What’s the follow on plan after you come sid? Is there more support than you had before you went in?
Wipe up with a bit of toilet roll?
Seriously though the plan was to get me to attend a place called the day hospital which is also called Lá Nua in Ballybane, preferably by the end of this week. But my phone was lost on me probably by the Gardai so my primary point of contact is gone. I think they tried to ring my Mam earlier but she missed the call.
Not comfortable. Have occluded one lens of my glasses with tape on occasions but not fond of doing it.
Tragedy befalls us in all guises. A friend of mine lost his sight in one eye through a farm accident. A decent hurler, he’s managed to go about his life and play a bit of ball still. Nothing ever has to be the end. I hope you find a way past these thoughts.
My cousin lost the sight in one eye years ago,tbf to him he has just got on with it.Maybe it would be easier to cope with if it was just gone but Sid still has some sight and hopes it will come back,my cousin had no choice the chainsaw is a cruel mistress.
A parishioner of ours - a father of a former hero and grandfather of a budding star - lost his head about 30 years ago with a hedge-trimming operation. The yoke was attached to the PTO and got embroiled in a mix of bushes and barbed wire and stopped….
The intrepid Pakie dismounted and with a mixture of vice-grips and nail-bar freed the blockage but was ball-watching at the wrong time.
Scalder Scollan said at the time that he knew he’d fucked up when he spotted his error from 20 yds away……
What in the name of god have i just read? Am i to assume that packie’s head was severed by a hedge cutter, thereby enabling him to observe his own (headless) body from a distance of twenty yards?
This is too much.
It looked that way but Pakie may(not) have witnessed it. Horrific….
Pakie was a decent oul’ divil who deserved to see old age but alas……
Tremenjus scenes about half past six this morning.
I was having the following dream:
I am on a bus from Galway to Dublin. The bus uses back roads. It stops at Allenwood, County Kildare and the passengers are invited to use the loo. I get out and go for a pee at the side of the road but walk on towards Dublin. The bus passes me with my rucksack on board, I have left it on the bus. I then walk that long straight road between Allenwood and Clane back to Dublin which takes me 15 hours and I never get the rucksack back.
At the end of this dream I pushed left in my bed towards the wall, but there is no wall, and I fall out of my bed and smash the screen of my laptop computer, which is lying on the ground beside it. I only had the laptop there because I like to listen to a podcast to make me doze off at night, and I don’t have a phone because the Gardai lost it on me.
The butterfly effect in action. If I hadn’t got a detached retina I wouldn’t be suicidal and wouldn’t have had the Gardai lost my phone on me and wouldn’t have had the laptop on the ground to fall out of bed and smash. FML.
Can we perhaps blame this on Johnny Doyle?
Split (personality) season.
When did you last follow up with the guards about your phone?
I would not be surprised if it’s turned up.
I haven’t followed up today anyway. I think I’ll need to go out there in person. It’s not on the lost property list.
The hospital say I would have got an “inventory” of what I had that was put into safe keeping when I went in there. I got no such inventory, I did have a nurse tell me verbally what had been put in safe keeping for me but that was the first afternoon I was in there and my mind was away with the fairies and the hospital says a phone was not on their inventory.
It’s not on the railway line anyway because I rang my mother from the level crossing at Roscam. I think I had to give it to a Garda shortly afterwards, before I got in the van.
Has anybody any experience with a drug called quetiapine?
I had one tablet of it about 9pm last night and I feel awful since. My brother had a programme on about the Ana Kriegel murder which I listened to while falling asleep. After that finished I went to bed and conked out fairly quickly and had some very unpleasant dreams. Then this morning I could barely wag and had a fight with my brother. After that I had a dreadful episode and felt like I was being pulled down to the ground by ropes or something and missed my counselling though I think I wanted to miss it. I slept for a further four hours then. I still feel fairly dreadful. The only three times I’ve been out of the house since I got out of the unit have been to go to a thing called the day hospital in Ballybane twice and once to the GP. I don’t feel there’s any improvement at all with my eye and I can’t even look at a television. I’ve become obsessed with only looking through the gammy eye and seeing squiggly lines. I haven’t had any suicide attempts or experiments since I got out of the hospital on January 3rd but I feel another one is probably not far away.
It’s prescribed off label for insomnia. Knocks people out - body feels heavy etc. If you don’t need it for that it’s not a great side effect.
A psychiatrist gave me a prescription for it because I told her I was taking sleeping tablets (zopiclone) on and off and that I had taken a few Anxicalm tablets since a got out. Anxicalm are supposed to be addictive whereas the quetiapine is not supposed to be.
Body feels very heavy since I took it, I had trouble even speaking coherently this morning.
Also tomorrow is the second anniversary of my father’s death and I think I am worried about how to deal with it.
I’d say your body is telling you all you need to know about them tablets. Fuck them in the bin. I’m a terrible sleeper and have been since my teens. I started taking CBD oil last summer and it has helped me enormously although I know others have found it fairly useless. The other thing I’ve started taking recently is Nytol which is over the counter in pharmacies. I’d be fairly groggy for the first hour after waking up so I don’t take them during the week but I’ve probably taken it about 5 or 6 times in the last 2 months and each time I slept for about 8 or 9 hours so it’s fucking great for catching up on sleep when I feel I really need it. Might be worth trying one or both of those.
I know absolutely nothing about CBD oil or associated products. Any chance you or anybody else could do a dummy’s guide to it?
My mother is in her late 70s and was behaving very erratically last summer and was put on it. Its an anti psychotic drug too. Its worked really well for her but truth be told she was probably prescribed it 50 years too late.