The Official England Cricket Team Supporters thread

We all need to move on. England have won the World Cup. It was a grand lark for a few weeks in early summer but the real serious business now of regaining the Ashes lies ahead.

I haven’t seen the incident but if the batsmen crossed then they ran 2 and got 4 for the overthrows meaning 6 is correct.

They didn’t cross when the ball was thrown - hence the five.

They have to play it again so. It’s a farce

It’s akin to moaning about a handball that wasn’t and looking for a replay and/or a special extra place created in a tournament. Runs are given for debatable wides all the time, there are debatable lbws. It’s part of the game.

Whether the batsman crossed is not arbitrary or debatable- it’s a clear binary error

The game should be replayed.

However the New Zealand team are already back in New Zealand.

It would be unfair to ask them to travel so far again, so England should travel out to New Zealand for the replayed final.

I’d question the wisdom of this. New Zealand is a bleak place in July. The weather is barely suitable for British Lions yet alone cricket. A washout is a near certainty.

I’d agree about a replay, or a share of the WC even tbh.

Anyone calling for a replay or any such nonsense are not cricket men, cc jonny giles. You don’t understand or appreciate the game. Stick to bogball, darts and stick fighting.

Everyone a winner. No wonder the world is fucked.

Sharing the spoils was and is part of top level sport

British Loins tours
The Ryder Cup
The Ashes
Ye Olde Five Nations
Ye Olde Charity Shielde
Olympic gold medals have been shared - the men’s 50m freestyle swimming in 2000 for instance
It’s why we have draws in Premier League matches rather than deciding them with penalty competitions

Far from modern day dog eat dog capitalism, sharing victory was and in some cases remains a key element of old style corinthian sporting values

Not really mate. It was a straightforward misinterpretation of the rules, rather than an error of judgement like the thiery Henry handball, the reaction to which was utterly cringeworthy.
The players were nowhere near crossing when the ball was thrown, suggesting that the umpires simply didn’t know.
Under those circumstances, I’d replay the game if possible. It wasn’t fair on NZ. It wasn’t a bad call or a missed call, it was ignorance, however understandable, of the rules on the part of those paid to enforce them.

I hope New Zealand pummel every team* they play in the Rugby World Cup in revenge for this disgraceful sporting injustice

*I may make exceptions to this if they play Argentina, France, or maybe Gatty’s Wales

The New Zealand cricket team paying for the bad karma of the 2011 Rugby World Cup Final.

I see Ewan etc getting all caught up in the rules and England shouldn’t have won etc. Does anyone really give a fuck about cricket here? Jesus, who gives a shit if it’s England’s 9th world cup in a row with 5 Irish captains. The only people who give a bollix are some Aussies and maybe some Indians…
The rest of Europe are probably unaware of cricket, luckily enough for them. It’s fucking shit.

Shameful stuff. Atherton giving both barrels here

England waiting closer to the off to select their starting XI for the first test at the Gabba. With the quick turnaround to the second test, I suspect they’ll keep Anderson fresh for Adelaide. I reckon it’ll be along the lines of;

Burns, Hameed, Malan, Root, Stokes, Bairstow, Buttler, Robinson, Wood, Broad, Leach

Never heard of them