The Corruption Thread

He addressed them previously. You really ought to inform yourself before you make an arse of it.

Insurance Companies = roaring and shouting

Donegal public houses crumbling around them = meek noises.

Your biggest worry about the MICA scandal is where is Pearse Doherty, probably the most vocal TD in the Dail on it?

Nonsensical but again common sense and intelligence has never been associated with a post of yours.

Is today irony day? Did I miss the memo

Youā€™ve succeeded in dumbing another thread down to your inane, infantile levels. You must be so proud.

Coming from you thatā€™s a massive compliment. Thanks

All jokes aside lads.

That tweet is akin to Shane Ross tweeting congratulations to an Irish sporting team.

The cheek of the cunt

Pearse has triggered the village idiot.

cc @Massey

They put 160 million in their alternative budget for this. Playing to the crowd here

No backbone whatsoever it appears.

A tweet congratulating them for coming down to Dublin to stand up for themselves.

Shoulder to shoulder me bollix.

Youā€™d have to feel sorry for the Iā€™m alright Jack types on here. They binge on other peopleā€™s misery. Must be a miserable, miserable life they lead.

Misery is as misery does. Iā€™m glad Iā€™m alright

This shite about rebuilding the houses to the original spec is pissing me off, especially considering the requirement to include original features where possible. Every single family will kick up a fuss that the plans arenā€™t exactly what they want. Then when theyā€™re built theyā€™ll be complaining that the kitchen is slightly different or the kidsā€™ bedroom is 2 inches smaller. The self-entitlement will be off the charts. Theyā€™ll be refusing to move in, it will drag on forever. Theyā€™ll be on Joe Duffy for the next 10 or 15 years complaining about their free government-built houses.

ā€œSelf-entitlementā€ - what happens to a Dublin family if their house burns down? They sleep on the streets and get spat on, then they get put on a housing list, then they get thrown in an apartment block somewhere. The Donegal equivalent would be building a 25 story block of flats in Letterkenny and throwing all the MICA families in there for life. They could call it Ballyboffeymun.

Is the government responsible for every faulty product thatā€™s sold in the country now?

I donā€™t think the MICA families should be treated like that though, but the only way this is going to work is if they just get a wedge of cash to cover the estimate of everything and are told to sort themselves out. Thatā€™s the only way to properly control costs and the time scale.

Long winded wum attempt

You were doing grand until you lost the run of yourself here. 5.5/10 for effort. Good grammar. Lacking creativity.

Heā€™s appealing to the lowest common denominator which will get him the likes he wants

I was thinking more about the temporary accommodation issue and the ā€œcapā€ issue.

The rental accommodation just wonā€™t be there, especially once all the MICA families start moving out. The price of renting in Donegal will explode. The only workable solution will be mobile homes. The cheapest way would be if the government just gave each of these families a mobile home for 2 years or so and introduced a planning exemption so they could put it where they liked. Then theyā€™d get their chunk of cash and would have a few years to rebuild their houses.

As regards the value cap, ā‚¬500,000 would be completely fair. If some people had to rebuild the houses back smaller than the first time, then fuck 'em. Thats a big enough house for anyone. Lots of families during the boom ended up paying excessively large mortgages on small houses during the boom. Why should Donegal McMansion families be any different? The more I think about it, the more comfortable I am with Donegal McMansion families living out the rest of their days in negative equity.

Hold your whist or Iā€™ll post up your Facebook page again.

Whichever or whatever caused it - disgrace and greed,
imagine if we were building high rises in this place using inferior ingredients etc etc whole country would be goosed

Thereā€™s a load of commercial property and hotels with MICA as well.