The Grand National - The Blue Riband of Horse Racing

Fair play lad. Best of luck if you’re dipping your toes

I also watch the Hunt Chase relay race at the Dublin Horse Show. It reminds me of the relay running races we used to have during PE at primary school, except with horses.

It’s a lottery sure.

Won’t be gambling on it. Gambling is for mugs.

Outside of that, it’s a glorified hunter chase for me.

The Grand National is the ultimate test of the skill, athleticism and nerve of a horsey.

Only the very best of the best can take to the starting line, never mind survive, never mind compete, never mind win.

The greatest race, the 40 greatest horseys in the world.

The Espom derby is the ultimate test of the thoroughbred.

Right answer

To be fair, I prefer the Espom Derby to the Epsom Derby, but neither hold a candle to the Grand National, the true Great Race.

Flat horses would shit their fetlocks at the sight of the Canal Turn, never mind The Chair or Becher’s Brook.

A great spectacle but a mickey mouse race

The greatest of them all

Tiger roll Is bred by a derby winner and his dam is out of a horse 4th in the derby.

It tests balance, stamina, speed and the horses mind.

Red Rum would have beat Nijinsky up a stick mate

@Sidney
Did you stick a pin in the paper yet?

The Epsom Derby is a joke of a race - it’s a juvenile flat age grade race FFS - the sort of eejits who think that’s the true test are the same sort of eejits who think an under 12 county final is of a superior standard to an All-Ireland senior final. :laughing:

@rocko, can we close this thread until tomorrow?

I might have to - having had a quick look at the form of the runners I think it’s fair to say that this could be the strongest field ever. 40 potential winners there.

Look. You know square root of fuck all about horses. I’d advise you not to be arrogant about it but it’d be a waste of breath.

You’d be as well of keeping whisht until the race is over instead of making a holy show of yourself

Juvenile flat race? Colts peak at 3.