The Daddy Thread

Little one had a temp a few months ago and Mrs Hunt tends to fear the worst. She rang her bro whoā€™s a surgeon. I rolled the eyes and told her he didnā€™t spend all those years in school for this shit but she rang him anyway. He told her go to Crumlin. I took the phone off her and told him not to encourage her. After a bit of to and fro we held off and all was well.

Same story yesterday and today after her 12 month jabs. High temp. Sheā€™s threatening to ring the brother and my eye rolls are not going down well. Iā€™ve retreated to the bog for peace. Mothers be mental.

Would you consider hitting her a slap?

Sheā€™s a nordie, wouldnā€™t end well for me.

FFS Delete this before the anti vaxxers see it.

:joy::joy::joy::joy::joy:

How high Mike? Our middle lady is the temp record setter in our house, sheā€™ll run temps way higher than the other 2. She hit 40.6 last year and we had to fire her into a bath of cold water till the calpol kicked in.

Chrisht, sheā€™s hit the 40 mark alright but not 40.6. Rascal never broke the 40 mark even though he had a few trips in the ambulance.

Did you give them Calpol before the jabs Mike?

Itā€™s a tricky one. If they arenā€™t responding to medication then you have to act but generally the calpol knocks 1.5 or so off it.

They often run a temperature after the jabs dont they? Be normal enough.
Our one had an absolute melt down about two hours after the first set of jabs. Went on for a nearly an hour we were on the phone to shannon doc who said twas grand, but it wasnā€™t grand never seen anything like it, non stop roaring for an hour and she never cried really and certainly not like that. Right fuck this I says we are going to A&E.
On the way out the door she let our an absolute monster fart, and then that was it all over. :laughing:
Apparently thereā€™s some stomach virus jab they give now and one of the side effects is stomach cramps. Of course no one told us but I googled it after and its common enough.
Wasnā€™t right for the day after it and didnā€™t sleep a wink that night. Thought something was seriously wrong

She had the jabs Wednesday and was ok until yesterday morning. Calpol and Nurofenā€™d to the hilt since. Mrs Hunt managed to get her seen at local GP there and he said the usual, if sheā€™s taking fluids and has a full nappy she should be ok. Mam and babba asleep now so back to the serious bidness on TFK.

We were told in Crumlin years ago that they can give a higher dose of calpol if temperature is high - size of baby/child determines it and the recommended dose errs on side of caution.

So if child is big then a bigger dose is ok.

We had to do the ice bath once or twice. Not a nice time for anybody.

The suppositories are a gamechanger. Good for the kids too.

Iā€™ve just put my oldest fella to bed for the night. He wakes every morning at 5am, full of energy and absolutely mad for play. Iā€™m permanently shattered and he was really flagging today so I said fuck it. Despite the obscenely early bedtime, Iā€™ll take the downtime now and we might even get to 5am with the clocks changing. On the other hand, I might be signing into the nightwatchman thread later at around 3.47am. I genuinely donā€™t know how I do it at times.

Youā€™ll have to bring him running with you, might soften his cough a bit

Game changer I agree

Is he napping during the day?

When my daughter was 2 she got at a partially open bottle and swallowed down around 30ml of Calpol. I nearly dropped dead of the shock of seeing her neck it down. I rang the poisons hotline (after I rang the missus and abused the shit out of her for leaving the bottle there). After working out her approx weight they said it was fine and shove here into the childminder. After that experience I always horsed the Calpol into them.

Youā€™re a top dad. You try hardā€¦ But you need to exert a bit of influence here as the boss of the houseā€¦ Could you fake coronavirus for a few months and lock yourself in the bedroom?

Why donā€™t you get one of those sleep consultants thats all the rage. 5 every morning. Fuck that

Fed up to fuck with this fuckin nonsense. Would somebody not start a Grandfatherā€™s issues thread? Would be better craic than this miserable shite. Calpol! FFS! a drop of the cratur!