The GPA

Maybe this is barmy but perhaps a compromise could be brokered whereby the county players (if that’s through the GPA then fair enough) get a large percentage of the TV money only. As the TV money (outside of the few televised club games) is wholly generated by the county players it would seem to me to be more appropriate than just taking a cut of all association income. Negotiation of the deal could even be handed over to the players association. Distribution of said funds could then be used to fund their organisation and would take the GAA v GPA conflict out of it, as the GPA would now be negotiating with RTE / BBC / TV3 etc.

This would obviously be a huge step and may leave some in the GAA aghast but it would mean the GAA would not effectively be paying the players yet are giving them a fair chunk of the pie. I think it would sit easier with the average club volunteer than other schemes.

Is it really even that nuanced though? The GAA are going to play ball with the GPA eventually, as the GPA grow in influence and step up the protest measures. I’d say we’re fairly close to an endgame in the whole thing.

I don’t know. I thought that GAA press release today showed the GPA to be a pack of dullards. The GAA’s view came across as reasoned, fair minded and with a view of the total organisation. In contrast the GPA come across as a very narrow self interest group with no wider view of the GAA as an organisation and not very bright. Like your typical Irish trade unionist come to think of it.

:D:clap:
agreed.
amazingly enough, the GAA statement came across as far more professional than any utterances from Dessie in the past few weeks.

and that moron on the 6.01 news framing the LRC negotiations as a “fight”, a “battle” and a “struggle” would back up your trade union theory too. i was waiting for a kilted piper in blue face paint to pop up over his shoulder. you can take our 11%, but you’ll never take our freedom. christ help us all. :smiley:

I know you like your GAA WBY, but being a mainly rugby man i’m delighted with your somewhat outside view.
Many of my rugby mates just throw out, “ah they have to get paid for what they do”, without really knowing what the story is.

Whats most kinda silly about it is the guys who support the GPA thibnk its a forward way of thinking, that the rest of us are living in the 70’s, when in fact we are living in reality and have seen what money has done to club rugby for instance. Ireland can’t sustain professional GAA as we know it through the county system, and that, ultimately, is what these guys are looking for. They have more than once let it slipo, and its well known down here that certain Cork players have tqalked about it quite openly from time to time.

Treaty Exile, your posts are as always timely and intelligent (as in this thread had gone to shit until you popped up).

Likewise, Keith Duggan:

GPA must keep fingers off Doomsday button
CUT: Gentlemen, you cant fight in here! This is the War Room. President Merkin Muffley, Dr Strangelove, writes KEITH DUGGAN

Where would we be without the old GPA to keep things good and lively? In what has been a so-so summer of on-field games, the administrative-wing of player power has been as refreshing as a Cork dry and tonic. There are times, when the GPA delivers their latest statement of regret or their promises of future agitation that I think that this is what it must have been like to be alive in the defining days of the Suffragettes.

One half expects to turn up at Clones some afternoon and find the nippiest corner forwards in the business chained to the goalposts or to turn on the radio to learn that some famous midfielder has just hurled himself under the wheels of The Sunday Game mobile wardrobe.

From the various descriptions of players and mentors of the GPA, the atmosphere has become pretty grim. Administrators and members alike have reached the stage where they are fairly much ready to do anything: not sharing their thoughts and emotions (4-18 wont be good enough the next day, Marty) with the cameras after Sundays big matches is just the beginning.

Presumably, the latest mood of unrest might well culminate in what was popularly termed the nuclear option a few years ago. It may not even have been the GPA who coined a phrase that seemed to have been plucked straight from Stanley Kubricks cold war classic. But it kind of suited the apocalyptic seriousness with which the GPA has gone about their business from the very beginning (Whatever happened to Donal ONeill anyhow?).

If and when the definitive GPA warts and all pot-boiler is published, it will really have to be titled The Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter Of our Discontent. Like many people in Ireland, I am living for the day when I wake up to read the headline: GPA Chief Declares All Is Right With the World.

When it comes to the GPA, most of us are with the Joker: Why So Serious? For as PG Wodehouse said of Scotsmen, it is never difficult to distinguish between a GPA man with a grievance and a ray of sunshine.

All the strife, the strong words and the incessant press releases! Some times you hear the GPA talk and you have to do a double check. This is about Gaelic games, right? There aint no cat languishing in a British prison or on trial in Thailand for smuggling snuff through his sliothar, is there?

Sometimes, it is hard not to worry for the GPA. All that stress! All those denunciations falling on deaf ears! Lord knows, championing the GPA can be a tough old beat. They know that they are not universally loved among Gaels. And they are an easy old target: Joe Brolly must have had the listening nation in stitches a few weeks ago when he talked on the radio about the fun he had hauling his cousin over the coals about the GPA. The Derry man has pretty much worn his heart on his sleeve when it comes to his dislike of the GPA. Like many GAA people and just Irish people in general he is suspicious about the broader aims of the players body.

Many of us are still unsure as to what the GPA ultimately wants out of life. Player welfare is at the heart of it. Nothing wrong with that. Assurances have been given that player welfare is not about a move to semi-professionalism. It is not about money although the argument during the week, when the GAA politely but firmly declined the GPA invitation to cough up five per cent of its annual dough for the GPA bank account did seem to be kind of about money.

However, as was pointed out during the week, it is not simply about giving players a meal after training either. Henry Hill himself could show up to cook the tomato base and it wouldnt matter: for the GPA, it is not about the pasta any more. It is more than that and we arent simply talking garlic bread. But how much more?

It is, unquestionably, a terrible pity that young men suddenly find themselves out of work and if they are hanging around their county purely to contribute to their team, then that is admirable. And because the country is banjaxed, as Uncle Gaybo used to put it, it is particularly unfortunate that the government grant has been slashed to a meagre million quid. It is a blow, particularly, as was pointed out during the week, for those players out of work. But Minister Cullen wasnt lying when he said it: there simply is no money, boys. Not on this island.

Everyone wants the players to get what they want if we could just be clear on what it is that they want. But blithely demanding a cut of the GAA funds is not the way to go about business.

The player has always been central to GAA lore, particularly the feted stars and that remains the case today. But it is to the notion of the county that the GAA crowds are wedded and ultimately loyal to. The modern Railway Cup is further proof of this. The best hurlers and footballers in Ireland, playing together: it should have intoxicating possibilities. Marketed properly it could be GAA equivalent of the NBA All-Star game. But that is hokum: nobody turns up to see the best players for those games because whatever significance the competition once had has been rendered obsolete. If the players really want to gauge their appeal beyond the traditions and framework of the championship, they just have to scan the stand next time they play Railway Cup. Aint nobody watching.

So is a strike the way we are headed? Will it be next year? If so, that is a mistake. The GAA is bigger than the current generation of players. It has 125 years behind it and a reputation for intransigence that, you can bet, they are secretly proud of. And they know this much: all players, even the very best, come and go. And their time in the bright lights is short.

As President Muffley said: . . . its not gonna help either one of us if a, if the, if the Doomsday Machine goes off, now is it?

So is a strike the way we are headed? If so, that is a mistake. The GAA is bigger than the current generation of players. It has a reputation for intransigence that, you can bet, they are secretly proud of.

This article appears in the print edition of the Irish Times

5 Down 3 Cork on the GPA football team.

Bit of an insult to a double winning team, but i’m sure they are not that bothered. Brogan has the car wrapped up so thats all that really matters.

The players are far more bothered about this one.
Nice little cash bonus into the pocket.

As I revealed earlier in the week John Galvin got a midfield slot B)

The players know the score.

No official cash for winning award anyway Runt, there is a car for POTY. You know something we all don’t?

John Galvin didn’t deserve an award on this years performances, IMO. No doubt the players think more of these awards than the foolish Journo ones, but they are only adding fire to the Cork desire for next year. But players can be terrible judges too, Kissane ahead of Noel O’ Leary is bemusing. Still don’t think John Doyle deserves one, but the rest seem fair.

MBB - The only score you neede to know is Cork 0-16 Down 0-15.

I can’t remember the figure I was told at the weekend but there’s 2 or 3k cash for every winner of an award.

Think I heard 2000 or so from a Dublin winner a few years back but couldnt swear on that. Nice little bonus. Nice to see that the players can appreciate the likes of Galvin, McKernan and Bolton anyway, talent being acknowledged unlike those mongs selecting the All Stars.

So some of the players that won All-Stars are not talented?

Who is the mong i wonder? :rolleyes:

GGA? Talent?

Ya ha aha ha aha aha ahahhahahahaha aha ahhhaahahhh ahahahahahahahhhaaaaahhahah

The GPA awards are a load of bollox anyway. Grand for the player of the year to get a car. The all-stars are where it’s at

on what basis? not saying you are wrong, just wondering

Ah I’m only messing about the all-stars, all-ireland medals are where it’s really at and the players know this more than anybody but I think the GPA awards are fairly pointless. Soon well have the GAA writers awards, the GAA managers awards and so on…

I believe this might be the last year of them, that they’ll be rolling in with the GAA All Stars next year or whenever the Opel deal runs out.

The All Stars are picked by the GAA writers and journos. The All Stars will always be more prestigious but the 2,500 for the GPA awards is nice alright.

Can’t imagine they’re any fairer than the All Stars. I’d imagine players wouldn’t vote for lads because they might just not like him or his county. Nice to see Cork lads snubbed again.

All Ireland medals are indeed where it’s really at but there’s no doubt that the individual awards are a nice as well.