![]()
![]()
I’d wager a lot of male suicide is down to the caricatured idea of maleness that males have to endure and feel pressured to try live up to, ie. the exact sort of shite peddled by right wing demagogues like Tate and Peterson, and our gobshite posters here who I don’t have to name, you all know who they are.
That sort of stuff creates a toxic culture among men in general but particularly young men that leads to deep unhappiness.
Young men should try to be a little bit more like women. They’d be happier that way.
The evidence of the world doesn’t bear this out. Men are by far the biggest whingers. All wars have been caused by whinging, insecure men.
Fuck sake.
I don’t like Jordan Peterson but I wouldn’t place the cause of a lot of male suicides at his door.
Every case is different. That is the only certainty in this.
Listening to Jordan Peterson sure isn’t going to improve the mental state of any insecure or depressed young man.
Peterson promotes one thing above all - irrational anger against people who are not caricatured straight, white men who believe the caricature is the thing to aspire to be.
For what its worth I think depression among young women is also spread by the caricature of womanhood young women are sold.
You’ve gone insufferable recently. Everything has to be a bird with wing this, wing that and toxic this and that.
Birds have wings
Have you tried it yourself?
Sure amn’t I one of the sisters on here?
Had a good chat with my mam there. She’s old, a bit done up and bad on the tabs. Even so, she had been good to keep up with social events and her hobbies.
All stopped now though. Doesn’t get out of bed until lunch. Stopped going for coffee, won’t go to the shops, gave up her classes…said she just feels like she was waiting to die.
It was like talking to myself from a few months ago tbh. Her and most of her family have had issues with mental health, to varying degrees of seriousness, so it’s nothing new but, still, not nice to hear.
That’s a tough read pal, don’t know what to say, it’s a curse of a yoke.
I’m sorry to hear this. What age is she?
My mother went down a similar road in the latter years of her life… her energy just depleted… tried to keep her busy but she just had no interest… I think the important thing here is to just keep her company… sit with her and just chat with her.
She’s 73. Had poor physical health for a long time now
Sorry to hear it Bat, does she still do stuff around the house? For me, work is the only thing that keeps the thoughts away.
Not a lot no. Cooks alright. Was doing some writing and stopped (which is a pity as she is good at it).
Not that old really… as @Gary_Birtles_Lovechi says its good to keep busy but with my mother she wasn’t really able to do a whole lot and we didn’t want to leave her alone too often…
is there any day centres she could go to?
The poor woman.
I hope things lift a bit for her and she can improve.
Mortality is tough for anyone to get their head around - depression or not,
I don’t know tbh.
No matter how bad you think you have it at least you are functioning and trying…
I’m in the gym looking out the window at a lad around 30 that just crawled out of the bushes with his sleeping bag and is already half way through a bottle of wine, the poor bastard.
You’ll hardly bring him to the Gaelic Grounds with you …