[quote=āmanusboyle, post: 845787, member: 108ā]My prediction was a bag of shite as usual,Mitchels won by 2pts.
Good game to watch and level at half time,St.Brendans were not as fluent as they have been most of the season and maybe nerves and the pressure of winning a first title in 17 years had an effect.
Once John Mitchels went in front they just kept the ball and killed the game off.
St.Brendans missed two frees in the last couple of minutes which would have tied it up but Mitchels deserved the win.
Good luck to them in the All-Britain championship.[/quote]
Saw it alright. Barry did his best for Brendanās, fair play to him, they were short a scoring forward I thought, and spent too long chasing the ball. They had the chances. That goal chance in the first half would have been a major boost had it gone in. Was really disappointed for mully in particular. I must say that peters in their heyday would have won that comfortably. The Mitchellās number 5 was great in the second half. Big red haired lad. Brendanās number 8 was great too.
Barry was wearing my watch and i told him it was running a bit slow !!
Sandsy asked him how long was left before he took the first of the two frees and Barry told him 4 minutes,two easy chances he should have put over to tie it up.
St.Brendans certainly need someone who can take scores,they were a bit toothless on sunday.
I agree that a full strength St.Peters would have had way too much for both those outfits,having a pint with Barry after the match he told me he already has 8 or 9 new signings for next season so i would expect with all the injuries cleared and boys back from home and Oz we should put in a strong challenge to regain the title next year.
He did a really good job of reffing actually bar the slow watch. Fair play to him.
Fuck me, the o hailpins are never out of the limelight.
Nice article in the Irish Timea about Warwickshire GAA
Hoey has done a truckload for the GAA. If there was ever a lad deserved some sort of national award itās him, either back home or over here.
And Iāve given the poor fucker dogs abuse in the past in matches. Iām ashamed of it now.
:D:D:D
the brits should recogonise this cunt for bringing a bigoted sport to their shores
A John Mitchels v St Barnabas county hurling final in Warwickshire in 4 weeks time
How are barnabus fixed ?
Hard to say, still improving but we have had to rebuild somewhat. We have lost 1, 5,6,8,9,11 & 14 from the team that played Fullen last year in the Championship but have picked up 3 or 4 nice hurlers and a few of the homegrown lads have come on a huge amount and are no longer just jersey fillers which helps
Is Niall macnamee still playing with ye?
He is, one of the new additions this year
Great club ye have there. Best of luck with it. Took fullen years to beat Mitchels, but eventually they did. Mitchels are a great club too. Niall is a gent. Hoor to mark in training though.
As first time expectant parents, Ms Goode and I, quite excited and being a bit mad, talk to the little thing a lot and we play a lot of music to it, not mad shit, not loud, just decent music at a nice volume and most nights when weāre getting into the scratcher to see if we get a reaction.
Anyway, Iāve just put the recorded Sunday Game on pause and I hear herself playing āThousands are Sailingā upstairs. Iām here thinking what a fuckin tune!
But its mad though, the little thing isnāt even born yet and Iām now thinking of its future in Ireland. Thousands are sailing, have sailed and continue to sail ! I donāt want that for mine, please God.
I went to London at 19, thankfully got in with a great Irish crowd, they were all mad, great craic, still all friends, I loved it all and grew up so much.
That said, I knew when it was time to come home and we all could with the emerging Celtic tiger, and now I wouldnāt move anywhere else in the world.
Being away properly, not like a year travelling/backpacking /wasting, done me the world of good but I think our young should choose to go away not be forced to go. No matter what, there is nothing like Croke Park, nothing like the championship, nothing like a schmozzle, nothing like family and friends.
Our export should be cattle not people.
Anyway, hope all good with you Flatty, Chewie, Tassotti, Tess Tickle, Mickee. TAL.
Things are ok ebeneezer. I wish you all the joy with the little one. My bro and I always used to reckon we we the last generation of cattle children. How wrong we were. Clare to here is a good sum up of the bad moments. I think the difference today, thank God, is that there isnāt the relentless negativity that swilled across the country in the 80ās, where you knew emigration was likely your lot in life. We had a right miserable bastard of a careers guidance teacher who always told the anecdote of a pupil who through hard work and diligence ended up in charge of the stationary section in powells. That shite is thankfully gone. As are the things that really haunt me when we worked the sites as young lads and students, seeing fellas turn up with everything they owned in a suitcase, looking for a start, and others slowly drinking themselves to death. I met as many intelligent and decent
Irish lads on site as I ever met in any other walk of life (met some right cunts as well).
Iām at a bit of a low ebb at present. Iāve been offered a couple of really good jobs back home over the past 5 years. I have an interview for a job in Dublin in September that I was approached about some time ago. If you had told me ten years ago that I would have considered turning any of them down, Iād have thought you mad. My wife however just doesnāt want to go. I can see her point. We do well here and want for nothing, but I am a paddy when all is said and done, and I want to go home. I donāt want to grow old over here though it looks like that is exactly what will happen.
The world is a lot smaller than it used to be, and there are many things abroad that are better than home, but to be able to swim in the sea every day, to b able to have a decent chat with a stranger to pass a few minutes, to meet old friends randomly, these are the finest things in life. We just came back from a few days in Galway, and it made me realise just how much I miss it.
My worry is that I will indeed come home later in life with āpockets full of greenā, and have no place in the community, that ill be a stranger in my home. Maybe Iām just tired this week. Had a great cycle yesterday in the sun. Shouldnāt complain.
Moved back to Irl last year after a couple of years in England. We had a great life there with every amenity going but home is home and I havenāt regretted it for a second.
I fell for an English girl so hard I never felt I had any choice in the matter. Well sheās half Italian, a quarter welsh and her surname is Connell, so she has little English stock in her, but sheās a manc lass. My great joy, and my great regret. Girls like to live near mammy.
As a matter of interest, how did you find the English?