For anybody new to this forum it should be pointed out that @juhniallio is not an ardent critic of FF when the labour are in coalition with them
But he is a coward for attacking a sick man on his deathbed while doing fuck all himself for his country.
In all fairness Cowen was the worst Taoiseach in the history of the State. He may have been unlucky to have found himself in the top job when things turned bad but thatâs the luck of the game. He had none of the skills necessary to deal with the crisis and he surrounded himself - by choice- with the worst cabinet in the history of the State. Clowns who were only in politics because they had inherited the family seat like Mary Coughlan (who unbelievably rose to become Tanaiste), and the likes of Lenihan. Then other FF hams like Mary Hanafin, Batt OâKeefe, John OâDonoghue, Dermot Ahern and Noel Dempsey and our own Martin Cullen. More inept than corrupt but almost criminally inept.
I wouldnât wish death on any of them but by Christ it sticks in the craw to have to pay a pension to the cunts.
Wouldnât necessarily disagree.
The reshuffle stroke he tried to pull was an embarrassment near the end. I admired Barry Andrews a lot more for rejecting the Justice job when offered.
They were pitiful near the end. Cowenâs drunken interview and Pat Rabbitteâs (another cunt) savaging of Pat Carey, the harmless gom
There is great documentary to be made on the utter ineptitude of that Govt.
Noel Dempsey and Dermot Ahern being sent out like the village idiots to deny that the IMF were coming in when the entire international media were reporting the negotiations were happening right then.
Thank god Enda came and saved us.
Any chance you could get out and have a run around Brisbane on one of those scooters?
Ah would you ever fuck off. Iâve attacked him, his cronies and FF in general every time the subject hascome up on this forum for 10 years. Lads here were celebrating the death of Thatcher. Iâve no problem with this attitude for Cowen or Haughey or Bertie or any of them.
And besides, we donât know if heâs dying. It might just be the mother of all hangovers.
Deary me
Wouldnât the pension still be paid while the wife is alive?
I was only thinking that a while ago. She certainly gets some think itâs half. Iâm sure some of the civil service here could clarify @artfoley @glasagusban
Cowen was merely a symptom of the utter mediocrity and privilege that passes for establishment party politics in Ireland.
The media held him up as a man of âformidable intellectâ.
Which also is a damning indictment of the media and the incestuous nature of the revolving door environment that links politics, media and business in this country.
The scary thing is that while Ireland may be bad for it, itâs far worse elsewhere - just look at the Brits. The guy theyâre about to make PM is the absolute apex of that privileged, incestuous culture of mediocrity.
The savage pressure Cowen and Lenihan were under at the time surely had a detrimental effect on their health. Lenihan went downhill very quickly and youâd have to think Cowen is in the same boat also.
His nickname was BIFFO which was reported by the Press with glee. Stop making a narrative up that didnât exist.
There was definitely a narrative when Bertie was winning elections that it was actually Cowen who was the brains behind all this economic growth and was extremely astute. Sure I remember it very well myself.
The dirtiest hatchet job in Irish media history was the time of the FF âthink tankâ when the journalists stayed up drinking all night with Cowen. The next morning the same journalists interviewed him at 10am and attacked him for sounding hungover. These are the same newspapers that for years refused to comment on the country being governed by a long line of raving alcoholics; Donagh OâMalley and Brian Lenihan Snr etc all drinking themselves to an early grave and not a word said. Cowen sounded a little groggy that morning and suddenly the Irish media was very scandalized. The coverage of that event redefined âfake outrageâ. Irish journalists are a cowardly bunch.
Cowen was the worst Taoiseach in the history of the state and itâs only a shame that he didnât kill FF off altogether.
Donât think they get anything