The Official Cork GAA 2017 Thread

Some cracking memories of the old dump of a ground.

Sat - and I use that word generously - in the old open stand for the Cork game in 2001. Big fat lump directly behind me, back was in bits as he was kneeing be constantly all game but all was forgiven when Barry Foley fired over the sideline to win it. Cregan giving it the big 'un in the immediate post match interview, calling out the Cork Examiner. Great times.

Was up in the city terrace for the semi final against Waterford a few weeks later. Something like 2-05 to 0-01 down before Ollie and Big Brian Begley led the comeback. Loved that jersey too, my all time favourite kit. Still have it at home buried somewhere.

Losing the football final to Cork there in 2008 or 2009 (that bollix Rory Hickey) was probably the worst I’ve ever felt after a match. The walk back to town after seemed to take about two hours. A violent hangover made it all the worse.

Was at another match as a young fella too with my father. Can’t even remember who was playing. We were typically late anyway. Rushing through the tunnel under the stand which was claustrophobic at the best of times when one of the teams (may have been Tipp) came charging out. Was mowed down by a few of the cunts and carried half way out on to the pitch before the auld fella picked me up by the collar and dragged me up to the seats which suited anyone with a build similar to Tyrion Lannister. Savage craic as a young lad.

I’ll miss that old shit hole.

Surely you have to put 96 right up there. First team to knock them off their perch there.
Podge Robin with two and Eoin O’NEILL dancing on their graves. That day was even sweeter than 01

Ah yeah, that was magic.

Bate Tipp in the Munster final replay down there the same year.

Charleville was some crack that evening on the way home from the Cork game.

Maudie Mac’s was a lovable dump .

7/10

I did 8 ;

10/10!

The best craic I ever had at matches was in Cork. Although I was admittedly blessed (in Clare terms anyway) to be coming of age between 95 and 97

Tadgh Murphy in 83 was unforgettable, I was only 8, when they announced that Stephen Roche had won the tour it raised some cheer in 87.
It was my playground growing up, I went to mist Cork training sessions to rob dlipthars and knew all the players to say hello to, went to every game that was on there, you’d have to ask somebody if you could go in with them and the two of ye would squeeze through the turnstiles, it was some place to be when it was full, great memories.

The Cork Intermediate Hurling team for Sunday’s All-Ireland Final has been announced as follows

1 Patrick Collins - Ballinhassig

2 Brian O’ Sullivan - Fermoy

3 Shane O’ Donovan - Mayfield Capt

4 Shane Hegarty - Dungourney

5 Kieran Morrisson - Fermoy

6 Donnacha O’ Donovan - Ballinhassig

7 Kevin Kavanagh - Carrigaline

8 Danny O’ Flynn - Charleville

9 Michael Collins - Ballinhassig

10 Darren Casey - Charleville

11 Nicky Kelly - Mayfield

12 Gerry O’ Neill - Courcey Rovers

13 Sean Hayes - Mallow

14 Willie Leahy - Aghada

15 David Drake - Carrigaline

16 Aidan Long - Mallow

17 Alan Dennehy - Charleville

18 Tom Lawerance - Brian Dillons

19 Ciaran O’ Brien - St Ita’s

20 Lorcan O’Neill - Kanturk

21 John Cooper - Eire Og

22 Rob O’ Shea - Carrigaline

23 Noel McNamara - Kilworth

24 Mark Kennefick - Ballygarvan

@twiceasnice97 - who was more impressive, Cork or Galway Minors?

Unrale Wifi here on the terrace. Uploaded in 5 seconds.

Dreadful looking stadium in fairness

Pitch is a bog.

cork by a mile but it was galways first game and they look to me to have a corner back who could control turnbull and their midfield will not be overrun the way we were.
Cork should win it but galway are a threat

The Cork U17 Hurling team to play Galway in Thursday night’s All-Ireland U17 Hurling Championship Semi-Final has been announced as follows

1 Eoin Davis St Catherine’s
2 Eoin Roche Bride Rovers
3 Ciaran Nyhan Ballinascarthy
4 Ronan Sheehan Mallow
5 Cormac O’Brien Newtownshandrum
6 Conor O’Callaghan Dromtarriffe
7 Aaron Walsh Barry Carrigtwohill (Capt)
8 Daire Connery Na Piarsaigh
9 Liam Ryan Inniscarra
10 Tommy O’Connell Midleton
11 Colin O’Brien Liscarrollchurchtown Gaels
12 Brian Roche Bride Rovers
13 Owen McCarthy Inniscarra
14 Blake Murphy Na Piarsaigh
15 Declan Hanlon Blarney
Subs

16 Luke Donovan Na Piarsaigh
17 Jamie Copps Ballyhea
18 Sean O’Sullivan Midleton
19 Ronan McCarthy Oliver Plunketts
20 Sean Twomey Courcey Rovers
21 Killian Murphy Sarsfields
22 Shane O Regan Watergrasshill
23 Joe Stack Castlemartyr
24 Shane Barrett Blarney

There is serious things expected of this bunch

Aye, five of the Minor team plus a few more on the panel. Blake Murphy presumably would have been involved earlier but he decided to play football first.