The Daddy Thread

Jesus I donā€™t know lads. Yer are all lieing through yer teeth or thereā€™s something really wrong in my house.
Ya plenty of those lovely moments and they are great but jesus plenty of shit moments too. Iā€™m over 2 months in to having the kids as herself is still working.
Up at 630/7 and full on all day until 8ish.christ the 4 year old seems to get board very quickly and we are doing a load of different stuff every day. The 3 year old is very easy going and would keep herself entertained all day if she was left to it.
Breakfast and dinner take a fucking age as I refuse to feed them but Iā€™m sticking with it. The 4 year old seems to crave attention and if sheā€™s not getting it takes it out on the 3 Yr old.
Iā€™m not joking itā€™s not easyā€¦ 8 weeks down and it feels like a year. Donā€™t get me wrong we have plenty of fun and craic but at times I would be pulling my hair out and looking forward to the night time so I could at least have a shit on my own.
Iā€™m delighted for everyone else on here where little :princess:or :prince: are just model children :see_no_evil:

36 Likes

Weā€™ve all been there.

Fuck sake. You canā€™t be going telling the truth on this thread. Youā€™ll ruin the fantasy on everyone.

Nah, Iā€™ve a wife who is out of work until this is over and we only have one kid who is 16 months old. She is a nutter though. Sheā€™s doing a dinosaur sound at the moment, so Iā€™d be at a work meeting and people will hear this ā€˜grrrrrā€™ in the background. If the Mrs was at work, Iā€™d be fucked altogether

You could turn on the 1994 Connacht final for them there.
The turgid levels of skill would have them dropping off to sleep in minutes.

Tough going. Everyone in this house is 18 and older. Our issues are more about keeping a large supply of food available and fighting over netflix. Harmless really compared to having small kids about all day every day. We have donated a lot of toys from the attic to some friends who needed new gizmos for their kids.

Have you a bit of a garden they can tire themselves out in for an hour?

They are outside from pretty much 9 until 7.they have more energy than most and love been outsideā€¦ Swings, slide, trampoline bouncing castle, sand. Loads of room in the gardens and plenty of land to wander down for walksā€¦ Doing a lot of the same stuff each week in the same places has them pretty board Iā€™d say at this stage

I donā€™t know how you do it, in fairness.

Herself did that with our youngest. It was great for her, the baby and the rest of us.

Thereā€™s the two of us working from home, makes it much easier, while bringing its own torments. Trying to WFH while managing kids, on your own. You have my sympathies.

I had this conversation with mrs j the other night.! Thank fuck our kids arenā€™t younger. Our kids are 5 and 8 and theyā€™re grand. My bro has 6, 4 and 2 year olds and hes fucking bolloxed. He looked like shit on the family zoom call last night! Fair play to you! And enjoy your shit tonight.

I presume youā€™re not filling them with sugar just for a bit of peace?

The missus is at work 4 days a week and our regular childminder is not available now although we got a local girl in for afternoons. Work for me is now an essential workplace but Iā€™m still doing mornings WFH with the 16 month old. Its bloody hard - if anything because itā€™s hard to have any variation due to lockdown.

Two teenage girls. 90% of the time itā€™s fine. But fuck me when it kicks off, it kicks off.

:joy::joy::joy:Oh I will

God noā€¦ They are bad en3šŸ˜‚

Iā€™ve a brother something similar, poor fucker looks haunted.

Similar to investing in a pension fund (withiut tax benefit). You can pick level of risk you are comfortable with. Less risky funds will give fuck all return though in reality

Are you trying to work the day job as well? Sounds like hell. They are a busy age