The Galway Criticism Thread

PM for any specifics you need mate. Your work location is kinda key to having a seamless transition into our wonderful metropolis.

That’s a nice post KP. See @Nembo_Kid - that’s Galway personified.

Sydney, New York, London… All get more rain than dublin. Iirc reading before. Dublin is a complete rain shadow. Any claims from dubliners about its great to be away from home where it rains all the time should be treated with contempt.

Kid keep the accent, donegal people and nordies are regarded juat fine in galway. However lose the persecution complex a mhaiceen, ye might have been sold out by the government once upon a time but we continuously are.

Ah here… That accent would cut through you. Fuck them.

Not on some of the women it wouldn’t.

Galway has a very high proportion of blow ins living in it which I think will make it a less threatening place for @Nembo_Kid.

July is like a little Ulster. They all come here - well our side at any rate.

But if he wants to get into lots of confrontations Galway is also a perfect place to do so.

Terryland Park is a fine place to be on a Friday night and comfortably within walking distance of the city centre. In fact everywhere is within walking distance of the city centre.

€160 gets you a season ticket for premium League of Ireland action and there are two lovely stands to relax in. Or, like me, you can just walk in at half-time for free.

I’ve lived in Galway a few times @nembo. Lovely atmosphere, good eating, great craic and savage drinking. The approach into town from salthill via the claddagh is savage. Gives you a great appreciation of life. People are sound but Galway folk are some of the worst roasters you’ll meet. And Belfast is easily as boozy a town as Galway so you’re not stepping into the unknown. I’d say go for it.

Nembo kid would a very good renumeration package if he went to Galway

@Nembo_Kid if the money is right & the job is right go for it. If you don’t like it you can always leave after a year. A lot easier to progress in zig zags between companies than trying to rise within one.

Galway is a nice city but I will echo what others have said
It never stops raining on the West Coast, the weather is noticeably wetter than Dublin.
Galway is great craic, but I’d say it’s like living temple bar a lot of the time.
The traffic is horrendous. I don’t know how it’s even possible for a small city to have so much traffic. It defy’s all logic. There’s very few ways into the city so imagine the M50 except you could only get on in a handful of places. Everyone from the South on one road, everyone from the east on another and then the two roads meet before Galway.
There are great bars and restaurants and plenty to do, especially in summer.

Having recently left Dublin, I have to say I miss a lot about it. But there are huge benefits, not paying a fortune on rent (though it still isn’t cheap in the cities) & living being the main one.

To finish.
I’ve never met anyone who moved to Galway and didn’t like it.
I think it’s like college, great for a few years but people tire of it eventually and leave (if you’re not from there that is).
If I got an opportunity and I’d no ties I would definitely live in Galway for a year.
I’d live near work, ideally within walking distance and super-ideally that’d be near enough town as well.

Is Galway cycle friendly?

Hreat question

It’s full of hippies so the idea of cycling is very popular there. The reality of cycling is similar to all Irish cities though.

It’s also worth repeating that it rains, a lot.

Fairly dispels the “Sunny South East” myth as well.

Agree with all if that. Except the road from the north meets the other two as well.

No. Not in any way, shape or form. It’s terrible. Publictransport is poor though, and the traffic is bad so work location is key.

It’s not really. The Galway bike scheme has been a disaster with very little uptake although this has a lot to do with the shit locations of the bike stands.

The city is very small for a bike scheme really.