The Battle for Sam 2009

[quote=“Mac”]You’re funny if nothing else I’ll give you that. Tried to hospitalise him?? Laughed out loud at that one! I never tried to portray forde as the victim at all but read into it what you like.

Care to answer my earlier question about your obsession with GAA attendances?[/QUOTE]

no, at this moment in time i do not feel like answering your earlier question

[quote=“myboyblue”]Dempsey has a decent side there once all are fit, but there’s not much on the bench. Kingston didnt kick today at all, doing his LC at the moment to be fair to him.

Laois utterly dominated midfield today and the whole central area, good to see. Half back line cleaned up.

Bring on the fucking white fellas.[/QUOTE]

I’d love to see yez beating them. They’re not all they’re hyped up to be. Awfully dodgy at the back. If yee can get rid of the softness you’ve a shout of upsetting the Dubs. Kingston could run riot against them if given the chance.

But yet you’ve attended a number of All Ireland finals since? It seems odd

An important question all the same Ncc, I think there was in excess of 100,000 out last weekend, this weeks figures obviously still being compiled

It’ll all come down to the central area with Kildare, Earley must be stopped.

Always interesting between us and our beloved neighbours.

I think we are Laois fans now Myboy, Kildare have an undeserved swagger this year

yes Mac- i needed further evidence to support my earlier decision -

Fair fooks to Cork as well. Only seeing the highlights now. Reckon this could be the year that they start to challenge properly for Sam. Delighted for the Aghada men involved. They’ve a very good set of young lads coming through who are raw enough not to fear any one. That Carey lad at corner back seems a great player and their full forward line will trouble any backline in the country. Plus, they realised they can win games without Ger Spillane. Definition of a liability.

Saw a bit of the game yesterday and the highlights there.

Good to see some one else come on the scene challenging the top two.

I know they lost but Declan O’Sullivan is a superb footballer - the best in Ireland I would say. Scored a peach of a point.

Good to hear Padjo. Kildare always need to be put in their box, god willing we’ll do it in 2 weeks in Tullamore.

Kildare is just a small town in Dublin.

I don’t think it’s bitterness at the result last night but I mentioned on the Wexford GAA thread that I thought Kildare were average enough. Earley was excellent all right and he’ll win more than his share of primary possession.

I don’t think their backs are overly impressive and they lack natural finishers upfront. I like that Kavanagh lad wing forward - good engine and chips in with a few scores. I don’t rate Smith, despite his 1-3, but Doyle will probably be better the next day.

I thought they were cynical enough with the jersey pulling, body checks and stuff and they’re big and physically imposing and will grind teams down rather than outplay them. Nothing in their performance to merit the hype that’s building up around them in my opinion though.

McG has Kildare using all the ol Armagh tactics. Its worth noting that they seem to be fit, yet drift out of most games, even during the league.

They have no problem fouling, are a deeply cynical team, even down to having the wrists taped so as they wont hurt their wrists when they continuously block the runners.

With Quigley, Clancy, Meaney, O Loughlin there the next day, it’ll be very interesting. Kildare spanked us in the league so we have no reason to be confident going into this, but its Kildare, and its personal.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Saw a bit of the game yesterday and the highlights there.

Good to see some one else come on the scene challenging the top two.

I know they lost but Declan O’Sullivan is a superb footballer - the best in Ireland I would say. Scored a peach of a point.[/QUOTE]

Your right, he is a fine player, and was trying like a devil for Kerry all day, but it thought overall Miskella has too much for him, its just one of those match ups. DO’S has beaten probably better footballers than John, but MIskella simply has his number. Delighted for Miskella the way he’s playing. He’s had so many injuries and managers thinking he’s not up to it that he really deserves his time in the limelight. A serious clubman too.

He is playing great stuff alright. Gave away a few silly balls the last day but on the whole was excellent. I think I’ll set up a new thread for the build up to the Munster Final. I have a feeling we’re on a hiding to nothing though.

Lads i think ye are being a little unfair on Kildare, and i sense a fear in some of ye that they are heading in the right direction. I must admit i didn’t see Laois against Louth, but from the league (i know, a poor barometer) i’d say Kildare are a 5-6 points better team. They obviously have picked up some of the Armagh stuff, but by christ didn’t they need to??? Kildare have been woefully soft over last few years.
Bandage, in what way do you not rate Alan Smith? He’s a young forward who’s been getting better and better all the time. He scored 1-03 in championship, a 6 point total from a corner forward is good enough for me. One or two of their backs were under pressure alright, but Lyng and Barry are excellent footballers, and have troubled more fabeled teams.

I expect them to beat Laois pulling up.

On the rest of the weekends stuff.
Westmeath and Wicklow was brutal. Westmeath have a few lovely footballers, but could get blown away in next round. Wicklow are limited.
Cork had a superb win, but keeping the feet on the ground and not tuning out for 15 minute spells needs to be addressed. Kerry are in trouble. They have lost twice in Munster replays in recent years to Cork but you just knew they were timing it for August. I think this is different, they were well up for the match and looked in better condition that normal for this time. They can’t handle a running game. Jack O’ Connor has been caught off guard as well, but you can’t just pull these athletic types out of a hat, it takes a few years. The draw will be huge for them.
Laois did what they had to, i didn’t see it, but the fare was poor by reports and MBB expressed this as well i believe. Can’t see them beating Kildare, but local rivalry should keep it close enough.
What a win for Antrim, saw highlights and they seemed to have a gameplan, and stuck to it. Donegal look leaderless, i’d say Kerry would accept a trip to Donegal rather than a home game to Derry or someone at this stage.

The overall standard is poor, but teams are not trying to peak now, so its affecting the skill levels i think. Its very obvious in the hurling, Munster means feck all anymore, no matter what they tell ya. ( i know Mac, other thread):stuck_out_tongue:

Do that. I’d be worried for ye in the sense that Cork seem to be focused on it already. One of our lads is on Junior team and was training with them yesterday and he was saying that they hardly celebrated saturday night at all and most were in early on sunday for a recovery session. Thats not a normal thing for Cork footballers to do after they beat Kerry.

The support saturday was immense though, in a way one of the most pleasing aspects.

This Cork team hasn’t come out of nowhere…in fairness to them how many teams more than likely have to beat Kerry twice to win an all-Ireland??..they’ve suffered in that respect…delighted to see Anthony Lynch doing so well…nevers man handles the gooch like others do…

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Lads i think ye are being a little unfair on Kildare, and i sense a fear in some of ye that they are heading in the right direction. I must admit i didn’t see Laois against Louth, but from the league (i know, a poor barometer) i’d say Kildare are a 5-6 points better team. They obviously have picked up some of the Armagh stuff, but by christ didn’t they need to??? Kildare have been woefully soft over last few years.
Bandage, in what way do you not rate Alan Smith? He’s a young forward who’s been getting better and better all the time. He scored 1-03 in championship, a 6 point total from a corner forward is good enough for me. One or two of their backs were under pressure alright, but Lyng and Barry are excellent footballers, and have troubled more fabeled teams.

I expect them to beat Laois pulling up.

On the rest of the weekends stuff.
Westmeath and Wicklow was brutal. Westmeath have a few lovely footballers, but could get blown away in next round. Wicklow are limited.
Cork had a superb win, but keeping the feet on the ground and not tuning out for 15 minute spells needs to be addressed. Kerry are in trouble. They have lost twice in Munster replays in recent years to Cork but you just knew they were timing it for August. I think this is different, they were well up for the match and looked in better condition that normal for this time. They can’t handle a running game. Jack O’ Connor has been caught off guard as well, but you can’t just pull these athletic types out of a hat, it takes a few years. The draw will be huge for them.
Laois did what they had to, i didn’t see it, but the fare was poor by reports and MBB expressed this as well i believe. Can’t see them beating Kildare, but local rivalry should keep it close enough.
What a win for Antrim, saw highlights and they seemed to have a gameplan, and stuck to it. Donegal look leaderless, i’d say Kerry would accept a trip to Donegal rather than a home game to Derry or someone at this stage.

The overall standard is poor, but teams are not trying to peak now, so its affecting the skill levels i think. Its very obvious in the hurling, Munster means feck all anymore, no matter what they tell ya. ( i know Mac, other thread):p[/QUOTE]

Hard to listen to much after that kev?

Kildare will be favourites going into this, no doubt, but Laois never fear Kildare and I have a firm belief that the best athletes in Kildare have four legs and eat hay.

We’ll see in 2 weeks time.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]
The support saturday was immense though, in a way one of the most pleasing aspects.[/QUOTE]

What did you make of the Cork “fans” cheering the passes with 6 minutes to go Kev? Not somethin I ever recall Kerry doing in the other direction, despite ample opportunity over the past few years?

never thought i’d say this but i’ve a sneaky feeling Mayo are going to be there or thereabouts in September…