“Viera fannied, and flipped and flopped”
Every single bit of that is outstanding.
“Viera fannied, and flipped and flopped”
Every single bit of that is outstanding.
He called out Gerrard as being a complete myth
Think that was “James from West Mead” on “You’re On Sky Sports”.
“Gerrard found out tonight, nothing player”
“You hear people say Gerrard is one of the best players in the world…. Another Myth”
I’ll never forget Souness when he was on the panel first. Dunphy went off on one, he had a look around, wide eyed, as if to say, what the absolute fuck, this is brilliant. He really opened up his legs and expressed himself in a way you’d never see him do on sky. He was hatcheting lads left right and centre, like he was in midfield in a muddy pitch in the 80’s
“Fernando wasn’t playing for Manchester City tonight and you wouldn’t have noticed… Fernandihno was playing tonight but you wouldn’t have noticed… Mangala wasn’t playing because he’s useless”
he was very, very wrong about fernandinho, spot on about the other two
Giles for me was a great judge of a player
They wouldn’t have lasted as half as long nowadays with twitter about.
The Saipan saga was epic back in 2002. He fell out with Giles for awhile at the time even.
Bill, Johny Giles, Dunphy and Brady together was box office in fairness.
ah Keane gets away with it. Dunphy had a charm about him that would get him away with it. Some lads can say what they like and just have a way of riding it out.
Dunphy got hate mail and all before there was ever Twitter over Italia 90. He hated Jackie Charlton’s style of football and wasn’t afraid of to say it, while Jackie was being held up as a Saint here. He rode that out too. When a fella doesn’t give a bollix it’s hard keep him down
“The Henry Shefflin’s, the John Oxx’s, the Ruby Walsh’s”
Might have been the time England laboured to a 1-0 victory over Ecuador in the World Cup and RTE aired a Garth Crooks interview on the BBC where he was nodding along with Sven that it was a fantastic performance. Dunphy remarked it was the first time he’d seen two men having sex on the BBC and Souness was incredulous.
Dunphy would be amazing on here.
He’d take a completely silly angle on something but he’d do it in a way that would suck fellas into the argument.
Like he dismissed Ronaldo as a cod but still created a massive debate over it by continually praising messi.
Its a real skill.
Not the popular view but i would have much preferred Venables to Trapatoni. The Trapatoni era was my worst following Ireland. Soul destroying football.
Fuck off. Trap was a gent and a great manager.
I never warmed to Brady. He always seemed arrogant or something. He often dismissed Billo in a very uncharming way. Giles or Dunphy would dismiss him playfully but Brady always seemed a bit mane or bad minded
The Rod Liddle line is iconic man
Eamon done very well to keep his job after the rod Liddle comment. No way he’d get away with it today.
The bit where Brady lost his rag when Dunphy did a pre planned hit piece on Wenger was tremendous. Eamon was loving every bit of it as Liam got angrier and angrier.