The Battle for Sam 2009

[quote=“Boxtyeater”]What a pack of hoors…:rolleyes: 15/16 minutes gone we’re leading 5 points to 1 and then kicked 5 points in the remaining 50 odd minutes.
Abysmal at midfield,our half back line were roasted.
Longford condensed m/f after the opening quarter, hoovered up the majority of breaking ball and had a couple of likely forwards in Berry, Barden and Kavanagh.
Those management heads that we’ve gotten appear unable to make a decisive strategy call from the line - they just replace players without analysing the symptoms of the problem.
Or maybe, just maybe, they are just there for “the expenses”.[/QUOTE]

or maybe there isnt enough decent footballers in leotrim compared to longford

:rolleyes: sadly…

So Leitrim lost at home to Roscommon and then Longford to crash out of the championahip embarrassingly.

There are no chippers in Vienna or Bratislava. Only kebab places & wurst stalls

Some very poor shooting from limerick so far, 3 bad misses. Cork 0-01 - Limerick 0-01

Blow for Limerick, they were starting to get on top and all

Very harsh peno there Puke , great response from Limerick though Cork 1-1 Limerick 0-05

Decided to lay Cork, Kilkenny and federer this morning, surely at least one of them won’t win today:)

What club is Ian Ryan from does anyone know?

~Edit~
Tis alright the comemtator just said St.Senan’s

And what a lovely club they are :rolleyes:

Cork are missing Lynch and Miskella big time

Penalty aside, Rory Hickey has had a fine first 35 minutes reffing it…

Not a great day in the betting scene Puke. :pint:

Thought Ref was decent enough, haven’t seen penalty on tv and was miles away from it at match, so i’ll take yer word it was harsh. To be honest its what won us the game as we were so far out of it we shouldn’t have been within the point or two when we made the Daniel Goulding burst. Fair play to Danny, he stood up when needed, got a peach of a goal and took the game on, he had his misses too, but he’s got a great attitude.

Linmericks pressure and general play was fairly impressive. In fact both teams back lines tackled like madmen, but Limericks forwards out done ours for work over the hour by a mile.
Few things shown up for Cork.
[LIST]
John Miskella is key to the team. As i mentioned here the other day, we are very short of cover at half back.[/LIST]
[LIST]
There could be no Nemo guy on the team the next day, now that would be amazing, and pleasing, if a little controversial. Kerrigan was red raw useless, and greedy. O’ Reagan was gone after 24 minutes, enough said. Masters was very poor again, despite an outstanding start[/LIST]
[LIST]
Ray Carey is the real deal, Corks best player over the 70 today[/LIST]
[LIST]
Nick Murphy looks burned, and he should never ever kick[/LIST]
[LIST]
Thats the worst half forward/midfield/half back performance from a winning side in Gaelic football in years, not often you cleaned out in those 3 sectors and win. Subs done well enough[/LIST]

Thankfully we’re off the radar again for a while and people think we are shit again. That is unfair on Limerick though, who i would say are a top 8 county now, they have a very good side. Probably need a little more leadership and scoring ability up front, but from Midfield back they are as good as most out there, and better than most of these knackers up north.

They are in Division Four of the league!

And that means what exactly? Tipp won Div 3 and Limerick beat them. Its means little. Westmeath play in Div 1 this year???
Its all about championship. I expect that Limerick team with any sort of draw at all to make 1/4’s.
Who’s better, for sure?
Tyrone, Kerry, Galway(although not on last week), Cork, Dublin, maybe Mayo and Kildare. Derry could be better, but look all over the place. Thats them in or around the top 8 imo.
I would give Limerick more than a fighting chance against anyone else, and favorites at home to anyone outside that group.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Thought Ref was decent enough,
Linmericks pressure and general play was fairly impressive. In fact both teams back lines tackled like madmen, but Limericks forwards out done ours for work over the hour by a mile.
Few things shown up for Cork.
[LIST]
John Miskella is key to the team. As i mentioned here the other day, we are very short of cover at half back.[/LIST]
[LIST]
Ray Carey is the real deal, Corks best player over the 70 today[/LIST]
[LIST]
Nick Murphy looks burned, and he should never ever kick[/LIST]
[LIST]
Thats the worst half forward/midfield/half back performance from a winning side in Gaelic football in years, not often you cleaned out in those 3 sectors and win. Subs done well enough[/LIST]

and better than most of these knackers up north.[/QUOTE]

To analyse your lenghty post Kev would take a week, but you are right in the highlighted observations.
The ref had a blinder, Cark, despite it’s origins, won’t see the Sam Maguire and to add to your view, I felt for Limerick.
John Galvin was, once again tremendous at m/f but they failed once again, to knock you cunts out when ye were gasping for air.

[quote=“Boxtyeater”]To analyse your lenghty post Kev would take a week, but you are right in the highlighted observations.
The ref had a blinder, Cark, despite it’s origins, won’t see the Sam Maguire and to add to your view, I felt for Limerick.
John Galvin was, once again tremendous at m/f but they failed once again, to knock you cunts out when ye were gasping for air.[/QUOTE]

I still have massive hope for Cork, just like the Kerry game doesn’t win you an All-ireland, playing shite against Limerick in a MF doesn’t loose you one either.
Both Miskella and Lynch could have played by all accounts, and would have was it in Croke Park i’d suggest. Our best replacement for half back is now an 18 year old, Aidan Walsh, thats worrying. We will not win an All-Ireland with Spillane or O’ Connor or Masters playing, but we could with Miskella, Lynch and Colm O’ Neill playing.

I think a win like today would bring this Cork team on a lot more than if they had won by 10 points+, stops complacency setting and allows management to see their weaknesses

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I still have massive hope for Cork, just like the Kerry game doesn’t win you an All-ireland, playing shite against Limerick in a MF doesn’t loose you one either.
Both Miskella and Lynch could have played by all accounts, and would have was it in Croke Park i’d suggest. Our best replacement for half back is now an 18 year old, Aidan Walsh, thats worrying. We will not win an All-Ireland with Spillane or O’ Connor or Masters playing, but we could with Miskella, Lynch and Colm O’ Neill playing.[/QUOTE]

Your so against James Masters its ridiculous. Obviously previous here…