The Joe Brolly tells porkies thread

This all boils down to the weakness shown by the people of Ulster in being unable to resist the plantations, which we swatted away down South with ease.

And during the War of Independence, when Munster led the way, what was the resistance up North like??

Were they too busy working for the Queens Shillings?

Weā€™ll give them the benefit of the doubt sure, our ā€œwhat can you do for meā€ buddy from Ulster will be on there now any minute to list off the levels of resistanceā€¦

The Ulster equivalent of Tom Barry, or Liam Lynch, or SeĆ”n Finn, or Dan Breen, SeĆ”n Hogan, SeĆ”n Treacy etc etc etcā€¦ever heard of one?

The Ulster equivalent of Kilmichael? The rescue at Knocklong? Crossbarry? The ambush at Dromkeenā€¦anything, anything at all on that scaleā€¦ ever heard of one?

But itā€™s us down South that left them down when they needed us most, yeah? :rollseyes:

It seems the tut tutting free staters somehow feel that are the authoritative voice on The Troubles.

They donā€™t seem to care what the life experiences of northern nationalists are.

You might want to look at the history of your own spineless queen loving county.

Some joke that a Limerick lad giving it the bigguns when they were rolling over to have their bellies tickled from the English and had a family of Gaelic chiefs down from Tyrone protecting their city until they begged them to surrender.

Out of curiosity, what would you expect Free State Paddy to do today? Take up arms, or do you think the govt should actively be campaigning for a UI?

Sent troops into the north, broke off diplomatic relations with the UK.

back then, ok, but in 2022, do you think it would be worth breaking off diplomatic relations with London? How can we send troops to the north? Christ almighty.

I think if they had any commitment on seeking justice for the Dublin Monaghan bombings and the Brits role in some of the most heinous actions they should until such time as they release the information and hold those responsible to account.

Yet his own countymen stand for God Save The Queen. The Loughgall martyrs must wonder what they died for. Fair play to Sykes and McClean. Proper Irishmen.

Do you think the Brits would give a shite or release that info?

Sinn Fein (who will be in Government) will have the chance to walk the walk soon enough and send the IDF into the North and break off diplomatic relations with London.

The same Sinn Fein who are happy to govern their statelet under Whitehall.

Itā€™s about doing whatā€™s right though the Free State donā€™t seem to have a care in the world for whatā€™s right and wrong.

We can see decades of inaction and revisionism on the north they engaged it. All throughout The Troubles, what action did the Free State take against the British Govt? Utterly, utterly spineless.

Look all the finger pointing and victim blaming in the world isnā€™t going to change the fact that all the shame and cowardice is directly pointing at the Free Staters here.

The Free Staters really donā€™t like facing up to that and they donā€™t have to decency to ever admit to it so weā€™re left with the gaslighting and recriminations. Brolly poked a wasps nest when he called the FS attitude out the other night and itā€™s gas seeing the ones with little understanding of The Troubles who think they are the authoritative voices on it.

You seem to be doing the finger pointing here mate.

So no examples which I asked for then? Well surprise, surprise!

When we were fighting and dying for our Freedom, ye boys were busy tipping the hat to yeā€™re Unionist neighbours, tilling the fields like good Taigs. Afraid of yeā€™re lives of Craig and the UVF.

Thereā€™s no point in blaming us for spinelessness. Yeā€™re courage came 50 years too late.

Few home truths is all but thereā€™s a few who canā€™t hold up their hands and acknowledge it, all they do is double down on wrong doings and point the finger elsewhere.

The Free State attitude is utterly shameless.

What about Bradley and McGinn taking the nordie soup? Bradley even turned down an approach. Look closer to home.

Youā€™re sneering at Sinn Fein for signing the Good Friday agreement now. Good man

State sponsored mass murder
reflects very poorly too. As does pretending it didnā€™t happen.