How anyone, ANYONE could vote for PuiC is utterly beyond me. Absolutely nothing going for it. Online polls eh?
I suppose it depends on the criteria you are picking it for, if it was for comfort it’d be bottom of the list.
But on what criteria would anyone be in favour of it? Its a cunt to get in and out of, no decent boozers next door, horrible to watch a match in, horrible to get changed in for players. Maybe playing surface?
Best terrace view in the Country*.
*had
Best terrace view in the Country*.
*had
Really? Cant say I ever found it that impressive, what made it stand out in that regard?
Pearse Stadium - what a shit-hole. Any chance Galway GAA could sell it for redevelopment (housing), or to the IRFU for Connacht?
Pearse Stadium is a fine ground. The problem with it is the traffic (not an issue for those within walking distance
), the wind, and the lack of decent pubs nearby.
Kenny Park is also a fine little ground, to be fair.
Any such list which doesn’t have Dr.Hyde Park ranked bottom is automatically void.
Aye, while Drogheda is a bit backward with regards lack of terracing, its grand and quaint. The Hyde is a hulking shithole.
Chaps, this is a balls.ie poll in fairness.
Aye, while Drogheda is a bit backward with regards lack of terracing, its grand and quaint. The Hyde is a hulking shithole.
I genuinely believe that Ireland’s rate of emigration would be at least 3% lower than it is if Dr. Hyde Park didn’t exist.
It’s the type of place that drives you to leave a country, even from just seeing it on television.
It looks like the type of monstrosity tan97 would come up with if he was on Grand Designs.
Can anybody remember a match where the sun shone at Dr. Hyde Park?
In 29 seasons of watching Gaelic football, I can’t.
Bulldoze it.
Nice grounds:
Semple, Nowlan, Portlaoise
Shit holes:
Gaelic, Walsh Pk, Drogheda
Jaysus what took a Kilkenny man to Drogheda?!
A while ago now but it was a schools game. I look at the ground now and it hasn’t changed much
Grounds I like going to - Nowlan Park, Pairc Ui Rinn, Portlaoise and Parnell Park
Grounds I hate going to - Croke Park, Walsh Park (seem to always lose in both) and Ennis.
Grounds I hope to visit through the qualifiers in the next few years - Celtic Park, Derry, Brewster Park, Pairc Sean Macdiarmada in Leitrim, and Ruislip.
Been to Drogheda. Didn’t think it was too bad. Louth beating the shit out of us on the pitch was more disconcerting than the lack of facilities.
I was surprised Walsh Park (or the Sportsfield as it is known in Waterford) finished so high up the list to be honest.
The ground was known as the Sportsfield because originally it catered for all sports. Back in the early days of the 20th century the ground was used for Kilkenny club matches between South Kilkenny teams (as there wasn’t a sufficiently appointed ground in that part of Kilkenny, a bit like the school/shopping centre/employer situation that pertains now) and for Leinster championship matches between Wexford and Kilkenny.
Those counties refused to play in the Sportsfield unless those others sports were banned, which they were in 1913, under the imprimatur of Willie Walsh who was secretary of the Waterford County Board and local head of the IRB and after whom the ground was eventually named.
interesting fact
the hill in croke park is named after a battle in the boer war
interesting fact
the hill in croke park is named after a battle in the boer war
Incorrect. Named after a hill in Gallipoli.
All the gobshites who liked it.