great posting lads:clap:
i hear you loud and clear,
im 3,500 kms from home, she had an issue building a house 60kms from her parents houseā¦
Largely a great bunch of lads. Played rugby with a team over there and they were a sound bunch. Our neighbours were great too - got us involved in the weekly pub quiz etc.
[QUOTE=āflattythehurdler, post: 994242, member: 1170ā]Things are ok ebeneezer. I wish you all the joy with the little one. My bro and I always used to reckon we we the last generation of cattle children. How wrong we were. Clare to here is a good sum up of the bad moments. I think the difference today, thank God, is that there isnāt the relentless negativity that swilled across the country in the 80ās, where you knew emigration was likely your lot in life. We had a right miserable bastard of a careers guidance teacher who always told the anecdote of a pupil who through hard work and diligence ended up in charge of the stationary section in powells. That shite is thankfully gone. As are the things that really haunt me when we worked the sites as young lads and students, seeing fellas turn up with everything they owned in a suitcase, looking for a start, and others slowly drinking themselves to death. I met as many intelligent and decent
Irish lads on site as I ever met in any other walk of life (met some right cunts as well).
Iām at a bit of a low ebb at present. Iāve been offered a couple of really good jobs back home over the past 5 years. I have an interview for a job in Dublin in September that I was approached about some time ago. If you had told me ten years ago that I would have considered turning any of them down, Iād have thought you mad. My wife however just doesnāt want to go. I can see her point. We do well here and want for nothing, but I am a paddy when all is said and done, and I want to go home. I donāt want to grow old over here though it looks like that is exactly what will happen.
The world is a lot smaller than it used to be, and there are many things abroad that are better than home, but to be able to swim in the sea every day, to b able to have a decent chat with a stranger to pass a few minutes, to meet old friends randomly, these are the finest things in life. We just came back from a few days in Galway, and it made me realise just how much I miss it.
My worry is that I will indeed come home later in life with āpockets full of greenā, and have no place in the community, that ill be a stranger in my home. Maybe Iām just tired this week. Had a great cycle yesterday in the sun. Shouldnāt complain.[/QUOTE]
i can relate to everything written there in bold.
[QUOTE=āmickee321, post: 994257, member: 367ā]i hear you loud and clear,
im 3,500 kms from home, she had an issue building a house 60kms from her parents houseā¦[/QUOTE]
Serious, question Mick, is there anything about life out there that you like or enjoy?
A great bunch of lads playin rugby, neighbours annoying the fuck out of you to take part in a fuckin pub quiz wowā¦no offence roaster mate but thats a fuckin nightmare. Iād rather bump into Tassotti with a belly full of Stella and a pocket full of white!
What do you do here for fun? Go to Dundrum shopping centre? You should move back over there you cunt.
I enjoy many things Mac.
[QUOTE=āEbeneezer Goode, post: 994261, member: 1785ā]A great bunch of lads playin rugby, neighbours annoying the fuck out of you to take part in a fuckin pub quiz wowā¦no offence roaster mate but thats a fuckin nightmare. Iād rather bump into Tassotti with a belly full of Stella and a pocket full of white!
What do you do here for fun? Go to Dundrum shopping centre? You should move back over there you cunt.[/QUOTE]
It was a reasonable answer to a reasonable question. Not everyone who lives abroad just ends up drinking with Irish lads like your time over there. Look I know you lashed out cos youāre feeling seriously mugged off after splashing 2 grand on grossly unnecessary new baby stuff. You feel like a bit of a dickhead cos youāre either the sort who would intentionally fall victim to the marketing and buy all the best gear or you feel like a bit of a dickhead cos you know itās not really needed or you could get it cheaper secon-hand yet your wife mugged you off for it. However you donāt need to be coming on here acting out your anger. You cunt.
I imagine EB gave himself another sneaky chemical send off areir and is in its final flailing moments. Also heās probably secretly seething at croppy and ned for not sorting him out with a buggy or putting him wise.
[QUOTE=āEbeneezer Goode, post: 994261, member: 1785ā]A great bunch of lads playin rugby, neighbours annoying the fuck out of you to take part in a fuckin pub quiz wowā¦no offence roaster mate but thats a fuckin nightmare. Iād rather bump into Tassotti with a belly full of Stella and a pocket full of white!
What do you do here for fun? Go to Dundrum shopping centre? You should move back over there you cunt.[/QUOTE]
Funnily enough, the rugby clubs over here are great places. They are just like the Hurling or football clubs back home. Alright sorts of all shapes and sizes and inclusive and friendly. Often the hub of the community. Neighbours over here tend to keep themselves to themselves much more, so having ones who will help you out a bit is grand.
A good few of the hurling lads who only ever played hurling at home play rugby over here and enjoy it. I think the spirit is exactly the same, just the sport is different.
That is a harsh post ebeneezer, and unfair.
@mickee, I would in no way try to compare my situation to yours. I have it very easy. Think of you most days, and whenever I see the news.
Was it because Israel had yet to annex the land to build it on?
[QUOTE=āflattythehurdler, post: 994290, member: 1170ā]
That is a harsh post ebeneezer, and unfair.[/QUOTE]
Ah Just bored and done a Tassottiā¦most of the engerlish I encountered were cool and loved us Paddies. Were you serious with the pub quiz shit tall back?? Iād hate to say think those and the village fetes were the highlight of my years over there. Whereād you live Stratford upon Avon??
Howād the Laois man do for ye? Did Casement have the lads who were transferring over from us?
He did well, hamstrings gave up on him haff way through the second half but he took a couple of nice points. Good lad to have about, a fine an intense character in a dressing room
@Ebeneezer Goode[/USER] [USER=1170]@flattythehurdler Great posting from ye lads, i can also relate to everything ye say. I used to bitch and moan about Ireland while i was there, there are plenty of bad points and things we do wrong, but the benefits outweigh the bad points. You canāt beat home and absence makes the heart grow fonder. You make a life for yourself somewhere else but Ireland is always in the back of your mind and you never really feel you belong elsewhere. I also think everyone when theyāre young enough ideally should take a prolonged period away from Ireland, will open your mind and put things in perspective.
No worries EG. The table quiz was every Thurs in the local pub which was a grand oul spot. Iād finish training and head down for the quiz and a couple of pints which was a grand way to build into the weekend. Neighbours were good for a chat, there was a music round each week and pints were had - I enjoyed it.
My neighbours brought me to the table quiz, I persuaded them to come into an Oāneills to watch the AI final last year (drawn game). Hurling blew their minds.
Heās very good in the dressing room. A good head and is well able to mix it when needed. Heās a very good addition to any team.
That is the funny thing about the English. They love the paddies. Canāt wait to tell you about their Irish relatives or their holidays. I find it a little odd, but they love the place. A lad I cycle with, English to the bone, is headed to Dublin this weekend for a wedding, and asked what I reckoned he and his wife should do. Well guess where they will be on Sunday afternoon?? Heās just texted me telling me he has spent the whole afternoon at work watching hurling on YouTube.
[SIZE=1]I told him to cheer for limerick. [/SIZE]
Oh my. Are we thinking of the same Laois man here?