The Cost of Living šŸ“ˆ

Had a foreigner on to me today giving out about the fact that his friends daughter cant get accommodation for university due to what he thinks is the influx of refugees from the Ukraine.
If Johnny Cash was around today,lads,he would have some material.What have we become,indeed.

A shitshow.

Thereā€™s a food bank in didsbury.

Paddy will know all about food banks when the 500 pound a month ESB kicks in, he wonā€™t be sniggering up his sleeve then

TNH. Makes a great headline for Daily Mail readers though.

If the neighbour is driving a new Audi they are funding it from employment (which is a separate issue to social welfare being overly generous) or from criminal activities (again a separate issue).

Social welfare rates in this country, whilst better than others, still arenā€™t outrageous and I wouldnā€™t fancy trying to get by on them so best of luck to anyone who is.

Iā€™m surprised at you and the eejits who liked that post.

Sake.

@endakenny who was on here previously discussing the best robot lawnmower in the 3k bracket whining about the cost of living crisis

Thereā€™s a number of them near us. Schools do a lot , sourcing food vouchers , second hand clothes etc. Weā€™ve already had children coming in with little or no lunch and some saying that thereā€™s no money at home. Itā€™s heartbreaking but also infuriating that the government allow it to happen.

How does he know so much about the neighbours? The nosey bollox.

Leo Varadkar would be delighted with your manā€™s tweet. Neighbours angry at each other instead of the ruling class and Irelandā€™s membership in the EU.

Thatā€™s some whoā€™s who that liked the tweet :joy:

Iā€™m afraid itā€™s happening all the time. Many in the leafy suburbs swirling a Pino Grigio in the evening relaxing are far removed from reality.
I see it everyday.
Typical council estate lifestyle of those under 40ā€¦kids go to school for the breakfast, and anything free going, uniforms, books etc. Parents might work, rarely steady work, all on FIS if they can get it. Those that donā€™t work, wonā€™t. SVDP there as an entitlement in their minds. Rents as suggested above, fuel allowance to be had. Single parents allowance paid out to those cohabitating with different partners, no remarks passed because they are all at it.
Sunbeds, nail treatments, eyelashes, designer gear, daily take out (nobody cooks a meal at home anymore), cars may not necessarily be new but they are flash, they have to be as part of the fashion statement. Large screen TVs upstairs and down, split Sky Sports upstairs and down, no problem.
It doesnā€™t mean they have a great life. Itā€™s actually shit. I couldnt live like that.
Nothing is ever paid for, its all on the never never. The Dew man calls twice a week for payments. Social Welfare is supplemented by any other means that is available and it is literally any other means. This is loan shark paradise 365 days of it year. They do their rounds every benefit day. The sharks actually take the social security card from those that owe so they are waiting to collect on the day.
Before Iā€™m branded hateful and right wing etc blah blah, itā€™s just a reality check for some.
The point made earlier that this suits the political set up, divide and conquer is correct. It is suiting them because you and I are pointing over there somewhere at someone else because ā€œitā€™s their faultā€. Itā€™s a social trap. One is blessed to not be born into it and another is damned who is.
The current crisis will only make things worse for those poor and it will widen the divide.

I wouldnā€™t brand you ā€œright wingā€ for that post. But the big difference is , is that they live from hand out to hand out or dole day to dole day which as you say is a shit way to live

And people are happy to keep them that way, as they are powerless. Keep them subjugated. Then get them to turn on each other without looking at bigger, structural reasons for why there is such a (wealth) divide in society.

Well this is it. You here stories of young people trying to get themselves out of it who canā€™t even put their address on a cv because they know as soon as any potential employer reads it, they wonā€™t even get the courtesy of a please fuck off letter

Yup. So all that is now moved into the less urban areas where people in these situations are provided housing. They are on HAP or whatever else, all the trimmings as described but the local resident has a mortgage to pay, 9 to 5 job with a 90 min commute etcā€¦

How to break that cycle?

We wonā€™t break it. The ruling classes are happy the way things are. As long as their bank balances are very healthy.

The Audiā€™s fine guys, it was just financed by crime or tax evasion. Nothing to see there.

The houseā€¦ammā€¦letā€™s pretend that bit isnā€™t in it

Very hateful and right wing post

Iā€™ve seen bright young people have to drop out of college Mike because they canā€™t afford to stay in, and their parents canā€™t afford. Unless that changes, itā€™ll be the same old story.