The Daddy Thread

There was a gang of us there at the time, we pissed ourselves laughing.

Same as no father would ever trust a teenage boy with his daughter, having been a teenage boy once himself

But thereā€™s so many dangers associated with social media that there wasnā€™t with TV. Kids can be exposed to everything and anything or anyone if not policed properly by parentsā€¦which you know isnā€™t happening in many cases.

Social media seems more a young girl than boy thing in my experience.

To be honest thatā€™s what parents thought in my day.

I suppose, ye did have Jimmy Saville sending out subliminal messages

Put that on a t shirt and youā€™ll make a few bob

Was the same thing said about playstations 20 years ago?

our parents were perplexed that we were playing fifa on PlayStation instead of actual football
im perplexed that kids are watching youtubers play fifa on PlayStation rather that playing fifa on PlayStation themselves

Before that there were discussions about whether Home and Away was suitable for a young fella to watch.

Possibly. I never played ā€˜computersā€™ā€¦ And thatā€™s fair point that every generation says the next are up to no goodā€¦ But social media does offer direct contact to other people in a way previous stuff didnā€™t. Thereā€™s fellas here in their 30s and 40s on Instagram, Snapchat and the likes :rofl:ā€¦ youā€™d let your 9 year old daughter share the internet with these creeps?

At what age should they be allowed sign up to TFK or Tattle?

Going off his posts I assume @Perez2017 bought a smartphone with his confirmation money and signed up here

How you finding 2? First few months was grandā€¦ Chap is starting move now and they are dragging me all over the field.

I am utterly blessed - eldest has been sleeping 12 hours a night since the 10 week mark 90% of the time. 22 months old and an absolute character, never stops chatting and is perpetual motion.

Second one had a cold for the last 10 days or so but aside from that is a fine serene baby.

Yet to see the inside of Temple Street or had to rush to see a doctor

My lad has an absolutely encyclopaedic knowledge of football from playing FIFA on PS. Knows them all and their stats to assemble his team.

I donā€™t think he has ever sat through a full real game and has little or no interest in watching it.

Bastard with the sleepā€¦ Eldest has been a poor sleeper since the day she arrived. Iā€™m in her room half the time as itā€™s easier shussh from her room than go in and out.

The little chap is the polar opposite. A belt of boob and heā€™ll go down for most of the night.

Sheā€™s gonna wreck me as a teen. Karma at its finest.

Iā€™ve gathered myself this morning and contacted the school, spoke to the principal who was very helpful and arranged a meeting for Tuesday with herself and the teacher. They are having a ā€˜stay safeā€™ programme in the school next week with talks on internet safety and online bullying so the timing is good. She stressed that no child that age should be exposed to social media but unfortunately it only takes the actions of a small few to influence all others, once one child gets access they all want it and unfortunately in this case it appears we are the only ones to hold our ground and our kid is suffering because of it. Iā€™ll meet the school on Tuesday and take it from there. There is only another four weeks left in the term so Iā€™m hoping sheā€™ll get back to herself with the summer break.

25 Likes

If all else fails go around to the house of the leader of the group, thereā€™s always one, and bust her fatherā€™s headā€¦ You can scream at her - ā€˜put that on your ticky tokā€™

My young ladā€™s letters/numbers obsession is continuing. He does Wordle every morning with his Mam, heā€™s doing long addition on his etch-a-sketch, heā€™s learnt how to read the clock, he knows the days of the week, months of the year and how many days are in each month. Heā€™s constantly quoting relationsā€™ birthdays and letting us know how many days are in the month in question and he keeps asking randomers their age. Heā€™s not 4 til next month so itā€™s stuff heā€™d probably be doing in school when heā€™s 6 or 7. Heā€™d be writing out 167+184 or something and Iā€™d be laughing listening to him saying ā€œyou must carry the oneā€ and stuff. We had been a bit concerned about it but it doesnā€™t seem to be a problem. He kinda does all this in his own time at home and plays away in crĆØche/play school. I donā€™t think heā€™ll be bored in school, heā€™s quite shy about knowing stuff and would be interested in observing everything else in the class rather than being frustrated he knows it already. He may be one of those little nerds that goes to DCU on Saturdays to do maths when heā€™s 10 or 11 but we can cope with that.

Tis as well he has you to blow his trumpet for him