It is unbelievable how positive a person can be with a cancer diagnosis. It can take you unawares. Fair play to him, and to you. Never an easy visit to make but meant the world to him I bet.
I reckon deep down he knows. The way the family were thinking is if they told him he could be depressed out of it, or donāt tell him, and give him hope, then he has a bit of positivity.
Ah it did, ya could see it in him. Heās an out and out character so if he was down, Iād find it awful, cause heās a seriously funny man.
Brought my pal down to Whitfield cancer hospital in Waterford for his first radium treatment today. Heās been depressed the last week, comes with taking in the news and all that. Asking people to leave the ward when he gets visitors. Thankfully heās home since the weekend. He has a daughter who has down syndrome/autism, sheās only buzzing to have her daddy back home.
Whilst waiting for him in the waiting area of Whitfield, I got talking to a nice man from Enniscorthy who was about 80. Heās a Rapparees man and used to own a pub in the town. I made a point of talking about hurling, about how we think Keith Rossiter would get on, all that. He told me at the start of it he has bowel cancer, but isnāt in any discomfort. During the conversation a man in his late 40ās came in, got in on the conversation. I just thought this fella was bringing the gent from Enniscorthy home, turns out the two of them are on the same bus. 2 ladies came in, then. Not a bother on any of them. Smashing people who were delighted to hear the Wexford town accent and I taking the piss out of it āwould ya like your rissole breadcrumbed or batteredā, harmless spiel, a moments relief. When they were gone I seen a beautiful woman in her mid 30ās who looked like she was going through hell and back, after losing her hair. It humbled me in a way I donāt think Iāve ever been humbled before, and has me thinking ever since. Meeting them people and seeing the poor folk who are going through it. All the while bringing my pal down, and his being incurable. I brought him in the car, he fell asleep. Got home he was delighted to have a cup of tea and get a cuddle off his daughter. Constantly on my mind.
Youāre a good pal driving him to and from. Itās about all that anyone can do in these circumstances but Iām sure heās glad to have you there
Heās the man who taught me how to drive. Iād drive him to Russia and back if he asked.
You sound like a good lad to have at ones back. Fair play. It seems very small to you, but thatās huge to your mate, and his family!
Mrs. B does a day a week at a cancer centre locally, They have a bus to ferry people in and out to Galway. She has told me of that same humble feeling, meeting these people week on week, seeing how cheerful they can be, how the rapport builds between the patients and the volunteers, and how lonesome some of them can be for each other when they finish their course of treatment.
Fair play to your missus. A great service.
I canāt help but think what it must be like for the likes of Mrs. B and all who help out. The likes of the cancer bus is absolutely fantastic for people.
Iād consider doing it myself if I had the time.
Thatās the thing, itād be grand if youāre flexible Iād imagine.
Believe me, your pal appreciates it. Fair play to you.
It was an opportunity that came up at the right time after her mams passing. She finds she gets as much out of it as she gives.
Is that anything to do with cancer care west?
A similar outfit but different organisation
Iām lying on the bed here awake for the last two hours but absolutely flaming drunk still. A gran uncle ( 6 foot 5 and 25 stone,) put me wrong last night with about 15 pints and a rake of whiskey.
I need to ring the funeral man an hour ago to meet and pay him for the cremation.
The bed Iām lying in is my fathers. Or was my fathers. Lung cancer. Didnāt tell us till the end. He was in Spain so we didnāt knowā¦ I got here at 4am Saturday morning and went straight to hospital and didnāt leave his side till 4.30 am Monday morning when he slipped away. Peacefully in the end.
A shell of a man in the bed but thankfully he was coherent when i arrived and i hope he knew he wasnāt alone at the end. He was a Neil Young fan in his younger days and my first dance at my wedding was Harvest Moonā¦ It felt right to out the phone to his ear and play it for him right at the endā¦ I hope he heard it and he went off with a happy memory.
He was a very gentle soul. Helped everyone but himself at times. Always joking and upbeat and i never heard him say a bad word about anyone, even those that took advantage of his generosity.
Iāve to tackle the apartment todayā¦ Life doesnāt amount to much lads. Itās truly only the memories that are woth a fuck, i only see that now.
Iām not back by the way. Just passing throughā¦ I must get up now and meet the cremation man and give him his few bob.
Really sorry to hear that mouse, keep well bud. RIP to your dad, sounded like a great man.
Take care bud. RIP.
Sorry for your troubles
Sorry to read that mate. RIP to your Dad.