The Daddy Thread

Not being smartā€¦ But have you had him assessed? Alternatively, Iā€™d do a DNA test, he may not be yours.

The Ray Shoesmith approach

Jesus you have come a long way since your days of fake Bebo accounts and trying to ballhop posters.

Your life partner must be very bright.

Sheā€™s very good at letters and numbers.

In all seriousness watch him when he goes to school as he may be disruptive if itā€™s too easy for him. Could you send him a bit earlier to school.

Proud dad post

The wifeā€™s nephew is very similar to that. Heā€™s 7 now and doing the DCU thing on Saturdays. They do coding, astronomy, dinosaur stuff and not just maths. Heā€™s a wizard on the piano too. Get your young lad to learn the Scotty Sinclair song.

Kids can be cunts. Sounds like yeā€™re approaching it in the right way though, fairplay. Make sure the teachers follow through on it. Best of luck, mate.

Yeah, I think that might suit him. I guess in time his school will let us know if they think he should be put forward for something along those lines. We prefer the Jota on the wing song though.

@achtungbaby, thatā€™s a really awful situation, I have no specific advice, I suspect itā€™s not all that unusual though we havenā€™t had it at our door to be honest. If we did I would be banging the drum for a compromise, my wife would be more hardline anti-social media. I certainly wouldnā€™t put a phone in the hands of a 9 year old but thereā€™s other ways to access TikTok, thereā€™s a parental app we use called qustodio which is pretty good.
Good luck, itā€™s not easily dealt with in school, even with the best intentions.

Very sorry to read this but at the same time itā€™s really heartening to read posts of parents so concerned about their kids and willing to do anything to help them. As a result, I think your daughter will ultimately be fine due to you and your partnerā€™s support.

Are you going to broadcast this on Twitter too mate? Maybe Linkedin also.

Thereā€™s great knowledge in this post ā€¦:+1:

While you donā€™t have to agree to accounts on social media have you given any consideration for just getting her some form of a tablet and proactively managing her access ?

He got a nice post on mumsnet for it

I love @Bandage but heā€™s gone middle class and middle aged v quick

Was thinking the exact same thing. Fairplay @Achtungbaby

Bandoā€™s genius has triggered a few lads who resorted to throwing dusters at their kids during Covid learning a la PGAL10

Thought this was the relevant thread but I regret that itā€™s triggered you.

Found ourselves in a very similar situation (albeit she just turned 10). And much like yourself, would agree with your stance on social media and phones for kids at that age. She wasnt being bullied, so there was little the school would be able to do, but they would do their dances and talk about what they are doing on tiktok and arranging group chats on snapchat. So our daughter was automatically being excluded because she couldnt join in. Through asking around a bit, we found that there was a group chat thing they had on snapchat which has the whole class on it. Having seen what is on it in the meantime, its harmless stuff where they just say hi repeatedly and see who is around for a call.

But we had a decision too. Do we relent and let our daughter have access to these things, or keep our position for what we think is right. Ultimately we relented, our daughter wouldnt thank us for our stubbornness which was causing her grief in school. So rather than get a phone, we got her a tablet. Felt that at least with a tablet it would be more practically beneficial for school work and because its not as easy to bring around, she wouldnt use it like a phone. Plus it needs wifi, so cant just use it where ever she wants. We have google family set up, so it tracks how many hours she is on it and what apps. But we more or less told her that she had to earn the trust to use it. She got it, went on her snapchat and tiktok, and got bored of it pretty quick and to be honest now, she would barely look at either of them once a week. She is obsessed with duolingo and is teaching herself Spanish, so if nothing else, it has definitely given her something worthwhile out of it.

Every child is different, but we found that leaving the responsibility with them and they knowing that they had to earn the trust to use it meant they werent as bothered by it at all.

The young fella is totally different. As long as he gets to play Farming Simulator he has no interest in any of the other shite online.

26 Likes