I’m sure you didn’t do peig for the group cert
the what?
Peig has been replaced by Panti on the curriculum I think. Modern Ireland and all that.
Varadkar’s memoir due to come on stream shortly.
Peig and panti have a lot in common; a shared love of micilin
Yep, that was the most common answer on the group cert
Leads (Gaeilge… gan dabht… )
Is aoibhinn liom ár teanga náisiúnta… níl fhios agam cén fáth. Ceapaim go bhfuil sé rud éigin a chuir múinteoiraí na mbunscoile in aigne duinn.
Ba mhaith liom mo chuid Gaeilge a fheabhsú - an bhfuíll éin duine anseo ina bhall le Gael Linn?
Labhraím beagán Gaeilge. Ba mhaith liom freisin feabhas a chur.
Is maith liom Aoibhinn freisin
Ni Shuilleabhain agus Garrihy
Cailini deas
Varadkar prefers to turn his back
I have a major problem with old people thinking they’re edgy or cool by slagging off Peig. It’s one of my triggers, I might need liquid medication after reading this thread. Also old people thinking they’re trendy by slagging Phil Collins, also annoying.
It’s not edgy at all. You wouldn’t know, you weren’t there man trying to study the singularly most boring piece of Irish literature while someone in the dorm was listening to sssudio on their boom box
We were in Mulligans the night of the 98 football final. Cowen was there and was well cut. He was Minister for Health at the time I think. A nurse and a socialist friend of mine gave him plenty of guff which he took pretty well. I dragged my drunken mate out the door as he screamed at Cowen ‘look after the man on the street’.
A teacher friend from Tullamore of mine told me a few great ones about Cowen.
Around Jan 2010/2011when the country was tits up and the IMF were coming in there was a hard week of snow. My friend was off school as they were closed so he went to the local boozer in the early afternoon. There were 2 other people in the pub before him. Cowen and his driver. He said the barman had a full time job throwing out Guinness and crisps to Cowen.
He was seemingly notorious for lock ins. Some pub called the White House was his haunt. He was regularly leaving there as dawn approached and hitting straight to the Dail.
There is a great clip in Reeling in the years when he is elected Taoiseach. He’s singing the Offaly Rover off the back of a lorry in Clara with a pint in his hand while being roared on by every FF roaster in the Midlands. A million miles away from man in charge now.
Father of the Bride speech is a classic
it’s being reported that Twink is going to pay a surprise visit to Brendan Grace in hospital.
she was always a soft hearted 'oul skin in fairness
Cowen was a fucking disaster for Ireland. His greatest legacy(the bank guarantee) resulted in hugely reduced public service in every sphere as we tried to pay back debts at a rate no other country was asked to endure. Nurses, Gardai, teachers, carers, sna’s, guidance counsellors. The very fabric of our society. A cannibalisation of our public services as we paid people massive money just to get them off the books. Selling off of public assets, a jump in suicide rates, the guts of a generation emigrated due in a large part to his decisions. The list and the knock on effects are endless.
While I’m not delighted he’s apparently in bits, I think the crocodile tears and eulogising are bullshit. He’s a pisshead who became the leader of the country and fucked it up. Lads pretending he was great are deluded.
Cc @tallback @HBV @Tim_Riggins and any other people who disagree . Also @maroonandwhite it’s noted that you only jumped in after a few others had a go, something that’s apparently reprehensible in your book.
If he dies as a 59 year old he’ll be 22 years or so below the average life expectancy in Ireland, Thus saving Ireland over 3.3 million at least. Thats a hell of a lot of respite care/speech therapists/ social workers/sna’s…
Very disappointing post
That’s quite the pivot from your initial post intimating wilful wrong-doing and corruption.
Again, to pin your little rant there (I’d say it goes down well every week in the pub with the local Labour branch) all on Cowen is a fairly simplistic view of it all. I say that as no fan of FF or that gov in particular.
Either way, to use his current illness as an opportunity to vent to fellow comrades, is not a great display of judgement to my mind and you’re normally one of the more rational posters here.
She had a very hard life