The Cork GAA Thread 2011

Sorry Mac, as fenway explains below, Shanagarry, lovely part of the world.

Fenway is right, and a great example too fenway. Club like Killeagh can go senior with one or two stars, and they carry a load of other fellas who train like fuck and make their way up the grades. No reason the Hartnetts wouldn’t propel RR to a Junior and maybe Intermediate A counties. They probably are not as strong overall as Killeagh were to get to Senior, but you never know.

Like if you win an East Cork your always in with a chance of winning a county in hurling.

Tom Kenny plays with Grenagh, in Mid-Cork Fenway, played against him loads.

grenagh are muskerry not avondhu. Turenne might confirm this, but to my knowledge russell rovers have done well underage in last few years. besides hartnett (brian) they have another couple of useful players around his age. this core together with the two older hartnetts would have giving them a great platform for the future. if hartnett develops as many believe he will, a junior county would not be out of the question.

to me the GAA has always being about the club, winning with family and lads you grew up. i am eternally grateful to all the volunteers who put so much time in developing the skills of my past team mates and i. an act like this is a big two fingers to the trojan work of said volunteers in clubs all over the country.

this is the last i will say on this matter. the link below would show that they had a progressive profile
http://www.russellroversgaa.com/photos.html

Yes, Grenagh are Muskerry, which is Mid-Cork.

Yes, you are right. They gave our lads a bit of a trimming in a County “B” Minor semi final a few years ago, Hartnett was only 14-15 but they had more than a few good fellas. They do very well with a very small pick down there.

`
Cheers fenners. Shanagarry is some spot, was only there and in Ballycotton and Garryvoe over the weekend.

It’s fairly shite when you hear stuff like that happening. Does yer man think he’s too big for his club or what’s his story? Amazing how lads like him can forget who it was that first put a hurl in their hand.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 549626”]
Get off this thread[/quote]
Eh, no.

This is a thread for winners. Lets keep it that way.

Russell Rovers had a very fine Minor team two or so years back I think, didn’t do much this year though iirc. At the same time, I wouldn’t be convinced they would get promoted with Brian Hartnett, their star player Kevin Hartnett has always performed poorly for his club for example and beyond the three Hartnetts they only have a handful of good hurlers.

Thats a typical small club thing to say, and is absolute balls as well. The same used to be said about Tom Kenny with Grenagh, and he’d have been superb at centre back. Thing is everyone expects so much from these fellas its ridiculous. And people then think they don’t care about the club because they don’t score 1-11 everytime they tog out.

I’ve seen Kevin Hartnett play a dozen or so times for Russell Rovers over the past five years and I have yet to see him play in anyway well. I barely noticed he was on the pitch when we played them this year. He is one of those players who seems to play at the level of those around him.

Of course, you’ve never seen him play for his club Kev so lets just take my word for it.

Prelim rd. 9/1/11
E Cork v WIT @ P Ui Rinn 2pm
F Kerry v ITT @ Austin Stack Pk. 2pm
G Tipp v UL @ Sean Treacy Pk. Tipperary , 2pm
H Clare v UCC @ Cooraclare, 2pm

I’ve marked him for his club, played against him twice.

I can only guess at why he played well that day… :stuck_out_tongue:

Trust me, he doesn’t stand-out for his club in the way, for example, Tadgh Healy does for Buttevant or young Brosnan does for Meelin. He is just not that type of player.

Oh i know that, but take him out of the team and you’ll see some hole. Your kinda proving my point, he’s not a marquee scorer like Brosnan or even his brother. Doesn’t mean he’s a serious serious player at that level.

All i’ll say is he’s very very athletic to mark, cunt is always moving, but in close i realised why he didn’t cut it at IC.

Draw for harty cup was made today:
1 Flannans V Colemans
2 Thurles v ard scoil

3 templemore V midelton
4 nenagh v charllivle

Semis 1V 2 3 V 4

quarter finals to be played 18th of january

Midleton & Charleville semi a real possibility. That would give Cork a team in the final, that alone would be good going on recent history.

Whoever wins the semi between Flannan’s and Ard Scoil will win both the harty and croke this year…Two very good sides

Thurles are handy too Puke, they were missing players earlier in the year. But your not far off from the results and from what i hear.

For cork hurling to prosper we need cork schools competing at the business end of the premier schools hurling competition. its great that colmans, charleville and midleton are all involved in the quarters.

it beggars belief that conor lehane is playing waterford crystal tournament in the middle of the harty cup. Last week he played a challenge game for his school versus good council and then that night had to line out for cork seniors versus LIT. he hobbled off injured after 20 mins. The harty will be over by end of february. surely they can let the kid put all his efforts into captaining his school in the harty cup. Midleton have a right good chance of reaching a final, largely due to fact we have a player of lehane’s ability.

Puke,
Colmans are very decent. By all accounts this flannans team is one of the best they have ‘produced’. ard scoil ris have a lot of last years team, most notably hannon.
Flannans versus Ard scoil should be some semi and i would not like to call it.

Whoever wins between midleton and templemore will have the beating of charleville or neanagh. Templemore have a very good spine with noel mcgrath’s younger brother apparently ever bit as prodigious as his older brother in their ranks.

Agreed, can never see the benefit if bring lads straight in from minor in the senior set up for the winter training, let them be til the ground hardens a bit and the ball work really starts…don’t think there is much to be gained in the short term by having him there all winter but a lot to be lost