The Glastonbury Thread

Wait til you see Snow Patrol

As if you have a choice

Anohni and the Johnsons, Prodigy, Burning Spear, Neil Young, Deftones, Gary Numan, The Libertines. For that collection alone, well worth the money.

I thought Fatboy Slim would be higher up the pecking order or the decking order even.

He wanted to play happy hour - between 5pm and 7pm.

Thats the thing. With Glastonbury, it is so big compared to other festivals. Pick 2 or 3 acts per day max. Enjoy the randomness outside of that and the food.

Texas doing their thing now in the IOW

The Brits have a grand summer from the derby to royal Ascot to Wimbledon to the open with Glastonbury mixed in.

Henley

Test Match Cricket mixed in too.

Live NatWest Trophy cricket semi-finals on BBC2 on the second Wednesday in August.

Essex v Warwickshire from the County Ground at Chelmsford and Hampshire v Lancashire from the County Ground in Southampton.

Coverage switching back and forth between the two simultaneous semi-finals and good travelling support. Lads on a day out who have come down in vans from Birmingham and Manchester and smuggled cans in for a sing song, juxtaposing nicely with grannies knitting cardigans.

RIP.

It was called “The Season” albeit Glastonbury wasn’t part of it

It’s pissing down there today

Poshest gig i was ever at. Summer of 2000. 25 years ago…Christ that makes me feel old…Pure toffs on show.

Dont forget the proms.

I’m supposed to go on Sunday week probably wont bother tbh but the brother is there.

They’d give it all up to have what we have with the GAA summers.

Ah flatty… the sun out… the pimms flowing and all the posh totty in their glamourwear… a lovely day by the river.

Last time I went it was 34 degrees. I was in the steward’s enclosure with the brother. I took my jacket off. Some oul brexity type told me to put it back on. I was about to tell him I wouldn’t but the brother could see what was coming, put his hand on my arm and said we’d go.out to the other bit. The brother may or may not be a steward himself.
He observed afterwards that the Brits were the only race in the world mad enough to do it to themselves.
Was a grand day out though like you say. Had a right good drink. Was like alderley edge without the gangsters.

I see a few of the acts like Alanis, Charlie XCX, Neil Young and Nile Rogers are all doing Glastonbury and Malahide.