The Cost of Living 📈

Nearly as bad as buffalo cauliflower wings

How’s the chicken fillet roll holding up? Surely that the canary in the coal mine

€6 for a snackbox this evening :ronnyroar:

I don’t have an issue with the minimum wage, I’m just making the point that there has been a near 50% increase in the minimum wage since 2008.

You can be sure they are paying it . Wouldn’t be on the shelves otherwise

6 euro these days locally anyway. You’d still pay that if needs must. The bottle of water with it to wash it down is nearly as expensive though.

Deli operatives usually lower the price for a breakfast roll I find. Still in around 5 euros.

5 euro for a breakfast roll is pretty good value

Depends what you put into it of course. Generally speaking, not that I get them that regularly, its around that.

I’m on the way out for a few pints and probably a burger and you cunts have the good taken out of it.

Daverns in cashel reopened recently under the ownership of your man that runs Baileys.

€32 for 3 small lamb chops that cost €4-€5 maximum in the butcher.
Herself paid €38 for a steak that would be €6 in a butcher.

I know running costs are high but that’s an 800% margin.

Won’t be back.

Was it just the 3 chops and steak served on their own?

Served with a scoop of very creamy mash and a few carrots. Bit of gravy also. Evening menu but still extortionate.

You can’t put a price on ambience and the dining experience… Paddy just wants to stuff his face and leave.

Anyone on minimum wage is probably worse off for it. Definitely not the cause of inflation. Used as an excuse by some.

Is anywhere in Ireland looking for tips? Now that’s extortion

The machine in the coffee shop this morning prompted me to add a tip to my €4 Americano

It’s a miserable steak you’d get for 6e in a good butcher shop these days

You get a decent steak in Lidl for 6e alright

That’s fraud.

McHughs restaurant in portmarnock will do you a decent steak with salad and chips and a beer/wine for 26quid tues-thurs. Up from 24. Craft beerbit is too. Great value to be fair

I used to tip the barber always until covid hit. I figured out then how shave the back and sides and run a 6 blade over the top. Havent been back since.

I’d tip a taxi driver nowadays if they were a bit of craic giving out about climate change or something etc