I had Varadkar’s father as a doctor for a while - he asked my weekly alcohol intake and I lied saying 15 units.
He wrote ‘heavy drinker’ on his medical pad.
4 pints I think is technically binge drinking.
I’m only getting warmed up at 4
I think that would be the truth for many of us. We just have to change our notions of what is acceptable from a health perspective rather than a good session down the local.
Yeah, most are… But medically you’d be told you’re doing damage to yourself… You’d be told that as you get your 5th covid booster.
It’s all about the body lads.
Look after it.
It’s an individual thing too. Five pints or more would be grand some nights in the right company and humour,but at other times (mostly) would leave you distraught.
If it feels in any way forced, it’s best avoided.
Driving 5 hours to Donegal for a 4 day wedding is enough to depress anyone.
fixed that for you
It’s a beautiful county, the hospitality up there I do believe to be the best on the island, the natives are incredibly welcoming. But christ it’s a long drive up from Limerick. Stick a motorway from Tuam to Letterkenny and I’d go up every month.
I did it for six weeks on the trot in November and December last year
You couldn’t have done it for six weeks on the trot in November and December
Go away
Hooch is no good.
5 pints would have me on the ground
i love nothing better than a few cans of carling or a few pints on a night out.
what do fellas consider “drinking” tho? is a few pints N/A anymore or is “drinking” solely going out getting langerated?
id hate to give up beer, as i love the few on a saturday evening… but then you hear this nonsense of some shower of dopes who won some county final so they’re going at it all day Monday and Tuesday… due to a drink “ban”… these young lads understanding of alcohol is totally distorted… its something for a 2 day bender…its akin to a form of Sharia law where once they get hold of it they cant control it as in their subcsonscious it is something haram like a woman so when you get it freely theyjust abuse it…
i dont know lads…
is it any wonder a fella would want to give it up if thats all he sees in it?
It’s an individual thing. I have often found that on a night out I’d be floored after five pints. However on a Saturday night at home in front of the fire and a good film, I could indulge in maybe 7 or 8 and be OK going to bed. But that’s because there’s no pressure. Before I got sick and before the covid, I used to love going down to the pub on a Sunday evening during the summer to watch the Sunday game. I’d limit myself to a max of 4 though and at my own pace.
Paddy has a troubling relationship with drink. Off it for 73 days now/ today is my 33 day having a drink/ slabs are €20 in Dunnes/ I’m bate from hangovers……as long as it doesn’t get scarce or prohibition is enforced we’ll be grand. Personally I’d be hard pressed to tell you the last day I hadn’t a scoop or two. Regularity combined with moderation is the key….
There’s lot of lads posting here under the thumb id say,and between that big mortgages and having to be up at 6 o clock at the weekends to entertain childer most seem to think it’s not worth it.
I’m not looking forward to my 30s and 40s if 5 pints is killing lads