The Official Cork GAA 2017 Thread

Murphy by far a better CB, no discussion needed.

Best corner back ive seen play for cork. Had everything.

I disagree and I think Murphy was top drawer .

I’d agree, Murphy was a very fine player, I can understand without agreeing with somebody that he was the equal or even slightly superior to Sherlock,
But it was a scandal that Mulcahy retained that spot,
Corcoran was the best Cork corner back I saw, Sherlock was my next.

Pat was a super hurler, but he was a natural centre back. He absolutely dominated the club scene in Cork from 6 in that time. He should probably have been challenging the half back line for a spot, and Sherlock should have been playing in the corner. They were nice problems to have though.

Couldn’t agree more, Mulcahy was a superb centre back and he filled the gap created by Sherlocks injury very well, even winning an all star, even still he didn’t have Sherlocks ability in the corner.

Actually lots of discussion needed.

2 totally different approaches.

I’d agree with that.

Did Corcoran win an AStar @ 14?

Yep

So All Stars at 2, 6 & 14?

Sherlock was a class act. Best performance was a league final around 02 vs KK. I think fast Eddie was cleaning Fergal Ryan for the first ten minutes and then Sherlock came across on him and utterly dominated him through physicality and hurling. One of my favourite non Tipp hurlers. Had the pleasure of meeting him at a wedding a few years ago and was a thorough gent.

As far as i know Sherlock has a few young fellas. Always hard to predict but you would imagine the imponderables outside of genetics would be passed on.

Yep spanning 12 years. Some feat

I never actually thought about that since.
Unbelievable. What a man.
Lost to GAA i’d say is he?

Never heard of him with a team.

I see Timmy kelleher at any game i go to. Loves it i’d say Timmy

Got the impression from his book that GAA was never an all consuming passion for him. He stopped playing altogether (club and all) for the few years before he came back.

Ya he hated the nonsense.
My dad collected him one time to go out and present medals in our place, you could tell he was uncomfortable with it all.

Badly need a few new backs, a semblance of a ballwinner in the half-forward line and a new bench. O’Leary-Hayes looks the biggest prospect we have but I doubt we’ll see him next year. I assume Eoghan Murphy, Billy Hennessy, Micheal O’Halloran and Robbie O’Flynn will be looked at in the league.

Billy Hennessy :joy::joy::joy:

O’ Leary-Hayes is slow, esoecially acceleration wise. Its trainable but he would have to improve it alot

What backs would you look at?

Fair play lads, took ye long enough