In my opinion i’d stick it out. Start leaving events early and it becomes an option. I knoe because ive been there.
It wouldn’t be uncommon at all. I personally hate being amongst a large group of people.
Personally I find the older I get, the more comfortable I am in my own company. Happily prefer three or four nice pints watching the Sunday game then out on the lash of a Saturday night
Same as. A few pints in the company of two or three others does me grand.
Thanks for the replies and enquiries as to my well being lads. It is appreciated. Sunday was a better day than Saturday for me thankfully. Stayed over at the newly weds house and just had good banter with friends and family.
I do hope this is a “road to Damascus” turning point for me. I should have been able to enjoy Saturday night, I now regret going to bed but at the time it was a case of ‘self preservation’. I stuck mainly to water on Sunday and felt much the better for it. That said I did have 5 pints in my friends local also.
It’s just a case of treating the problems which are causing this mental anguish - namely poor diet, lack of sleep, lack of exercise and negative thinking. I feel if I work on the four of these I can gain sufficient coping mechanisms to deal with depression and in particular anxiety.
So long as there’s a bog nearby
Not to sound judgemental but it sounds like you’re drinking unbelievable amounts of alcohol. I’d probably normally have 5 pints once a month or less. I’ll be having it twice in 2 weeks meet Saturday but that’s exceptional for Christmas. I’d look into that.
I was chatting to a fella yesterday who has the covid (not even a sniffle) and has to isolate from the world for the next 6 days and he was dreading it. Imagine 6 days with no interruptions, a few decent books and fully paid subscriptions to BANG & Co.
I told him to cop the fuck on a enjoy it.
Exercise can turn the key on a few of those above so I’d start there. Just a long walk is all it needs be.
I hear you mate. I had two unexpected heavy sessions at the weekend and I’m none the better for it. I have some recurring anxieties which pop up when my ‘immune’ system drops, meshing usually when I go overboard on alcohol, and that has happened over the last few days and it’s impacting me, I did a good gym session yesterday and I’ll do another today in a bid to build myself up again.
I know I give it loads on here about my pints and while I do like the pub scene, and in particular the socialising side to it which can be beneficial for mental health, sometimes I curse it to hell. Truth be told working from home and winter nights have been a challenge recently and habit dictates the pub often. You mention self preservation, that’s what it is for me at the moment as well but come January things will properly change.
On the contrary, I’m not a big drinker at all. But sometimes when I do drink, the anxiety kicks in and the mood plummets. I arrived in Donegal for the wedding on Thursday and left on Monday. I had no more than 4-5 pints any day and maybe a couple of bottles extra on the Friday night. I often go months without having gat, I’ve never really taken to it. Worked in the offie for a decade so I’ve seen what it can do to people. I’m happy to have a few sociables when I meet up for occasions but I definitely drink less than the average Irish man.
But I’m gonna be.And 5 pints isn’t an “unbelievable” amount of alcohol ffs.
Don’t mind him lad,have a few pints if you want,exercise and diet are key here though,get them sorted and you’ll be a new man
you sound very judgemental.
aren’t you the lad was boasting about taking all sorts of narcotics and leaving babies in bins in Rio De Janeiro get to fuck with the high horse
5 pints isn’t a lot of drink
Oooofftttt
Take a break from it and see the difference in your life-
Feckin hangovers used literally kill me ,
5 pints of Beamish and I’d be on my arse , looking for grub and bed , on the occasion I had 7 it was numbingly cruel for a few days-
I’m not a holier than thou foola as I loved the taste of Beamish and the social side of it was epic( I think)
But honestly I couldn’t handle it and was a cranky cu*t - bad tempered at times, and made horrendous decisions while hungover or drunk
5 pints is binge drinking.
I think its classed as binge drinking alright based on the number of units consumed in one go.