The Battle for Sam 2009

shit considering that they play fuck all games

Pretty poor stuff in Enniskillen. Fermanagh came on strong and deserved to win it for their second half display.

Think now is the time to haul out the old cliche “typically dour Ulster championship fare”.

Can’t believe Down have fallen so low in football. Looked like they were improving at one stage last year when they beat Tyrone and stuffed Offaly and Laois but they’re back worse than ever now.

Fermanagh were within a decent free of winning an Ulster title last year, this shouldnt be forgotten. They have had an horrific League but are still a battle hardened Cship side.

Down are young and raw. They need Pete McGrawwwwwwwwww back, and mark my words, he will be.

Gives me some confidence for Wexford this year. Fermanagh were the only team who couldnt beat us this year.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Fermanagh were within a decent free of winning an Ulster title last year, this shouldnt be forgotten. They have had an horrific League but are still a battle hardened Cship side.

Down are young and raw. They need Pete McGrawwwwwwwwww back, and mark my words, he will be. [/QUOTE]

I agree, Ross Carr has done nothing for Down as a manager and has to go at the end of this campaign. After bringing the U-21’s to within a last minute goal of an All-Ireland title Pete McGrath has to be the obvious replacement.

Fair play to Fermanagh, it was a good performance by them. The game wasn’t up to much but the conditions were terrible. Todays game was a prime example of why the rules experimented with in the league are needed.

You think? Dessie or JP would never last a game if they came in for youse boys surely?!

JP wouldn’t be the dirtiest of players, Dessie on the other hand is always likely to pick up a yellow, in saying that i can’t remember him recieving any in the league. It was a pretty poor league for him so there could be some link between the 2.

did you lay them in the end?

:cool:

[quote=“myboyblue”]Dunno that, didnt see it. Check Trib website.

Downs jersyes are a disgrace, O Neills should be ashamed of themselves.

An absolute fookin’ disgrace is the word MBB. Our poor miserable club who sport the same colours are streets nay miles ahead.
Fookin’ dreadful - no wonder the cunts were useless.:cool:

57 frees in the game

& yet still the bigot didnt want to clean up their game:mad:

[quote=“north county corncrake”]57 frees in the game

& yet still the bigot didnt want to clean up their game:mad:[/QUOTE]

If it were refereed properly to the rules that are there things wouldn’t be so bad, surely you’d agree with that?

I wouldn’t decide upon Gaelic Football based on the fare that was served up today by those two sides, but they’re two limited teams to be fair. Fermanagh do well to go so well with what they have.

I’ve already said, Pete McGrawwwwww would get that Down side playing a lot better football with a lot better results. I put up an article with him on the site recently I think, he has a great philosophy about the game.

[quote=“myboyblue”]
I’ve already said, Pete McGrawwwwww would get that Down side playing a lot better football with a lot better results. I put up an article with him on the site recently I think, he has a great philosophy about the game.[/QUOTE]

I was a huge fan of McGrath’s Down teams in '91 and '94 (even though they beat Dublin) and have always liked the county since. They had a fantastic style of playing the game. Best forward line I’ve seen in my time watching. The way they ripped that Meath team to shreds in the third quarter of the 1991 final was unreal, one of my favourite memories. They have been utterly useless this decade though. Met Ross Carr a few times and he’s a sound man but it’s not working out at all for him as manager.

As for their jersey, I think it’s modelled on the one from the early 90’s - it’s a lot better than the one they had for the last few years which was manky looking. Most of the O’Neills jerseys in the last few years have been terrible - eg the new Dublin one. Stupid stripes and flashes all across the jerseys, they need to get back to traditional designs.

This was the opening round in what has always been a dour competition.

First day reverting to the old rules and lads will take liberties. Piss-poor weather leading to poor underfoot conditions and Fermanagh (at home TV etc) are a well drilled and gritty side.

IMO Bannon is a fair official (top 3/4) and he would be reluctant to be anyway free-flowing that would allow the game to get out of hand.
Unlikely that we’ve seen the Ulster champions yet.

[quote=“myboyblue”]If it were refereed properly to the rules that are there things wouldn’t be so bad, surely you’d agree with that?
I wouldn’t decide upon Gaelic Football based on the fare that was served up today by those two sides, but they’re two limited teams to be fair. Fermanagh do well to go so well with what they have.

I’ve already said, Pete McGrawwwwww would get that Down side playing a lot better football with a lot better results. I put up an article with him on the site recently I think, he has a great philosophy about the game.[/QUOTE]

id agree with the 1st 2 points MBB

[quote=“north county corncrake”]did you lay them in the end?

Eh No…sending off changed the whole game.

Onwards and upwards

[quote=“thedancingbaby”]Eh No…sending off changed the whole game.

Onwards and upwards[/QUOTE]

Aye, it completely ruined the last 38 seconds!

I like how Tohill chose to ignore Carrs shoulder into yer mans face last and just concentrated on the wee push into the back of the head that came afterwards.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Aye, it completely ruined the last 38 seconds!

I like how Tohill chose to ignore Carrs shoulder into yer mans face last and just concentrated on the wee push into the back of the head that came afterwards.[/QUOTE]

Did i hear Tohill correctly when he said it was harsh on Carr as ‘he’s not that kind of lad’?
Not the first time he has used this bullshit on the Sunday game either.

You’re spot on there HBV. Tohill is a players man completely, likes the manliness of the game, and shur it was only an aul dunt he gave him.

I’d say Tohill was a filthy cunt.