I suggest you go read the story of Horus.
Jesus mate do you just believe everything you read on the internet and take it as fact? I thought you were supposed to be some sort of historian or something. Where do you even start?
First of all Horus would have been born on an Egyptian calendar which wouldnât correlate with or even have a December 25th in our modern calendar.
They are no texts that say Horusâs birthday was December the 25th. It has been referenced in a few places that he was worshipped during the winter solstice, but not his birthday.
Next, nobody believes Jesus was born on the 25th of December itâs not mentioned in the bible once or claimed by the Catholic Church that they know the date, different Christian religions actually celebrate different days for his birth. But they are just nominal celebrations of the day of his birth. Not his birthday.
Finally the reason for the closeness to the winter solstice date is well known, Christians wanted a festival at winter to compete with other religions which worshipped the sun. They chose to mark Christmas first in the 4th century AD or something like that. It had nothing to do with the origin story of Jesus. It was just marketing added in later. So Christianity was already well established and spreading before they decided to nominally chose the 25th of December, which in case it needs further reinforcement was NOT seen as Horus birthday.
As for the son of god/Sun god. The bible was written in Hebrew, now Iâve no idea if sun and son sound similar in Hebrew nor will I be checking. You might though and come back to us. Anyway Horus was the God of the Sky not the sun. Ra was the God of the Sun.
Below is the extract from Wikipedia regarding Horusâs origin story. Getting pregnant from a zombie with a golden cock isnât exactly the immaculate conception now is it;
Horus was born to the goddess Isis after she retrieved all the dismembered body parts of her murdered husband Osiris, except his penis, which was thrown into the Nile and eaten by a catfish,[7][8] or sometimes depicted as instead by a crab, and according to Plutarchâs account used her magic powers to resurrect Osiris and fashion a golden phallus[9] to conceive her son (older Egyptian accounts have the penis of Osiris surviving).
Once Isis knew she was pregnant with Horus, she fled to the Nile Delta marshlands to hide from her brother Set, who jealously killed Osiris and who she knew would want to kill their son.[10] There Isis bore a divine son, Horus.
Needless to say Horus wasnât crucified either, he was a God ffs. He never died. Jesus was a man sent by God which is why he could die.
Iâll debunk the rest of the nonsense if you really want me to as well, but can I suggest you engage your brain for some critical thinking before embarrassing yourself like this on the internet again.
Iâm all for reasoned theological debate etc. but please donât take all your information from that laughable Zeitgeist documentary which offers no proof except for music changes and leading questions.
Regards etc,
JG
Not a stable in Bethlehem or Herod in sight.
The internet?!
Thatâs the problem with theses lads who have never done a honest days work in their lives
Osiris, god of the dead and the underworld in Egypt, the son of âthe holy virginâ, again was believed to have been born on the 25th of December.
The Greeks celebrated the 25th of December as the birthday of Hercules, the son of the supreme god of the Greeks.
Adonis, revered as a âdying-and-rising godâ among the Greeks, miraculously was also born on the 25th of December. His worshipers held him a yearly festival representing his death and resurrection, in midsummer. The ceremonies of his birthday are recorded to have taken place in the same cave in Bethlehem which is claimed to have been the birth place of Jesus .
The Scandinavians celebrated the 25th of December as the birthday of their god Freyr, the son of their supreme god of the heavens, Odin.
@ChocolateMice (Son of God) - whatâs the point youâre trying to make here pal?
If you might even read the same internet you are picking this up from;
In the story of Krishna the deity is the agent of conception and also the offspring. Because of his sympathy for the earth, the divine Vishnu himself descended into the womb of Devaki and was born as her son, Krishna. The Hindu Vishnu Purana relates: "Devaki bore in her womb the lotus-eyed deityâŚbefore the birth of Krishna, no one âcould bear to gaze upon Devaki, from the light that invested her, and those who contemplated her radiance felt their minds disturbed.â This reference to light is reminiscent of the Vedic hymn âTo an Unknown God,â which refers to a Golden Child. According to F. M. MĂźller this term means âthe golden germ of childâ and is an attempt at naming the sun.[4]
This is occasionally brought up as evidence for the hypothesis that âvirgin birthâ tales are a fairly common phenomenon in non-Christian religions around the world.[39][40][41] However, there is nothing in Hindu scriptures to suggest that it was a âvirginâ birth. By the time of conception and birth of Krishna, Devaki was married to Vasudeva and had already borne seven children.[42]
That our 3rd level colleges give out qualifications too easily.
Jesus of Nazareth - Born on the 25th of December to a Virgin called Mary underneath a star from the east and adorned by 3 kings. He was a preacher by 12 and was ordained (baptized) at 30 by a prophet. He also had 12 disciples he travelled around with performing miracles such as curing the sick and walking on water. In his day he was known as the lamb of god or the light of god or the good Sheppard. He was betrayed by a good friend and was crucified and buried but after 3 days he rose from the dead.
Not born on the 25th of December.
Sweep sweep
Constantine was the lad what got this whole Christanity up and running as a world wide franchise. He liked the idea of a solitary God being more powerful that a have of less important deities. He also had an affection for Sol the Roman god of the Sun as standard his armies would march behind. In a grand marketing plan the bold Constantine merged both the new Christain solitary God and Sol and made this new religion as the standard for his armies.
Wikipedia servers are red hot arising from this thread.
The ancient alien who taught the Dogon about the starrrrrs was born on the 25th December too.
A lad I know called Noel was born on the 25th December
Poppa Noel?
What a ridiculous story