The Man Utd Thread

Freedom freedom freedom Bandage.

In a league situation you finished second. United finished top. That is all. No amount of head to head bullshit can make it real. United waltzed to three wins and slept through two games(during which we rested players) against Copenhagen and Celtic.
I would also point out that we lost twice to the Hammers last season but it doesn’t mean they won the league does it?

I bang the gavel once more, Bandage.

No point arguing with this Juhniallio. You’re right, you know it, I know it, Shan knows it and so does every other sensible person

Jaysus I was in stiches when I read this. Picturing that little ginger fook out hooping/hopping around

I think you’ll find (if you bother sticking to the facts and check the actual team listings on the relevant websites) that Manchester United played their strongest available side at Celtic Park, albeit withdrawing Rooney to the left wing and playing in the similarly defensive manner that played into Milan’s hands some months later. I’m bowing out of this thread for the time being as it appears the United fans are anxious that criticism or an alternative view shouldn’t get an airing here.

It’s a completly blind view rather than an alternative view being offered on here. Anyone in their right mind can see Man Utd are the superior team to Celtic. Now, stop hijacking this thread with Celtic propaganda.

Some good banter in here this morning. All I will say is that I would welcome the challenge of Celtic again and would be confident of victory. That is all.

Jaysus that post is a grammatical disaster

Im drugged up Flano. Any words that I type are a bonus. :confused:

There’s no challenge in playing them http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/cool.gif

[quote=“Juhniallio”]Freedom freedom freedom Bandage.

In a league situation you finished second. United finished top. That is all. No amount of head to head bullshit can make it real. United waltzed to three wins and slept through two games(during which we rested players) against Copenhagen and Celtic.
I would also point out that we lost twice to the Hammers last season but it doesn’t mean they won the league does it?

I bang the gavel once more, Bandage.[/quote]

That’s like saying that Greece aren’t European Champions because they didn’t win the initial group stage. There are no trophies or no prizes for winning the group - that’s why Celtic didn’t bother fielding a first choice team in Copenhagen.

The only real way of judging the respective merits of the sides last year is to see who came out on top when they met in the head to head. Celtic edged that and secured an earlier progression to the Last 16. It mattered not because Milan subsequently proved themselves to be slightly better than Celtic and loads better than Man United on their way to winning the tournament.

Anyway this is all nonsense because genuine assessments of United’s performance last night are being distorted. United were excellent for 25 minutes or so against an awful Portsmouth side who didn’t turn up at all. Scholes and Ronaldo were superb - really world class performances - while Nani and Rooney were surprisingly shite and Park was just shite.

That’s a very fair assessment of United last night and while there’s loads of encouragement for United fans they must be aware of how reliant they are on Ronaldo. Then when you think back to European ties when Celtic and Milan in particular managed to nullify Ronaldo you begin to see how dangerous their over-reliance on one man is. This isn’t a problem exclusive to United obviously but it’s worth pointing out, no matter how much people don’t want to hear it.

I will agree that United are relying on Ronaldo too much. I would have liked to see Rooney or Nani tear Portsmouth apart but it didnt happen. In matches like that when you go 2.0 up early is that you dont need to go gung ho at the other team and can sit back. United were so comfortable last night it was unreal.

God this is pedantic.

As Juhniallio has already said. West Ham beat Man Utd twice last season and by that reasoning West Ham are the better side. Clearly they are not.

Don’t disagree with that Shan. Portsmouth never even looked like shooting, nevermind scoring.

[quote=“therock67”]That’s like saying that Greece aren’t European Champions because they didn’t win the initial group stage. There are no trophies or no prizes for winning the group - that’s why Celtic didn’t bother fielding a first choice team in Copenhagen.

The only real way of judging the respective merits of the sides last year is to see who came out on top when they met in the head to head. Celtic edged that and secured an earlier progression to the Last 16. It mattered not because Milan subsequently proved themselves to be slightly better than Celtic and loads better than Man United on their way to winning the tournament.

Anyway this is all nonsense because genuine assessments of United’s performance last night are being distorted. United were excellent for 25 minutes or so against an awful Portsmouth side who didn’t turn up at all. Scholes and Ronaldo were superb - really world class performances - while Nani and Rooney were surprisingly shite and Park was just shite.

That’s a very fair assessment of United last night and while there’s loads of encouragement for United fans they must be aware of how reliant they are on Ronaldo. Then when you think back to European ties when Celtic and Milan in particular managed to nullify Ronaldo you begin to see how dangerous their over-reliance on one man is. This isn’t a problem exclusive to United obviously but it’s worth pointing out, no matter how much people don’t want to hear it.[/quote]

A load of me bollix Rock. Greece analogy is poor even from one such as yourself. There is of course a prize for finishing first in the group, the prize of playing a team who didn’t win their group, a lesser team, like Celtic. Any argument to the contrary is bollox. Your head to head doesn’t stand up because it had nothing to do with the finishing positions. The group is won on a league basis(most points gained), head to head/home or away goals/most shots/least corners against/least yellow cards don’t matter.
Sorry, I don’t make the rules.
Have a look at the first goal United scored last night before you attempt to have a go at Nani. Super little lobbed through ball, gamebreaking moment putting a man through in acres of space. Funny how you creamed yourself when mcgeady produced a little lobbed ball in the run up to Celtic’s goal last week but such smart play from Nani is overlooked while you slate him. I can only conclude that you are racist and should bar yourself from your own forum.
Truth is United were awesome last night with passing so so sharp it might have burst the ball. The goals were of absurd quality.

[quote=“Juhniallio”]A load of me bollix Rock. Greece analogy is poor even from one such as yourself. There is of course a prize for finishing first in the group, the prize of playing a team who didn’t win their group, a lesser team, like Celtic. Any argument to the contrary is bollox. Your head to head doesn’t stand up because it had nothing to do with the finishing positions. The group is won on a league basis(most points gained), head to head/home or away goals/most shots/least corners against/least yellow cards don’t matter.
Sorry, I don’t make the rules.
Have a look at the first goal United scored last night before you attempt to have a go at Nani. Super little lobbed through ball, gamebreaking moment putting a man through in acres of space. Funny how you creamed yourself when mcgeady produced a little lobbed ball in the run up to Celtic’s goal last week but such smart play from Nani is overlooked while you slate him. I can only conclude that you are racist and should bar yourself from your own forum.
Truth is United were awesome last night with passing so so sharp it might have burst the ball. The goals were of absurd quality.[/quote]

I look forward to doing the Old Trafford stadium tour one day and seeing the group stage finishes proudly on display in a cabinet somewhere. Wouldn’t mind getting my photo taken with your first place finish from last season. That would be awesome, and something Celtic fans can only dream about.

The only reason the head to head had nothing to do with finishing positions is because Celtic fielded a weakened team in Copenhagen. The head to head had ensured that Celtic had already qualified because a win for Benfica would have seen Celtic through at United’s expense (courtesy of that self-same head to head) while any other result would have seen Celtic and United through. Your statement that “head to head/home or away goals (…) don’t matter” is factually incorrect regrettably. You are however correct on the most shots/least corners part of your sentence.

It was a decent pass from Nani for Ronaldo’s goal but it was made simple by the pass from Ronaldo, his spin and run and the crooked alignment of the Pompey defence. McGeady’s pass required more vision and better execution.

And I look forward going to Parkhead and seeing the results of Celtics 2 games against Utd from the 2006-2007 Champions league on display.

I feel like Im stuck on a roundabout with no exits here.

I’m looking forward to typing about Liverpool’s 5 European Cup victories.

Liverpool have won the European Cup 5 times.

I’m also looking forward to going for a nice meal this evening and my round-the-world trip commencing in March.

What a fun thread.

But if Liverpools head to head record with Celtic is worse then it dosent matter how many European Cup wins you have. http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/wink.gif

Knocked Celtic out of the CL in the qulaifying round 5-1 on aggregate last time I played them in FM.

Ergo, Liverpool are better than Celtic. QED.

Thats good enough for me. X gets the square.