The Official Cork GAA 2017 Thread

I would expect it to be layered yes. I assume it was.

But as i saw i don’t know was it CON or yer man from Dingle then did the S&C. I saw this year gone yhey put a newbie on a generic program and he got injured and missed most of season. I saw him training, he clearly wasn’t ready.

Don’t see how any of that contradicts anything i said tonight.

FYI the forum
i saw Cian O Neill last week in SuperValu in Clane

What All Ireland Final did Corbett tear his hamstring in?

Should the players not go back to cycling to work, dances and training? It worked for the first 75 years of the gaa

My father used to say there were no hamstrings in his day [quote=“ciarancareyshurlingarmy, post:245, topic:23638, full:true”]
Should the players not go back to cycling to work, dances and training? It worked for the first 75 years of the gaa

That’s because they used to be thinning turnips. The decline in the turnip thinning role has lead to all these hamstrings.

My father would have been thinning sugar beet.

The cunts took that from us too.

Ye joke, but ye are at the nub of it there lads. Physical inactivity in day to day life is the primary reason for most of these injuries.

Many injuries, like ACL’s, manifest themselves in a acute incident but are very often the result of a chronic condition. usually poor movement leading to poor joint angles and wear & tear.

When people worked for a living physically or at least were out more and not in front of tv and in cars for hours this was not as much of an issue.

Thats what i tell people stage 1 of S&C or indeed Personal Training is. I want them moving like someone from the 60’s.

If you ecen look at photos in club houses or old photos up to even mod 90’s, peoples posture is way better. They are straighter.

Saw that O’Farrell, Harnedy, Haughney, Lawton and Damien Cahalane are two weeks off returning.

I wasn’t joking. My father cycled all around the country to play and watch matches in the forties and fifties. I don’t think he ever so much as pulled a muscle.

I wasnt joking either

The tractor was the root of all the problems .

Its a ridiculous suggestion though.

And now that we sit so much then simply exercising in traditional means is not enough.

And for all the gym lads do today, the teams from back then looked way stronger.

Probably in some cases, working every day strength generally beats gym strength anyway.

But as well as that people ate less and were far leaner

As one of the lads says about the gym monkeys "artificial muscle "

Those old people are doubled over with arthritis and the likes now though

Not many of the physical working people are. But thats a natural process anyway if you do not maintain strength. We lise muscle up to a rate of 5% a year after 35ish for men, 40ish for women. Thats yhe main reason for old people getting hunched over.

I notice an unbelievable difference between old farmers, builders and everyone else. I have a 50 year painter that comes im and his stability would piss all over virtually any fresh athlete i get, unless in fact they also led a working mans life

Cian Mac off to Douglas apparently.