The Daddy Thread

Itā€™s about a pal of mine who died during week. 47. Two girls 14 and 15. And a wife.

I stood behind them at the grave. They leaned on each other and sobbed and bobbed like they might fall over.

A pal of mines dad died a month ago. Mid seventies. Heā€™d see the weddings and graduations and grandkids. We enjoyed a life
well lived. It was sad and he lost ten years he and they looked forward to but it was a very different day.

Condolences mate same age as myself fook it enjoy each and every day

Jesus thatā€™s terrible mate. RIP.

Little wan went into preschool for first day today. Walked in the door at 9am and didnā€™t even look back at us. The Mrs a nervous wreck here. Not used to the house being so quiet. I might suggest a :dart: but Iā€™d say thereā€™d be no joy.

My.young fella started secondary school. Shit just got real.

Jaysus!

Thatā€™s whatā€™s wrong with a lot of lads nowadays, bate before a ball is kicked.
A coffee to share earliest memories and a stroll down memory lane could see you on the oche by 10.30.

Ben of Ben & Jerry fame stood up to me yesterday. He was acting the maggot in the back of the car on a journey - he had his phone, Jerry didnā€™t, they were arguing, after 2/3 warnings from me of taking the phone from him if it continued which it did I told him to give me the phone. He said no, itā€™s not yours to take, Iā€™m not handing it over. Repeated the request and he said the same, said I wasnā€™t paying for it. We were in a village so I pulled over, asked him out of the car, wanted to speak to him only. Told him not to disrespect me and never to back answer like that to me again. We were around 10 mins away from where we were going, silence in the car, I even turned the radio off, I was fuming. Calmed it down and I spoke to him again after parking the car, one to one. Let him know that I understood that in his mind he feels he can take me on (heā€™s 14 now) but that he canā€™t. That he was acting on a primal instinct to challenge me (I think I referenced lions in the wild!! :confounded:) but it was not okay to do so and not to do it again. I gave him a hug and told him that I loved him, we were grand after that.

Jaysus lads youā€™d be making it up as you go along really. But I know that if I had done that back in the day the auld boy would have went through me for a short-cut and not speak to me for days afterwards so some progress at least, I think!

He kept the phone, he won.

Ben 1 - 0 Locke.

And now Jerry has seen that youā€™ll do nothing so itā€™s only a matter of time before he tells you to get fucked.

Thatā€™s great parenting right there.

No, I got the phone and gave it back to him later in the day.

The last time I gave the auld lad cheek he chased me around the yard swinging a cricket bat (I remember I got a cheap cricket set one summer after a neighbourā€™s cousin from England came over). That was Iā€™d say close to thirty years ago.

why was Jerry arguing because he didnā€™t have his phone? Sounds like a word might be needed there too.

He said he didnā€™t bring his on purpose :man_shrugging:t3:. Yet he was causing trouble ā€œadvisingā€ Ben what to do on the game he was playing. Getting close to banning phones from the car at this stage.

:slight_smile:

what an oddball you are, the kid gives a bit of backchat and you go full dave brent and start roaring like a lion & talking about primal instincts

Should have fucked it down the waste disposal.

The young lad fairly mugged @Locke off there.

You want your kids to have a bit of chutzpahā€¦

Iā€™d say youā€™re right.

Heā€™s off to get a commemorative tattoo