little ballwork done and they will know a lot more about certain players after today.

1. Meath were equally muck. Moyles was wasted in the corner. McKeigue was rubbish at Centre Back. King was a joke. Ward is a decent player. Farrell is good. Sheridan should be starting.

Meath were shocking. Farrell was good though.

1. Cork threw it away. They had Kerry there for the taking but their inability to close out a big game haunts them again. Some free by the young fella to put them a point up all the same.

Agree big time. Cork were tactically inept in the second half and used the ball terribly. Nerves got to them at the end and as a relatively experienced team that would worry if I was a Cork fan

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]1. Dublin weren’t great, but a large turnover between this year and last year. There’s plenty of time to improve. Actually thought that we were more solid at the back than previously. if we could get Brennan to distribute a bit better we’d do well. He got on an amount of ball today. Was dsappointed to see Sherlock and Whelan on in the second half. dOn’t think they have much to add at this stage. All Ireland’s aren’t won in June, no point in building up the hype now. I think that we’ll improve (at least I hope) esepecially upfront where I thought our system was moderate. Keaney looked a bit lazy, Bernard Brogan was poor enough and we would have been in trouble without Alan Brogan ( who still infuriates though with his selfish play at times)

The movement of Keaney and Davoren at times in the second half was disgraceful. Easy enough blame the lads out the field if the lads inside dont want it. Keaney has had the mumps and looks badly off his game. Bernard Brogan will come come good again. Dont understand the criticism of Alan Brogan. The best forward I saw today and wasnt even at his best. Jayo moved pretty well when he came on. Dubs wont have much hype about them now which will suit them imo.

QUOTE]

Said on the other thread I couldnt believe they were wasting time talking to that Flynn fella. He could an alright sort and all, but it was a waste of fucking time and shame on whoever let Des loose with that idea.

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]We’ll not agree on this one so

Its either :clap: or put our differences aside and head for :clap:[/QUOTE]

I am not sure why McStay gets such a hard time to be honest.

Nowhere near as bad as Brolly, O’Rourke and Spillane.

Jaysus KIB you talk an unreal amount of shite.

Gooch was poor today, yet could still do that when it was needed most, thats why he was left on.

Name the midfielders who were better than Kenelly today?

McStay is an utter dick.

See my earlier angry post. We had enough of looking at how good Waterford were 50 years ago last year before the all ireland.
Rte the cunts done the same thing to Carlow a few weeks ago. TG4 will show more highlights tomorrow in an hour than RTE did in an hour and a half.

That is it exactly.

Martin McHugh asked Micheal on the radio today if he ever saw Gooch as bad for Kerry andf Micheal said to hold on as the game was not over yet.

A class act.

Like Torres in many ways, you wonder what impact he has on a game but you know that if he gets a sniff then there is only one place the ball is going, even if he is out of the game.

Can’t buy that level of quality.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Jaysus KIB you talk an unreal amount of shite.

Gooch was poor today, yet could still do that when it was needed most, thats why he was left on.

Name the midfielders who were better than Kenelly today?[/QUOTE]

I thought Keneally was excellent as well. Sign of the mans quality is that they give him all the free kicks to distribute even though he has probably kicked the round ball less than any of them. Picked up a woeful amount of breaks and kept running for the whole game.

Cork may have dominated midfield but individually I thought neither O Connor or Murphy were better then Keneally.

Pearce O Neill and Lynch were outstanding for Cork, Canty had a great first half but thought once he got the yellow card his play disimproved. Shields was a worthy man of the match though.

[quote=“KIB man”]

The movement of Keaney and Davoren at times in the second half was disgraceful. Easy enough blame the lads out the field if the lads inside dont want it. Keaney has had the mumps and looks badly off his game. Bernard Brogan will come come good again. Dont understand the criticism of Alan Brogan. The best forward I saw today and wasnt even at his best. Jayo moved pretty well when he came on. Dubs wont have much hype about them now which will suit them imo.

QUOTE][/QUOTE]

Don’t disagree that he was the best on show, but he looks like he’s playing for himself a lot of the time. Today was no different. He was also hanging around his own full back line at one stage today. The best forward today at the wrong end of the pitch. He’s a very good player but i always felt he could be one of the very best in the country. I just don’t think he’s in the same class as Gooch or McDonnell

Yep, it’s fairly silly all right. I imagine most of us are looking to see the highlights of games rather than reflections from years gone by. 10 minutes talking about Waterford hurling in the 1950s and then a token gesture report on the Clare-Limerick. We didn’t even get to see a replay of the cracking goal Clare scored.

Tomas O’Se should have been man of the match, but I’m glad that the very underrated Shields got some attention. I would still prefer him at corner back with maybe Noel O’Donovan at full, more solid full back line without having to use the likes of O’Connor, Duggan, O’Regan etc.