The Official All-Ireland Senior Football Championship 2013 Thread

That’s my idea. Don’t steal it.

teams need to be setting themselves achievable goals and most counties will go into the year thinking they have a crack at making a provincial final, but realistically they know that they won’t win the All Ireland.

I read someone here at the weekend saying it was ok for the Leitrim lads to go on the beer because their target had been to reach the Connaught Final. If you take away the provinces then you have 75% of teams going into the season with nothing to realistically target.

Fair enough. What’s your suggestion?

Cheerleaders and fireworks

What about the accountants?

[quote=“TreatyStones, post: 795962, member: 1786”]teams need to be setting themselves achievable goals and most counties will go into the year thinking they have a crack at making a provincial final, but realistically they know that they won’t win the All Ireland.

I read someone here at the weekend saying it was ok for the Leitrim lads to go on the beer because their target had been to reach the Connaught Final. If you take away the provinces then you have 75% of teams going into the season with nothing to realistically target.[/quote]

That’s utter bollix. Who has won all the recent provincials?

Cork, Kerry, Mayo, Rosscommon, Tyrone, Armagh, Dublin and the odd outsider like Sligo, who were actually a very decent side have dominated the provincials. They are a farce.

Come again.

Sidney - outside of your dismissive tone and lack of alternative you make a good point in promotion of the games and market share. However my suggestion has IC playing for over 4 months.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 796013, member: 273”]That’s utter bollix. Who has won all the recent provincials?

Who has contested those finals though?

By the way Sidney the GAA’s best promotion, due to structure of it is done locally with good coaching in a safe environment. IC stuff helps, but keeping parents happy is extremely important in retaining kids. Most if the kids will form their likes an dislikes based around what their parents like and promote, at least up until 8 or 9, then external stuff starts having an effect likes peers, tv etc

Who cares, they have not win them, but seen as you ask it’s more or less the same group

TV has a far wider impact before the age of 8 Kev

So your going to disagree with all these scientists, child pschologists and family specialists?

Fair enough, but what are you going to do about the Football championship?

[FONT=sans-serif][SIZE=13px]2012[/URL][URL=‘http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Connacht_Senior_Football_Championship#cite_note-4’][4][/URL] [URL=‘http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mayo_GAA’]Mayo[/URL] 0-12 [URL=‘http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sligo_GAA’]Sligo 0-10
2011[/URL] [URL=‘http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mayo_GAA’]Mayo[/URL] 0-13 [URL=‘http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roscommon_GAA’]Roscommon 0-11
2010[/URL] [URL=‘http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roscommon_GAA’]Roscommon[/URL] 0-14 [URL=‘http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sligo_GAA’]Sligo 0-13
2009[/URL] [URL=‘http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mayo_GAA’]Mayo[/URL] 2-12 [URL=‘http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Galway_GAA’]Galway 1-14
2008[/URL] [URL=‘http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Galway_GAA’]Galway[/URL] 2-12 [URL=‘http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mayo_GAA’]Mayo 1-14[/SIZE][/FONT]

[quote=“Sidney, post: 795952, member: 183”]As I said Kevin, almost all media exposure the GAA gets is driven by the inter-county scene. You’re proposing an inter-county scene of two and a half months in total with a championship format that means the same teams will contest the latter stages each year and would likely lead to the end of the inter-county system within 15-20 years.

Your proposal really takes no cognisance of reality at all. The GAA’s goal in a competitive sporting market (and that’s what it is) has to be to maximise media exposure. You, on the other hand, are aiming to minimise it.

Oh and I’d get rid of those fucking stupid college competitions that nobody gives a flying shit about.[/quote]

i can assure you the players do

Unfortunately for you your grand sweeping generalistations don’t hold up to any kind of critical analysis.

In Connacht every team bar Leitrim & New York have contested a Connacht final in recent years. (5/7)

In Munster, Limerick, Cork, Kerry and Clare have contested finals in the past 3 years ( 4/6)

In Leinster, Dublin, Meath, Wexford, Louth & Kildare have all contested finals in recent years (5/12)

In Ulster Tyrone, Derry, Antrim, Monaghan, Donegal and Down have all contested finals in recent years (6/9)

So that’s 20 of the 32 who have contested a major final in the past 5 years.

Even bigger news than BOD being dropped for the Lions, Kerry have dropped Donaghy for the Munster Final. :eek:

[quote=“TreatyStones, post: 796036, member: 1786”]Unfortunately for you your grand sweeping generalistations don’t hold up to any kind of critical analysis.

In Connacht every team bar Leitrim & New York have contested a Connacht final in recent years. (5/7)

In Munster, Limerick, Cork, Kerry and Clare have contested finals in the past 3 years ( 4/6)

In Leinster, Dublin, Meath, Wexford, Louth & Kildare have all contested finals in recent years (5/12)

In Ulster Tyrone, Derry, Antrim, Monaghan, Donegal and Down have all contested finals in recent years (6/9)

So that’s 20 of the 32 who have contested a major final in the past 5 years.[/quote]

28 counties have now reached Provincial finals since the turn of the millenium. The only regularly active county teams who haven’t are Longford, Wicklow, Carlow and Waterford.

Thank you for backing up my point.

How do you suggest this works and who is going to attend these matches? How do you schedule three 40 minute matches over a weekend? One at 11am on Saturday morning, one at 7pm on Saturday evening and one on Sunday?

Nobody will have any interest in this.

its not a point …its a fact…kev sometimes overlooks these…

[quote=“Sidney, post: 796046, member: 183”]How do you suggest this works and who is going to attend these matches? How do you schedule three 40 minute matches over a weekend? One at 11am on Saturday morning, one at 7pm on Saturday evening and one on Sunday?

Nobody will have any interest in this.[/quote]

So is Kev suggesting a blitz type format for the All Ireland?