Ush
'Ireland's most charming city' - New York Times spends 36 Hours in Galway
The New York Times' famed 36 Hours travel series has paid a flying visit to Galway, and the review is glowing.
Ush
Lovely stuff pal. I did a bit of banking in that mervue estate today, I used to work there a few years back.
There are decent lunch options within a 10 minute walk. A decent gym and pool nearby too.
Salthill is the place to be but buy a bit of wet gear and bike it in. Save yourself a load of hassle and clutch wear.
I’ll update it when I get my bearings after a few weeks. I only know the address at the minute, I viewed it this morning and signed the lease, I’m back in Armagh now and will be travelling back to Galway on Sunday.
Howya blakeen long time no see auld shtock. How are we fixed Sunday? Will you be within’n the shtadium. Good man, no harm bate them showera cunts. I bether go here anyways, talk to you soon, grand, good luck good luck good luck.
Just memorise the above kid and begin to break down conversation barriers. Best of luck with the move, if you need any advice pm, you’re one of us now.
youll be living in the heart of Galways refugee district, the craic will be mighty
Incorrect. Fuck me. That’s incorrect. Unless you plan to leave before seven. You’d cycle quicker.
Goodchoice to live there, but get a bike.
And a decent barbers over in the Liosbaun Ind Est; Rotund Anthony. I worked in Mervue Ind Est around 1998 and the only issue was traffic out of the estate in those days. Bike it, and you’ll be fine. It’s a pleasant ride out along Lough Atalia, the docks, Claddagh, Salthill - plenty of sea air. Enjoy the change in pace
Lads @Nembo_Kid is in the habit of changing his clothes every few days. A couple of days cycling in typical Galway weather and he’ll have pneumonia.
Take the metro instead @Nembo_Kid. The maroon line from Barna to Oranmore has stops at both Salthill Blackrock and Salthill Central and the Mervue stop will leave you near to your new workplace. It’s about a 12 minute journey.
The Monorail is quicker, transfer at NUIG and you’d be there in 10ish minutes. Doesn’t run on Wednesday mornings though
Won’t the underground be finished by then?
I think it’ll run direct.
That must be what the agent meant when he said 15 minutes commute
Is it true he’s moving to Galway because it’s the only place in Ireland the majority of the inhabitants will smell worse than him? He probably reckons he can reduce the frequency of shirt changes to once a week now.
You’ll cycle it in 15 minutes anyway, pal. Depending where in Salthill you are but I would be very surprised if you drive it in 15 minutes. Let me know when you’re settled and I’ll show you around the local hotspots. That will take about 4 minutes in Salthill but we’ll head into town then afterwards.
mugged off good and proper, but you’d zip through town in that time on a rothar.
The letting agent informed me that it would be a 15 minute drive out to Mervue in the mornings
The dark arts of a letting agent
I think he left the word “Sunday” out :-))
@Nembo_Kid, you’re ahead of the curve pal
The New York Times' famed 36 Hours travel series has paid a flying visit to Galway, and the review is glowing.
Haters be hatin’.
Starting work Monday morning with a shiner and a minor contusion around the right eyebrow region.
#whatahero