The great PJ McManus

They will be well looked after and put up in the manor, they are coming over this way anyway sure for the Scotch open ahead of the British open

Sure he could put a 100 million in the charity pot and it would make no difference to him.

Brooks and Johnson are banned from the Scottish open.

Why doesnā€™t he so? Why go to all this trouble to organise this gig to raise 40m when he could just throw the money at it?

If he just got Tiger, The Irish lads and one or two more it would be more than enough.

There is absolutely no need for him to be bringing all of Bryson, Brooks, Spieth etc.

Its absolutely mental stuff he convinced them all to come.

Exactly. He doesnā€™t need the rest of them at all

Iā€™ve no idea tbh.

In fairness, the pro am results in serious money for fantastic charities in the mid west.

Ego, the mans name will be everywhere for the next few days. The game Sunday will have more coverage of JP and the band of golfers and celeb lick arses lined up next to him.

Ego is a part of it. Marketing for his golf course a part of it. Philantrophy a big part of it

Fwiw. I donā€™t think he is paying any of them

They are hardly all coming out of the goodness of their hearts?

If one or two were, Iā€™d say fair enough, but everyone of them hardly scheduled their build up to The Open to fit this in without serious coin coming their way.

There is an element of sports washing in this too. This ā€œkloutā€ they are all playing for. If your not where tiger is the media isnā€™t with you. Good to be seeing giving back to charities etcā€¦ If you get to drink some Guinness and stay in a nice hotel on your way to the open then bonusā€¦

Iā€™d be shocked if they arenā€™t getting massive money tbh. They constantly moaning about the schedule and how they should be paid more.

Small money like even a couple of mill they might get for coming is immaterial to these fellas

Iā€™m not sure Dustin Johnson is self aware enough for that but I do agree with your point.

This ā€œkloutā€ is an actual thing. A properly measured metric by which they get paid more money. Nowt to do with self awarenessā€¦ Poor oul dusty just does what heā€™s told the eejit

They are doing it as a favour. Theyā€™ll get treated like kings for two days, have bit of craic and get two rounds of golf, they would have to play anyway, in on a World class course, which will someday host the Ryder cup.

Steady onā€¦

It was absolutely mental stuff back in 2010 when Tiger barely played any Golf after his infidelities became public knowledge, yet he rocked half way round the world to play a round at the manor and see the Limerick Under 21 hurlers get their arses handed to them by Clare.

Sure he was holed up in Martins Town avoiding the world media gaze at the time