The League of Ireland thread

Why’s that? He seemed to making a decent fist of things up there.

Dunno Runt-wasn’t talking to him

Kenna is now the new manager of St. Pat’s

So you rang him up did you?

No he emailed me to tell me to have a look at the RTE website and I found it there.

Derek O’Brien gone back to Galway, seemingly as some form of compensation. From the statement on the GU website, they seem quite bitter about the whole thing, which is understandable to a point.

He couldn’t be arsed just telling you himself. Sounds a bit big-headed to me -

"Hey Pikeman,

Check me out on rte.ie"

Rgds,

J"

The Big Club are off to Jerez to play a friendly against Lokomotiv Moscow three weeks from Sunday, happy days :smiley:

Cork City have had some good news. They are staying professional, Paul Doolin is the new manager, he’s taking a few of Drogs better players with him and Colin Healy has re-signed for 2 years. From being in a place where you could have argued they’d be bottom half club this coming season, they are now at least European challengers. I still feel Bohs shold win league with about 10-15 points to spare.

dont think its good news they have doolinhe is crap
staying professional is probably a bad thing too

Drogs gone to shite so. Heard their player of the year from the year they won the league, Brian Shelley, is off to Bohs.

are fc biggles in a position to take players on?

Good interview with some random LOI player on the news earlier this week. Said clubs should just forget about Europe and trying to completely over achieve and just focus on making sure the club survives. He said clubs are throwing stupid money away trying to qualify for Europe which inevitably ends up losing them even more money. If this channeled into the club more intelligently then playing in the LOI would be more sustainable and look after the long term future of a lot of clubs. Can’t remember who yer man was now but he seemed to have a brain in his head.

[quote=“north county corncrake”]dont think its good news they have doolinhe is crap
staying professional is probably a bad thing too[/quote]

It shouldn’t be a bad thing in a one club city. With good management, marketing and planing it should do well. But thats the problem, the people who now run the club made their money off the building boom, not sure if planning, management and proper marketing mean anything to them.
I don’t know much about Doolin really other than he’s been quite successful in Ireland and Europe (LOI successful) over the past 4 years, they ain’t going to get Alex Ferguson to do it.

I’d say he’s offloaded on the cheap-probably one of Drogs’ highest earners.

he has some good points but it was players asking for 3k a week & clubs being stupid enough to pay them that got them into the mess they are in- as far as i can see there is only a small amount of players who play in the LOI so it will be the same players chasing the european dream , the only difference is that they may not be full time & they wont be getting paid as much

Well they are gonna have to find 2 players from somewhere.
Its well known that they currently have 9 players signed and no money to take anyone else on.
The cost of the appeal process of the courts decision late last year should take care of any available moneys and leave bohs vying with drogheda for the title of “furthest fall from grace”
oh and dont forget your passports!!

Joe Gamble it was. Good interview. Reckoned the facilities in the LOI were an embarrasment. Came across well out if it alright.

[quote=“josepi73”]leave bohs vying with drogheda for the title of “furthest fall from grace”

Was that not Shamrock Rovers when they got relegated?

he is just bitter his wages have been slashed