The Daddy Thread

All you need to dig is 4 lengths about 2’ long, 2.5’ deep and 6" wide to sink the legs into.
A spade is your man here. Your bouncer yoke has plenty bounce room then. You merely dig as deep as the trampoline requires. Fill the clay back in and Hey Presto!!!
Some lads thinking mini-digger/meithéal/2 days off

Neighbour is a digger driver. Up in his JCB half an hour dug out, installed and muck off site.

As good a thread as any for this, apologies in advance to @Fagan_ODowd.

A girl I work with had the misfortune of her newborn dying shortly after birth earlier this year before Covid hit. A hard thing to happen anyone but then herself and the husband are thrust into a period of isolation and lack of social contacts. We feared for them with everything that could be going through their minds.

As things began to open back up she revealed she was pregnant again but this time there was more than one. Jeez, twins, imagine that. No, go again. Fuck, triplets. That’ll be some logistical challenge. Nah, add another one. Quads! How the fuck?! A mixture of delight but also ridiculous worry. If a healthy born child died after birth, what chance have 4 of surviving?

A few of us had a conversation where I hate to say, we tried to rationalise what would a good result look like given all the risks. If 2 or 3 make it through, then obviously it would be sad but after what they’ve been through it could only be a brilliant result. A horrible conversation. With her close friends, she wouldn’t even consider that all 4 wouldn’t make it. As positive a woman as I’ve ever seen in the circumstances.

Anyway, she gave birth yesterday at 31 weeks and all 4 have been successfully delivered. All fully healthy aside from the usual stuff of being premature and the outlook is very positive. If that’s not a fucking Christmas miracle then I don’t know what is. 2020 has been shite in many ways but then you see stuff like this and realise that there’s still plenty of good and things to be happy about.

43 Likes

And you’ve lads here and their only worries are Sinn Fein tweets.

Hopefully pampers will sort them out with a lifetime supply of nappies, wet wipes etc. Think they usually do for quads. They’ll need it!

Fair play to @Ambrose_McNulty, a lovely gesture :clap:

Straight over to the things that are right thread . Delighted to hear that.

I never cried or felt overly emotional (beyond relief) at the births of any of my kids but I sobbed like a baby when my sister finally got her twins over the line after a rough few years, you know the way

No problem admitting that a random moment a couple of days after our wan was born I started bawling. Now, I had got a dose of food poisoning in the midst of it all so maybe that caused it.

Great news but I did puke in my mouth at the thought of Quads.

Our wan was going to be a twin, unfortunately the other didn’t make it to the 3 months. Even the thoughts of two were stressful in a way (although we’d have given everything for it) but four is some serious going. That couple won’t get a night’s sleep for years !

You’d have 1 settled and another wakes. You settle that one and another wakes. You settle that one and then another wakes. And all of a sudden the night is over and it’s time to go to work :thinking:

It’s great news but i think I’d crack

8 month old screamed all yesterday evening, all through the night and all today. Running a temperature and Mrs mentioned bringing her to the doc. She was taking some bottle and some food and I suspected there wasn’t too much up with her as she was putting huge effort in to the continuous screaming. She had a massive shite this evening and she’s right as rain since. Father’s intuition.

Ringing your 17 year old (nearly 18) daughter 30 minutes ago asking nicely was she coming home and saying do I have to come now “we’re in a lock in” I firmly said yes 2 minutes later I get another call saying there are no taxis so I have to go out in the pissing rain and meet her walking out luckily only 10 minutes walk from town ye lads think it’s hard with toddlers and babies @Thomas_Brady it’s all ahead of ye

In fairness I don’t know how you do it

I’d say @Bod95 has 2X4’ lengths of qualplex at the front and back doors to deter “undesirables”. It’s a changing world, trying issues, opinions, internet, instant gratifications
You’re right, I don’t envy the parents of today.

Ours often laugh at the memories of Nanny’s threats “wait till your father gets home”

She didn’t speak to me when we rendezvoused earlier and no talk all the way home until 5 minutes ago when she savaged me for ruining her night as I was watching the AI final from 2018 time to go go to bed🙈

Great regale mate. Have a buddy who spawned triplets mid Melbourne lockdown. Carnage

All this shall pass

hopefully