The beautiful people of fair Fingal

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5STiJbVpQec

Great footage. There were some variety of those cheap Italia 90 t shirts around in those days. I liked the one with the cartoons of all the different celebrities of the time like Haughey and Bono in the crowd at a game or the Britbusters one with Jack standing on the neck of a british bulldog character. Always remember an ape of a teacher from Mayo in primary coming in waving the ‘Ole Ole Sheedy saves the day’ one the day after the draw with England. The whole school was lined up on yard to go back in after break and the place erupted.

That was after the 0-0 draw with Egypt.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5BESyFNx7S4

Can Rocko or Fagan or some other of the proud TFK Fingallians please explain the “riots” yesterday on Portmarnock beach? I’m concerned that this behaviour is reinforcing the Fingallian stereotype.

What a hell hole

Jungle Juice & Speed. And fucking loads of it.

[quote=“tallback, post: 779684, member: 1158”]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5BESyFNx7S4

Can Rocko or Fagan or some other of the proud TFK Fingallians please explain the “riots” yesterday on Portmarnock beach? I’m concerned that this behaviour is reinforcing the Fingallian stereotype.[/quote]
Not a single person involved in the trouble was from Portmarnock or from the wider Fingal catchment area.

It’s like blaming the people of Belgium for Heysel.

How can you tell from the amateur video footage Rocko? They certainly sounded like Fingal types.

I am reliably informed that the incident involved a row between a gang of Caucasian Hibernian youths from the Summerhill area and a bunch of African Hibernian youths from the Ongar region of West Dublin. Portmarnock is sadly wide open to this kind of incident. If this happened on the tombola we would simply lock down Sutton Cross and nail every last one of the fuckers.

[quote=“Rocko, post: 779687, member: 1”]Not a single person involved in the trouble was from Portmarnock or from the wider Fingal catchment area.

It’s like blaming the people of Belgium for Heysel.[/quote]

Did you interview everyone of them?

A quick google search would suggest that this is not the first time that “riots” have taken place on Portmarnock Strand in recent times. Would you advise people to choose other locations for their beach day outings for fear of future repeat incidents Fagan?

Yes, I think this is the second time. Intriguingly we have a Garda force who will spend the weekend sitting behind speed guns but they couldn’t muster up a force to police this entirely predictable outcome.

I believe the term-de-jour is “discretion”

Yeah they are so busy running back to the Commissioner with tittle tattle about independent TDs that they haven’t even got time to crack a few gurriers skulls in a riot, which used to be one of the big perks of the job.

I was present for the aftermath of this and can confirm that
A) i’ve never seen as many people on the beach, thousands. It was comparable to a music festival. I presume there was a social media shout out.
B)The vast majority looked to be around 15 or 16.
C)they were certainly not fingalians.It was a nightmare trying to get a dart to town afterwards.
D)They made absolute shite of the beach. The council, however, have a superb track record of cleaning up the filth after these scumbags. I’ll check at some stage and let the forum know.

I am disgusted to see this sort of behaviour on one of Fingals finest beaches. Fucking scumbags.

Just checked out the velvet strand. Thankfully, due to the fantastic work of the council, fingal’s finest beach has been restored to it’s scenic self and all evidence of yesterday’s scumbaggery has been removed.

Thats your local property tax at work there. :slight_smile:

Looking at booking a nice hotel near the airport, preferably one with shops, restaurants etc in the immediate vicinity. Is Portmarnock far from the airport?
Any decent hotels on the north side?

[quote=“TreatyStones, post: 821044, member: 1786”]Looking at booking a nice hotel near the airport, preferably one with shops, restaurants etc in the immediate vicinity. Is Portmarnock far from the airport?
Any decent hotels on the north side?[/quote]

Ive heard good things about Clarion Liffet Valley

The Grand Hotel in Malahide is an option mate, good leisure facilities,great location

the country club in Porto looks decent too

[quote=“TreatyStones, post: 821044, member: 1786”]Looking at booking a nice hotel near the airport, preferably one with shops, restaurants etc in the immediate vicinity. Is Portmarnock far from the airport?
Any decent hotels on the north side?[/quote]

i´m sure you´d get some good deals for hotels in Swords…you could head into the village…