The Mythological Origins of Modern Religion

It appears very similar to over a hundred other stories which is very bizarre.

If it is very similar to 100 other stories why haven’t you put forward one that stands up to even moderate scrutiny yet?

None of them, including the Jesus, stand up to scrutiny ffs. - They are all stories with a shared origin in paganism/mythology - that’s the point.

But every example of shared origin you’ve given is bullshit. I’m not saying you’re wrong or that the story is true, just that I’d like you to give examples of a religion which predates Christianity with a shared origin which I can’t disprove in 5 minutes with a quick google. Give me a challenge mate.

All the stuff you’ve posted about Horus etc. is all bullshit pulled from a Zeitgeist documentary (or some conspiracy website) which has made you look an awful mug altogether.

You have no credibility on this subject

Has he credibility on any subject? Maybe on his specialist topic of landowners in LImerick in the 1800’s or something.

It’s ALL bullshit.

You are over on the other thread demanding proof of God yet you can’t even back up your opening post in this thread. This attempt to make you seem smarter than your average god fearing joe soap has backfired on you spectacularly. You believe, without any requirement of truth, random shit you read on the internet. You’re the biggest sheep of all. :joy:

I wonder was this lad born to a Virgin on the 25th December.

Why are your knickers in such a twist, pal? Are you a believer ? I haven’t put an ounce of thought into this thread bar copy and paste and haven’t argued anything at all… And I don’t have to - Jesus is a spin on the same story shared by all ancient cultures - The Christians high-jacked every pagan story and holiday to make their story more believable. Not only is Christmas a pagan holiday, Easter, the biggest Christian holiday, is also built on a pagan holiday. As is All Saints/Souls etc. etc. Moses - Noah - all rip offs of ancient stories. A lot of pagan worship sites were built over by christians and a lot of their texts were destroyed… There was even a character called Joseph in the old Testament that had all the same attributes as Jesus. Pretty much just like all cultures have a story regarding the flood - the after math of the end of the last ice age- the shared story of a divine god born around winter solstice and rising again seems to be a common theme among all ancients.

Egypt seems to have been the main player for exporting much of this story/culture and has countless motifs showing the cross, virgin birth, miracles, 12 disciples etc. etc - and to suggest that a small group of people from Judea didn’t borrow from these stories would be ridiculous.

As you’ve pointed out, using modern dates/ terms undermines the argument and Christians over the centuries have done a great job of wiping out many pagan texts/artifacts that could be used as sources- thus leaving most of these stories as mythologies - whereas Christians will point to their bible and modern calendar to justify their beliefs. However, a lot of texts survived in Egypt ranging from 4000 yrs to 1600 years before the christ - the best example being the Egyptian book of the dead which has accounts of gods stretching back over 7000 years ago to around a time there seems to have been a large movement of people from the region to various parts of the world - you may have seen me gowling around on the Random Questions about Ireland thread - But DNA is standing up to the movement of a large number of people from around the modern day region of Egypt/Israel/Syria that spread all over the globe not long after the last ice age.

However, many of these gods are mythical - that’s how the ancient peoples understood and relayed the workings of the world around them. The Christian version has tried to make Jesus historical - that’s a major difference and a major problem when discussing this issue as you’ve pointed out. Myth can be cast aside where as a real life person can’t is the logic…However, everything points to Jesus being as equally mythical. -

@ironmoth summed it up perfectly when quoting Gerald Massey above - and coincidentally - The Massey’s were large landowning magistrates in pre-famine Ireland - My area of expertise — :sunglasses:

I only asked for proof when people used words like absolutely- which you’ll agree are very dangerous and strong words to use when discussing theology.

@feck_it

Bullet points ffs

That would have been fair enough as an opening thread post rather than the absolute nonsense you put up.

God is a DJ.

I’ll run all future posts by you in future, mate.

This is a fantastic thread mate. We might disagree on water services and the rural / urban divide, but we’ll get along fine on this topic.

Besties will always disagree on some things, mate.

Pappa, is a breaking of the 2nd commandment, as is idolism, saints etc. sure there was a time when there was 4 popes a day each one getting the previous one murdered, for the power and wealth it brought. Peter, the 1st bishop, was never in Rome nor a bishop, if you go by historical facts on the original point of the thread though - 25th December was celebrated by Constantine’s religion (sun invictus I think) was celebration of the winter solstice.

The OP could have saved himself a lot of typing by simply stating it’s all a load of made up fairy tales by lads tripping on whatever psychedelics they could lay their hands on.

Sure the wealth the Catholic church has accumulated is the least Christian thing you’d ever see in your life. I like to think that if there ever was a Jesus, and he returned, the first place he’d go is to the Vatican and burn it to the ground.

That would be a rip off of the story of Jesus who hunted the traders away from the temple.