The Daily Debate - Day 3 - Dan Shanahan v Lar Corbett

Unless we are talking oil lorry drivers it’s not even close. Lar was in a different league.

Dan was probably the third best hurling oil lorry driver of all time after Christy Ring and Babs.

Dan was probably a better man marker.

Thought Dan worked in the ā€˜the glass’? There was definitely a little sports stadium type feature one day that interviewed him in work.

Both lads kind of think they’re characters but are a bit too dopey to pull it off. Both have good snappy first names and were great to get goals at their peaks but lars pace shades it.
Lar seems like a pure bogman but is from the town where Dan looks like a townie but appears to play for a country club.

@Little_Lord_Fauntleroy

Well theres tomorrow’s debate up in smoke

Lay corbett by a country mile…brilliant in every way- fast, clever,eye for goal, … His movement and ability to bring other forwards into play was very underrated … Reminds me of jason sherlock that way… I’d say you’d have to play in same forward line as him to really understand it…

That’s a sign of his flair, mate. Most people wear baseball caps the right way but Dan paddles his own canoe.

Big Dan, comfortably. He had longevity, Corbett only shone for a brief period.

I always got the impression a lot of Dan’s goals came about because of a combination of laziness and luck. He’d run in from the half forward line and the ball might be cleared, he wouldn’t bother his hole going out again and the ball would come back in over his mans head and he standing with a handy goal

Good grief? You don’t actually believe this do you?

:grinning::grinning:

It’s called reading the play. The greats do it. Big Dan could play it any way he liked though.

He’s on a wind up.

Lar was a great player. Some man to rise to a big day too

Top wumming :clap:

Fair play to @anon78624367, he caught himself a few fishies there.

It’s a rare ability To be able to drift off their marker and into space like dan could. Almost ghost like.

Dan worked in the glass in Dungarvan for a while but has been driving the oil lorry for years.